We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to be in Livingston over night what could be better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Blue Bell, Pa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If you have to be in Livingston over night what could be better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Cheap rates nice updated room and the Strip House steak was perfect. Waiter Justin batted a 1000 with all his recommendations. Dinner was slightly more than the room. But the room was 125! Also easy to fing via google maps.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear DrBob5,
We appreciate your positive feedback. We strive to offer great value for our superior accommodations. Thank you for choosing the Westminster Hotel.. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    218
    79
    40
    20
See reviews for
182
135
33
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovell, Maine
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were here for a few nights and really enjoyed our stay. The bed and pillows are very comfortable! Our room was a good size and very clean and well kept. There are many stores and resteraunts near by, which is a plus when you are used to living in the country where everything is always far away! Also, the staff was very friendly. Overall, a nice place to come to!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Lori C,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very pleased to read your review of our staff and accommodations. We are conveniently located close to many shopping areas and dining options. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbeach,miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

it was our 2nd time here. the food has a lot to be desired,unless you like salt. the 2nd time at the hoteltowels in our room were frayed and there is a definite burning smell in your room from the restaurant. finally the the bartender&host have a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Ucbgal,
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We must mention that we are surprised to read your comments about our Award Winning Striphouse restaurant and our super soft, bamboo based bath sheets. We receive many compliments about the food we offer and the luxurious towels in guest rooms. Even though you had some dissatisfaction with your hotel stay, we thank you for your candid review and hope that you will reconsider giving us another try.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Great hotel. I was surprised by this place. Looks brand new. Great features (restaurant, gym, room). I really liked this place. The beds are not bad either. Don't overhype the beds and you won't be disappointed. Staff was great. Gym was well stocked for its size. You would expect something like the Westminster closer to or in a major city. Will return for sure...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Leroyk,
Many thanks for taking the time to rate us. We appreciate your 5 star review. As the newest AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel in New Jersey we strive to meet the highest standards in hospitality. We are delighted to hear that you experienced the “ Expect the Unexpected”. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Great hotel, extremely nice, hotel staff is very professional. The hotel rooms are very attractive, clean, well appointed and updated with flat screen TVs. The bed was fantastic, extremely comfortable. I usually don't seep well my first night in a hotel but slept like a rock.
You can't go wrong selecting this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back or on an upper floor. The walls in the front room I was in seemed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hittinlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We live only 25 miles from this hotel and come here mainly for the restaurant. After indulging to our hearts content on the porterhouse for two, mac & cheese, truffle creamed spinach, goose fat potatoes, as well as a number of bottles of wine & caramelized banana tart , it's nice to be able to make our way up to our room where we are guaranteed a very comfortable bed and clean accommodations. The morning greets us with a decent breakfast buffet and then the short ride home. The staff is always friendly and the room rates are always ridiculously low, although dinner is a bit pricey (but well worth it). We make it a point to stay here at least a few times each year and it's consistently perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This Hotel has awesome service and a great front desk. The folks working the front desk took care of my every need, including driving my wife and I to the mall when her shoe broke. Rooms were clean and the neighborhood was awesome!

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a roof view, so avoid them or ask the front desk what the view is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRoocckkyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
7.9 km away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.3 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
8.3 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
7.1 km away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.2 km away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing