We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel and Horrible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Hotel and Horrible Staff”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel has bugs in the rooms and I was bite, if you absolutely have to stay here because it is affordable then I understand but I wouldnt recommend this hotel to my dog.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    60
    28
    13
    35
See reviews for
60
58
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Crashed here late evening. First hotel on an around the continent trip. Trying to keep it cheap, I checked out a Day's Inn for the first time. Actually, not a bad deal; $69 and change for the night, free wi-fi, cable with flat panel and HBO, fridge and microwave, decently clean and direct access from room to car. Neighbors are quiet (funeral home) and setting is suburban. A bit of a drive to eating establishments, but there are several convenience stores within a mile, or so.
I read the other reviews, and wonder at the veracity of a couple: What the owners being Indian has to do with anything probably reflects more on the reviewer's bias than the quality of the hotel. Perhaps their bedbugs and smells were fleas from their own dogs, and hateful body odor. I found the room okay clean and quite neat. As for the 'food shelf' description of the breakfast? I've served some pretty darn good meals at a food shelf.
Bottom line? It ain't the Ritz or even a Triscuit, but it was a neat, quiet, dry, warm and inexpensive night in joisey.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have good lighting for cars and rooms are set back far enough from the highway so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanport, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed for a couple days. The room was clean and spacious. I loved the free wifi and everyone was nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Lostluinil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millwood, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Fruit and donuts at there version of a continental breakfast looked like donations to a food shelter. When you give mimimal perks at least give the best. The apples looked like they were picked up off the bottom of a wild apple tree.The Only ice machine was in the office which we would have to go outside and walk quite a way. Good thing it wasnt raining. Urine around the base of the toilet and toilet seat... and and the air conditioner was leaking a puddle in the room on the carpet. This room served the purpose but these things are unacceptable and only because my wife failed to check with me and thought everything else was sold out. The following day Sunday 8/4/11 we were able to find a beautiful room on the beach in seaside heights for 25% less with more amenities. We could have been a repeat customer but not at this establishment.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank robertc1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Neptune hotels

Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife and my two dogs decided to take a trip to the shore on a whim this past Labor Day weekend. I found this hotel, read the reviews and figured it wouldn't be a bad deal for a couple nights. The rooms are foul and the perfumed air freshener does a horrible job masking it. My wife and I felt like we were getting bit by bed bugs on the second night and it seems that one of my dogs couldn't stop hacking, wheezing, and coughing, due to the stale, stinky, un-fresh air in the room. We thought that she may have caught kennel cough but when we checked out and started riding with the car window down, the symptoms miraculously went away. I'm pretty sure it was the condition of the room and I now feel bad that I brought my wife and dogs there. I saw the maids (the Indian family) "cleaning" the rooms but surprisingly it only took them 5 minutes to clean a room, and they didn’t even seem to change the comforters. For a hotel that allows dogs, you would think that they’d clean the heck out of the rooms. Also, this morning as I was walking my dog, Mama-san and Papa-san seemed to be staring at me like I owed them money and they were like ants all over the hotel property with no privacy at all. When we got home from the shore late one night, we were met by three local Neptune Police Cars that were a couple doors down from us dealing with something. The resident seemed to be a live in and the hotel seemed to be a manifestation of shaddy people, living there indefinitely. I will NEVER stay here again and I would advise others not to as well. I never write reviews on hotels but in this case, I felt that I needed to warn others. DO NOT stay here, but if you do, DO NOT bring your dogs or they may catch the respiratory issues that my lab did.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backofyourmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here 2 nights. Only good thing was the pool. It was very clean & easy to access. The lamp shades were so covered with dust, it was obvious they have not been cleaned for many, many months. There was black moldy grout on floor & walls in shower. The shower had no ledges or anywhere to put soap down. Had to put it on the floor or outside on the sink counter while showering. The window in bathroom was filthy. There was lots of mold growing inside a wicker basket that held soap & shampoo. Children of the owners were running around the parking lot all day making it difficult to drive out of the space. Not worth the $340 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ceiling thin, don't stay on first floor unless you are a heavy sleeper or can't do steps (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoobiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I travel with my dogs and am always delighted to find a dog friendly hotel that is also clean, safe, and modern. The exterior guest room doors made it easy to load and unload, and the park-like area was quiet with lots of places to walk the dogs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciarasmom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
6.2 km away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,363 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Tinton Falls-Jersey Shore
6.0 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
259 reviews
5.9 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Neptune

Property: Red Roof Inn Neptune
Address: 3310 State Route 33, Neptune, NJ 07753-3441 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Neptune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Neptune 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Red Roof Inn Neptune offers family friendly accommodations with a variety of amenities which include free WiFi and flat screen TVs in all rooms, and an outdoor seasonal pool. This pet friendly location is close to Six Flags Great Adventure, Keansburg Amusement Park, Jersey Shore beaches, and Monmouth Park Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Neptune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Neptune
Days Inn Neptune
Days Inn New Jersey
Neptune Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing