We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, felt like one of the family and view from the third floor was really great! We will be back!”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, felt like one of the family and view from the third floor was really great! We will be back!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

When my love and I arrived into town the day before New Years looking for reasonable accommodations, she spotted this place and we stopped. On our way to the office we were greeted by Mark, the owners grandson. This young man was charismatic and friendly, he gave us information for local events and sights and made us feel right at home. Incredible customer service, nice and clean room, and when you pop open the windows the sound from the ocean right across the street fills your room at night. Simply beautiful! We would definitely return! Thanks Mark!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    140
    43
    29
    36
See reviews for
146
254
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My boyfriend and I just recently stayed at the Heritage Inn for the weekend and loved it. The rooms are good size, very clean, and have a nice ocean view. The staff is great and always smiling. Everyone is so friendly and hospitable. We will definitely be returning this summer for a week in July.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolemichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been going to Cape May for years. We usually go down to Cape May during the bird migration season (Spring and Fall), and for the past number of years (probably 10) have stayed at the Heritage Inn. It's small, clean, the people (owners and staff) have been there for years. Everyone is friendly and helpful.
The location is great - right on the beach, and centrally located in the middle of town. My husband is a birder and photographer. He is out before sunrise every morning. I enjoy sitting on the balcony with a cup of coffee looking out at the ocean. In the evening I end the day in the same spot with a glass of wine. It's always the most relaxing vacation I take.

Room Tip: Sorry, it's a secret, you may ask for my favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesel_Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel is below average at best. Good location though. We stayed 2 night October 7-9 and have been coming to Cape May for 15 years around this same time. We usually stay in a B & B, but figure to save some money this time around. What a mistake this was. A couple days ago we received a bill & were charged on my credit card $ 100 for damages to the microwave. We did not use the microwave or have any knowledge of anything about the microwave. We called immediately when we received the bill, but no-one returned our call. We just called again with absolutely no satisfaction or pleasantry. Frankly, she was rude and would not give us her name. She told us to call back Tuesday (2 days) because "Gwen" was not there. Again when we asked for her name, she hung up on us. So..... a summery of the Inn would be.....Average visually, musty smell, crabby older woman at front desk, rude phone service and THIEVES !!!. Obviously we would never go here again and now I have to contact my attorney for a $100 bogus charge for a "damaged microwave" that we did not touch. We are (to say the least) very unhappy customers.

Room Tip: Take pictures of everything in the room before you check out to prove you did not break anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KKE11Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueDallas, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
The charge for the broken microwave is the least of what should have been charged considering the condition of the room once the guest vacated. Not only was the microwave broken, the door was completely off and the glass tray inside the microwave was shattered. Additionally, the tile floor was cracked where the appliance obvioulsly fell. I would say that all things considered, the guests got away cheap. And just as a note, we took a picture of the damaged room as well for documemtation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor,pa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I just came back from a three day trip to the Heritage inn. We have been going to Cape May for around 26 years and this was our first stay at the Heritage. We found it to be clean the rooms were good size and a decent view of the ocean and the staff very friendly and helpful! For the money we paid it was well worth it! We will go again!

Room Tip: Third floor to see ocean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Back again for the second time this year. This time for the Victorian Weekend and again a wonderful stay at the Heritage Inn. The rooms were clean, everything worked in the room (lights, fridge, microwave, hair dryer, shower, A/C, etc.). We always stay on the third floor deluxe rooms with a king bed. You can not beat the location. We used the roof top patio area every night for a little wine and also for breakfast coffee. The view of the ocean and surrounding city are great. We have never had a bad stay in all the years we have been coming here. We know them, they know us. It works out great. We'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Came to Cape May for a quick get away for one night and was able to get a room on the first floor of the Heritage. Would have preferred the 2nd but it was not available. Upon arrival the room was very musty but I opened the windows which seemed to help. The bedroom was a nice size with 2 full beds, a desk and small table. The furniture was old and definitely needed updating. The motel room did have a nice vanity area which included a small refrigerator and sink...great for drying your hair or putting on makeup. The bathroom was very old, with mold on the tiles and scuffed up door. The best part was the bed!!! We went to bed and I looked over at my husband and he was about 6 inches lower than me :) Its funny now but not then. The bed didn't fit in the frame. We woke up with horrible back aches. This room definitely needed a new bed!!! Oh well...we had a great time in Cape May though!!!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.4 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,310 reviews
0.5 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#7 of 37 in Cape May
580 reviews
0.9 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
191 reviews
0.6 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing