We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, great staff.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lavallette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tradewinds Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lavallette
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I have stayed at this Motor Lodge three times, and will stay there again.
The rooms are large, bright and clean. Having an outdoor pool is a bonus.
The staff is friendly and always helpful. The location was perfect for us as we split the time between Lavalette and Seaside Heights.

Room Tip: First floor is perfect for anyone with a handicap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AllanD5923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016

Our family has been coming to Lavallette for 20+ years, and we always stay at the Tradewinds.

The hotel has always been very clean and well maintained and our most recent stay was no exception. In the last few years, the rooms have been remodeled and they look great. Gone is the dark wood paneling and turquoise carpet, replaced with clean painted walls, new furniture and fixtures. There is a flat screen TV mounted on the wall, a nice-sized fridge, two sinks (one in the bathroom and one outside it which is very convenient), and ample storage with two large dressers and a clothes rack for hanging. Each room include two beach passes, which is a big plus. Outdoor spaces include a clean pool, and sundeck for outdoor dining and relaxing. There is no elevator, but in the past they have always accommodated requests for first floor rooms as long as you give them enough notice, as they seem to fill quickly. The location is also very convenient, only one block from the beach. Food choices within walking distance of the hotel include several pizza places, a bakery, and a breakfast/lunch restaurant, all of which are very good.

My only minor gripes are that the maid service during your stay is somewhat lacking, with sand in the carpet not vacuumed and beds not changed during a 4 day stay, and the fact that the bath towels are very small.

If you're looking for a clean, family-friendly place to stay by the beach where the staff seem like they genuinely care about your satisfaction, I would highly recommend the Tradewinds!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Last minute overnight stay. Room has been remodeled. Is it plush, no. But it was clean. Big counter with sink and mini fridge to accommodate light snacks, drinks, while in room. AC was a wall unit but worked very well, no separate AC in bathroom, it can get warm. Room was roomy enough. Lots of drawer space, new drawers not the moldy ones you may expect in a motor lodge. Flat panel tv, free wifi. 2 free beach tags per room. One parking space per room. Small but well maintained pool with lots of loungers and another sun deck. Two chairs outside of room.
Staff was extremely helpful and nice. I believe it was an owner on site. She and the young man working the desk were very accommodating .
One block from beach access. Bakery, pizza, liquor store, ice cream all a few minute walk.

Stayed: July 2016
2  Thank Gak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The room was very nice & decorated in a nice nautical theme. It was very clean except for the floor. The one bed did make lots of noise when you sat on it. It was conveniently located to everything and they were very accommodating when I kept changing my dates. No issues that couldn't be overlooked when at the shore. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuffetGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here for years now. Hotel always clean and family oriented. Unfortunately this time we had requested a first floor room due to my daughter's knee surgery and they were not willing to accommodate even when we called ahead. She had to go up and down the stairs on her butt.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank MrsLolaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Enjoyed our stay. Excellent location to the beach. Not being in the thick of tourists was a welcome change as we have stayed in Seaside many , many years. Lavallette has restaurants, unique shopping, and a Bakery right Next door for those with a sweet tooth. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The front office staff helped us with places to shop . Sun deck and Outdoor Pool there for when your done with the beach. This weekend will be our second weekend in a row here and will be making this location our summer lodging.

Room Tip: Reserve early for front view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

I've been staying at the Tradewinds for over 20 years! I grew up on the Jersey Shore but moved away. My family continues to meet here almost every year and this is the only place we'll stay. It's clean, convenient to everything and the people there are incredibly friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavallette
3.1 km away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
214 reviews
9.0 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
14.1 km away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
2.0 km away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
92 reviews
14.0 km away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motor Lodge

Address: 2000 Grand Central Ave, Lavallette, NJ 08735-2619
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lavallette
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lavallette
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradewinds Motor Lodge is a family owned, 45 room motel, set in the quiet little town of Lavallette, New Jersey. All of our rooms have been recently renovated. Tradewinds is located one short block to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean and it's lovely white sandy beaches. Our accommodation include two queen beds, or two doubles and a single, air conditioning, flat screen tv, refrigerator, vanity area with sink and full tile bathroom. When you check in, our friendly staff will make your experience a pleasant on and also provide you with two complimentary beach badges. You will enjoy our relaxing pool area with comply lounge chairs and our second floor sundeck with tables for gathering with family and friends. There are many great restaurants within walking distance. Seaside Heights and Point Pleasant boardwalks offer rides , games and attractions for the entire family. Enjoy a fireworks celebration. Come visit at the Tradewinds, you will love it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Motor Hotel Lavallette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing