We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place and convienient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W Hoboken
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place and convienient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. Easy walk to subway to anywhere in NYC. Great rooms. Couple of minor issues (light wouldnt shut off, one light didnt work, that kind of thing). Didnt ask for repairs because we didnt want to stick around for someone to fix. Being from the midwest I was suprized at the cost and no willingness to negotiate. Rather stiff, little customer service but we really wanted somewhere convienent to get to NYC and eating in the hoboken area is awesome. All of the small neighborhood restaurants are excellent. Our trip was to eat our way through NY and NJ, and we really accomplished that!

Room Tip: Pay the extra (really big extra) for NYC view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackSuperbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken on Trip Advisor. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Please don’t hesitate to contact our Whatever/Whenever department and they would be happy to dispatch the appropriate team to assist you with any issues you may encounter. I must also apologize if our hotel staff was not at their best. This is certainly not typical of our hotel and I have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned. However, I’m glad you took advantage of the many eateries available in the City of Hoboken and we hope to welcome you back from the Midwest to show you a more perfect hotel experience! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    252
    75
    36
    28
See reviews for
248
362
75
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I love this place! We have stayed here many times and it is like an old friend. The front desk staff is always warm and greet you so nicely, Quimby the concierge is so wonderful and kind. The rooms are great and very well appointed. Everyone there wants your stay to be spectacular, including the Manager. WOW, customer service...what a concept. The "living room" bar pours really great drinks (yum) and breakfast and room service are great. The view is wonderful. I will not stay any place but the W when I am in Hoboken.

Room Tip: Ask for a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor! It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support. Customer loyalty is very important to us and I’m delighted to hear we continue to WOW you stay after stay! Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members and I will not neglect to put Quimby in the spotlight! We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnpinva
Level Contributor
262 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel should be a destination all by itself. Hoboken is pleasant enough, but the hotel is outstanding, above and beyond anything we could've expected. The staff were so friendly, so helpful, and so professional. They make every guest feel like a VIP. Because of my status we were upgraded to a view of nyc. That view is priceless!

Every detail is a treat and is appreciated, from the mats in the elevator that greet you with a good morning or good evening, to the delicious complimentary coffee in the lobby, to the aromatic bliss products in the bathroom, to the swivel chair by the windows.

The room was outstanding. It was large and was beautifully decorated. The windows facing nyc skyline are angled in such a way that you can sit between them and feel like you are on a balcony. We got a bottle of wine and sat on the large swivel chair wedged between the windows. It was an amazing and romantic experience.

The mp3 hook up with radio had terrific sound quality. Tv was large and in hd. DVD player was a nice touch. Lighting was terrific with dimmers, also to enhance the romantic experience.

Bathroom was delightful. Shower was an elegant experience with a large mirror inside! It was also totally sealed off from the rest of the bathroom, so the main mirror never got fogged up. Bath products were superb.

Gym was good, with very new equipment. The ellipticals and tread mills were among the nicest I have ever used.

Lobby area was stylish and inviting. Lounge ans bar were also quite attractive.

The free car service is an added bonus. Inquire with the hotel.

Clearly, this is a hotel that pays attention to every details to wow its guests. It is also great value, just a short path ride out of the city in under 10 minutes.

I highly recommend this hotel. It is a truly exceptional experience. Thank you, w staff for making our trip so incredible.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you sharing your recent W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor! I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise! I’m delighted you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us and enjoyed the amazing views of New York City from the comfort of your guest room. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken on your next getaway! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the road again
Level Contributor
963 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

For a NY area hotel this W was super clean.

Hopefully they keep the focus on cleanliness.

The breakfast was also good but quite expensive but it's NY.

Room Tip: Get a suite facing NY skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! Guest satisfaction is very important to us so thank you for sharing your comments about the cleanliness of our hotel. This is one of our highest priorities at W Hoboken and I’m delighted to hear you noticed! When your travels bring you back to the area, we look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We booked the W after deciding on a last-minute trip to New York. Being across the river in New Jersey, we had the best of both worlds at this hotel: easy access to Manhattan (ferry, PATH train, Holland Tunnel and Lincoln Tunnel all close by), but the quieter pace of Hoboken for starting and ending our day.

The hotel itself is impressive the moment you drive up. FANTASTIC service and polite staff from start to finish. You get the impression that they really do care about the customer. Beautiful property inside and out. The room was clean and ultra modern - the view from our "Spectacular" room was just that. We traveled with our six-year old (his first trip to NYC) and he couldn't get over the view. Neither could we. The Westin Heavenly Beds were just what we expected. Loved the glass rainfall shower and Bliss amenities - for this Mother's Day trip I think I could've just moved into the bathroom and been happy.

The ONLY reason I gave the W Hoboken a "very good" instead of "excellent" was that late at night we were woken up by music/bass from one of the restaurants/clubs downstairs. The hotel IS geared toward a younger adult crowd in that regard. But, the hotel manager personally sent us an apology for the noise after I commented on it in a post-stay survey. That kind of personal attention - so typical of this property - makes us want to give the W another try very soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowysyr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write! I’m delighted to hear you booked a last minute trip with us at W Hoboken and we exceeded your expectations. I’m glad you took advantage of the close proximity of our hotel to New York City and all that the city of Hoboken has to offer. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so thank you for sharing your feedback about the noise disturbances you experienced. I know that’s not what you expect when you stay with us for rest and relaxation. However, I’m glad you received a survey to voice your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to W Hoboken in the near future! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
473 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I just love this hotel. Let's start with the service - friendly and ultra high quality from the moment you arrive until you leave. Everyone who works there seems to be genuinely happy and enjoying themselves. The rooms - very large with super comfy beds. The best part is the lounge chair placed in the floor-to-ceiling window allowing you sit relaxed and look across the Hudson to Manhattan. The location - Hoboken is one of the great little places in the NYC area and the W Hotel is 2 blocks from all the restaurants and night life and right on the river for morning or afternoon walks on the promenade. If there was one thing that could be improved - I would rather they offer a buffet breakfast rather than an a la carte menu.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor! It’s so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your W Hoboken experience and the City of Hoboken. It’s a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your guest room and the amazing views of the Hudson River and Manhattan as well as Frank Sinatra Park which provides a wonderful location for walks along the river. Your comments gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members! Thank you for your feedback regarding your ZYLO dining experience. I will certainly share this with the ZYLO team. Again, many thanks for sharing. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed for a change in Hoboken at the W. very nice hotel and compared with the costs just over the hudson this was great. Spectacular views of this city beautiful surrounding, make this a very comfortable stay.
Hotel is more on the business side but on our vacation this worked very well.
In one word
Go!

Room Tip: Only 15 mins from midtown nyc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howardgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience on TripAdvisor! I’m delighted to hear you joined us on the other side of the Hudson River on your vacation! Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the amazing views of New York City from the comfort of your guest room. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken on your next vacation trip! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoboken
1.8 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.2 km away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
2.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
2.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.4 km away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Property: W Hoboken
Address: 225 River St, Hoboken, NJ 07030-4772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything from W Hoboken, an iconic landmark on the waterfront where magnificent Manhattan unfolds before your eyes. Hot nightlife, decadent dining and sizzling shopping, just steps or a ferry ride away. What’s cooler than Sinatra’s town? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken
W Hoboken New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing