We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option for a NYC trip!”
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
W Hoboken
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Syracuse
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent option for a NYC trip!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We booked the W after deciding on a last-minute trip to New York. Being across the river in New Jersey, we had the best of both worlds at this hotel: easy access to Manhattan (ferry, PATH train, Holland Tunnel and Lincoln Tunnel all close by), but the quieter pace of Hoboken for starting and ending our day.

The hotel itself is impressive the moment you drive up. FANTASTIC service and polite staff from start to finish. You get the impression that they really do care about the customer. Beautiful property inside and out. The room was clean and ultra modern - the view from our "Spectacular" room was just that. We traveled with our six-year old (his first trip to NYC) and he couldn't get over the view. Neither could we. The Westin Heavenly Beds were just what we expected. Loved the glass rainfall shower and Bliss amenities - for this Mother's Day trip I think I could've just moved into the bathroom and been happy.

The ONLY reason I gave the W Hoboken a "very good" instead of "excellent" was that late at night we were woken up by music/bass from one of the restaurants/clubs downstairs. The hotel IS geared toward a younger adult crowd in that regard. But, the hotel manager personally sent us an apology for the noise after I commented on it in a post-stay survey. That kind of personal attention - so typical of this property - makes us want to give the W another try very soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowysyr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write! I’m delighted to hear you booked a last minute trip with us at W Hoboken and we exceeded your expectations. I’m glad you took advantage of the close proximity of our hotel to New York City and all that the city of Hoboken has to offer. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so thank you for sharing your feedback about the noise disturbances you experienced. I know that’s not what you expect when you stay with us for rest and relaxation. However, I’m glad you received a survey to voice your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to W Hoboken in the near future! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    275
    77
    40
    28
See reviews for
260
373
80
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I just love this hotel. Let's start with the service - friendly and ultra high quality from the moment you arrive until you leave. Everyone who works there seems to be genuinely happy and enjoying themselves. The rooms - very large with super comfy beds. The best part is the lounge chair placed in the floor-to-ceiling window allowing you sit relaxed and look across the Hudson to Manhattan. The location - Hoboken is one of the great little places in the NYC area and the W Hotel is 2 blocks from all the restaurants and night life and right on the river for morning or afternoon walks on the promenade. If there was one thing that could be improved - I would rather they offer a buffet breakfast rather than an a la carte menu.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor! It’s so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your W Hoboken experience and the City of Hoboken. It’s a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your guest room and the amazing views of the Hudson River and Manhattan as well as Frank Sinatra Park which provides a wonderful location for walks along the river. Your comments gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members! Thank you for your feedback regarding your ZYLO dining experience. I will certainly share this with the ZYLO team. Again, many thanks for sharing. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed for a change in Hoboken at the W. very nice hotel and compared with the costs just over the hudson this was great. Spectacular views of this city beautiful surrounding, make this a very comfortable stay.
Hotel is more on the business side but on our vacation this worked very well.
In one word
Go!

Room Tip: Only 15 mins from midtown nyc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howardgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience on TripAdvisor! I’m delighted to hear you joined us on the other side of the Hudson River on your vacation! Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the amazing views of New York City from the comfort of your guest room. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken on your next vacation trip! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

If you are visiting NY and want a beautiful view of the city, this is the hotel to choose. It's on the Hudson river with an incredible view day or night, and there's a park along the river right outside. Perfect for us since we brought our dog and it's a pet friendly hotel and area! Also, you can park your car and ride the subway from the Lakawanna (sp?) train station (within walking distance). Went into NY everyday, took about 15 minutes. The hotel rooms are VERY modern and comfortable. Plus the surrounding area has great NJ restaurants. The hotel is also just a couple of blocks from Carlos Bakery (cake boss on TLC).

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gamacintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor! It’s so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your W Hoboken experience as well as everything the City of Hoboken has to offer! Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m delighted your dog could join you on your trip. It’s great to hear you took advantage of W Hoboken’s location and could conveniently enjoy New York City utilizing the PATH station. When your travels bring you back to the area, we look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I were in the area to visit the Thomas Edison National Park in West Orange NJ and had originally booked a room at another hotel. When we went to check into the other hotel, we knew it was not the place for us and decided to drive to Hoboken since it was close by and try our luck there. Luck was on our side!!! A local merchant recommended the W Hotel. We called and were able to book a room last minute with a fabulous veiw of the New York skyline- worth the extra $ to get the view! The rooms were very nicely appointed; bed very comfortable; modern decor. Everyone we encountered was extremely helpful. This hotel is a gem! Located within walking distance of so many shops and restaurants and the beautiful paths along the waterfront. Loved this place! We can't wait to come stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for posting your W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted to hear you took advantage of the recommendation to stay with us while you visited the Thomas Edison National Park. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m glad you enjoyed the wonderful views of New York City from the comfort of your guest room as well as all that the City of Hoboken has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to W Hoboken on your next sightseeing adventure! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in the W in Hoboken for one night to experience a different part of New York & enjoy the views of the Manhattan skyline before immersing ourselves in the hustle & bustle of the city. We stayed in a Spectacular room which had a superb view of the city & it certainly made it worth paying the extra for a room with a view. Hoboken is very laid back in comparison to Manhattan & has a lovely feel to it, we enjoyed walking along the waterfront absorbing the views. The bar in the W is definately worth a visit. It is very easy to get to Manhattan on the Path train which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. All in all a great hotel & we very much enjoyed the chocolates & treats left on reception in the evenings :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your guest room as well as the amazing views of Manhattan. I’m also glad to hear you enjoyed the city of Hoboken and all that it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken on your next adventure of New York City! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The W hotel in Hoboken NJ is without a doubt one of the classiest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in. We spent our 36th wedding anniversary there and it was fantastic. No detail was overlooked in providing us with excellent customer service from everyone we dealt with beginning from the minute we pulled up to the front entrance until we left the property. The staff were all professional and very friendly. The public areas are beautiful and our room was everything we expected with a spectacular view of Manhattan. This is a very well managed hotel and we will definitely stay there again and perhaps at another W too.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor with the spectacular view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m so pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received! Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m delighted to hear we really WOW’ed you on your special 36th wedding anniversary. Your comments gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken on your next wedding anniversary! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoboken
1.8 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,788 reviews
2.2 km away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
1.4 km away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
629 reviews
1.5 km away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Property: W Hoboken
Address: 225 River St, Hoboken, NJ 07030-4772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything from W Hoboken, an iconic landmark on the waterfront where magnificent Manhattan unfolds before your eyes. Hot nightlife, decadent dining and sizzling shopping, just steps or a ferry ride away. What’s cooler than Sinatra’s town? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken
W Hoboken New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing