We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Family Favorite-Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family Favorite-Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My family goes to Cape May every year and I believe my family has been staying here since the 80's. It's always been a favorite and the new renovations are awesome. It's a little pricey, but most hotels in Cape May are really expensive and this place is worth the money. It's right across the street from the beach, in a gorgeous area, and within walking distance from the boardwalk, arcade, shopping, restaurants, mini golf, ice cream, pizza places, and anything else you'd want to go to. It's also a short drive to Wildwood if you want to go on the rides. You can get an efficiency room with a small kitchenette so you can save a ton on going out to eat, especially if you're with a large family. There are also grills near the pool for anyone to use. There's a ton of seating around the pool and a lot of deck space. The staff is really friendly. The only down side is that the pool isn't open very late at night, but as the design of many hotels in the area has the pool right in front near the guest rooms, it's the same everywhere else. There's a bunch to do at night anyway, so you won't really miss it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the pool during the day...not that you'll be around a lot dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disney27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    184
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
226
250
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

The staff at the Montreal Inn were extremely pleasant and professional, and maintain a very clean and well run hotel at very reasonable rates. We were very comfortable and well taken of during our stay this past Thanksgiving. Just to demonstrate how good the staff there are: our daughter forgot 13 pages of draft diary material that were very important to her and when we called the hotel the staff searched everywhere to retrieve what must have seemed like waste paper! That's how thoughtful they were they were about guests that had come and gone. We are going back to the Montreal Inn when we are at Cape May.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Handel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,pa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is very typical of cape may accomodations. We opted for a larger 2 room with a sitting area and balacony ocean front. The rooms have a musty smell and they have an air purification system in each room but they are small and dated. The beds are very uncomfortable. The sofa was also uncomfortable and the TV's were very small and old. The unit had a stove and fridge which would be fine for minimal use and good for any vacation.

The BIG plus for this hotel are the large balconies....They are the biggest I have ever seen in Cape May. The location is perfect for the beach right accross the street.

I believe it was pricey for an off season weekend....but overall an OK experience

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank powder068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while visiting beautiful Cape May. We are passionate about providing our guests with an extraordinary vacation experience and are in a major renovation project over the wintertime to assure inconveniences like yours do not occur in the future.

We do look forward to having you return and encourage you and your loved ones to consider us again as your lodging of choice at the South Jersey Shore.

Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We always wanted to stay at the Montreal Inn (as we have been to Cape May many times), but they were always booked. However, since the season is over, we were fortunate enough to get a reservation for a 4-night stay. Upon checking in (we were confirmed for a newly upgraded room) the room was musty, smelly & since we both are highly allergic, we asked to be moved to different room. The room definitely had not been upgraded (it was an efficiency which we would have preferred so that we could eat some meals in our room). We were then given the key to room 202. It was lovely, clean, with 2 queen beds, and smelled fine.

When we returned to our room in the evening, we noticed there were 'gnats' all over! It was very upsetting, disgusting, and annoying. We did complain to the manager as well as the cleaning people. We found out that apparently, this time of year is "gnat & fruit fly" season (who knew?) and that when the cleaning person was working in our room, the screen & glass doors were open, allowing all these 'bugs' to fly in. Once we brought this to their attention, the problem was solved! However, I have to admit, this was NOT a good start to a little getaway weekend for us. The cleaning staff was very apologetic about our situation.

We also did not know that the restaurant (Harry's) was closed for the season; however, the hotel provided a complimentary continental breakfast, which was lovely. In addition, we had been advised that the pool would be closed; I did not bring bathing suits. However, the pool was open the first few days, & there were people swimming!

All these 'little' things added up to what could have been a great weekend, but was a bit disappointing for us.

Room Tip: If you have any allergies, do not stay in the old rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We were very happy to have you stay with us and look forward to you choosing our Inn again so we will have an opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit. We regret that your recent visit was not as pleasant as you had hoped and are grateful you have brought your comments to our attention. We are constantly striving to enhance our product and services, take each issue as a summons for improvement and thank you as well for your positive feedback.

Over the coming months, we will be also making changes to our website to offer our guests more timely information on what is going on here at the Montreal Inn. For instance, and due to unseasonably excellent weather, we kept the pool open for an additional week, and in the future, that will be posted on the website and email alerts transmitted as soon as the decision is made. We are confident that improved communication with our valued guests will serve to elevate the guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Montreal Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHELMSFORD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We came down to Cape May for a wedding and stayed at the Montreal Inn. Ocean front access, great viewing deck above us, very nice staff, Our room was very clean, updated, with 2 queen beds. Great crab cake sliders in the restaraunt and nice breakfast. In all very pleasant stay (off-season) Columbus Day Wkend.

Room Tip: Choose a modernized room up a few floors with 2 queens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I recently got married and decided on a whim to go down to Cape May for the weekend. The price was very reasonable for the area, the room was slighted dated but everything was extremely clean and spacious enough. While the hotel was completely booked, the front desk staff was very helpful and was able to meet any request in a timely fashion. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

very friendly staff, beutiful views and also great restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZISU T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
1.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.4 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing