We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, but could use better soundproofing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, but could use better soundproofing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights and had a large, clean, comfortable room with an excellent bed. We had occasion to use room service as well as the restaurant and the food was straightforward and good. This is an airport hotel so there is not much of a neighborhood around, but a free shuttle leaves for the airport every 20 minutes and from there you can connect to NJ Transit and get a train to NYC. Generally you can be downtown within an hour from leaving the hotel. Quicker at rush hours. Service at the hotel was pleasant and the rooms seemed recently updated, but the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbors on the phone and in the hallway. Generally, a very good stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DebOChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    240
    78
    30
    19
See reviews for
85
115
63
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Renaissance Newark Airport and thought it would be appropriate to write a quick recommendation of this hotel. The hotel was very satisfactory from a room cleanliness standpoint and the on site food was good as well, however what sets this property apart from other similar hotels that I have frequented is the outstanding customer service. I have never been asked as frequently as I was if I was enjoying my stay or to please come back and see us again, as I was from the employees at this hotel. This was not just the front desk types or the the folks in the restaurant/lounge, but also the maintenance folks, housekeepers, and other "back office" staff. This is obviously part of the culture of this property......Well Done! I was very impressed and if ever in the Newark area or airport again, will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

A good hotel. Like the adage "you pay for what you get". In this case you pay a lot and get a hotel that does not disappoint. It's clean, spacious, good tv. Etc

Room service food was also good, actually reasonable.

Internet is $13 per day and is crappy and slow.

Close enough to NYC to make it a good location

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
478 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel for business travel; I always look forward to staying here. The hotel was recently remodeled and all of the rooms and common areas are in great shape. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are always clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The workout room is a good size, and the equipment in good condition. This hotel has one of the nicest club lounges I have seen in any of the Marriott properties I have traveled to in recent years. This hotel is also very convenient to the Newark airport, with a complimentary shuttle out of P4. You can't go wrong if you stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and west sides are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel26x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Having worked all night from 5 pm to 6 am, I wanted nothing more than to spend my day sleeping and relaxing. So after checking in and heading to my room, I slip the "A Little Privacy Please" sign on the door and prepare to get a good day of rest. A few hours later, I am awakened by the sound of housekeeping pecking on my door with a key card. Luckily I had enagaged the deadbolt. I announced my presence in the room and went back to bed hoping this was a simple mistake. But, this happened FOUR more times. Finally, I threw back the blankets and marched to the door in time to look through the viewport and see the housekeeper standing there. I asked if I could help her and she simpy turned to walk away.
Moral of the story...if you need sleep, stay clear of the Renaissance at Newark Liberty Airport!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvl4Lvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

For an airport hotel, it's pretty decent hotel. The rooms are a good size and there was a friendly and efficient service on check in and out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nice renovations, especially for an airport hotel, great amenities, and enjoyed the complimentary airport shuttle, but service was really lacking when we checked in at night - the agent seemed as if she wanted to finish her paperwork than check us in - we weren't told our room number, nor given any holders for our hotel keys (as a typical Renaissance Hotel would).

Room Tip: Shuttle runs every 20 minutes during the day on the hour, and every 30 minutes after midnight on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.4 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.4 km away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Property: Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Address: 1000 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2113 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining style and sophistication among Elizabeth, NJ hotels, the Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel welcomes travelers with opulent accommodations, tons of luxury amenities and unparalleled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing