We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a disappointment”

Catherine Lombardi Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Catherine Lombardi Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 231 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: George Street
Transit: The restaurant is located a few minute walk from the New Brunswick train station, on the New Jersey Transit - Northeast Corridor line.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Been here multiple times for business. Food is always on point, bartenders and waiters very knowledgeable and friendly, and a great relaxed environment.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CeeEmmGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2018

I have been here twice. The first time was incredible the second time not as good. The reason why the second visit was sub par was that it was a theater night and the place was packed. So,our food was rushed and a,few of us had to send back our orders

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank barbwald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

Excellent food, a lovely wine list and excellent service makes this the place to eat before (or even after) a great show at the State Theatre of New Jersey in New Brunswick. The theatre is practically right next door so you can linger right up to showtime. If you wish, you can even save dessert and coffee for after the show!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byrne A, Public Relations Manager at Catherine Lombardi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hi Richard -- we're so pleased you chose Catherine Lombardi as part of your State Theatre evening! Thanks for sharing with the community here. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Cheers, Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

We were there last night I ordered Salmon comes with risoto, the service was ok but we had tickets to go state theater i was felling something was wrong with that food because since a left the restaurante i was having heart burn ... so when I got home I was very sick ... I still sick could not work today The money we paid wasn’t worth. I am very disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis S, Owner at Catherine Lombardi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Dear Sonia,

I'm sorry you felt unwell. I learned about it from reading your reviews here and on Facebook today.

It might have been more productive to call the restaurant rather than (or even in addition to) post reviews on Facebook and Trip Advisor.

Upon reading this review, we checked all existing stock, which came up clean. I also contacted several regular guests who ate what you did last night and no one had any ill effects. We served over 400 dinners last night and many dozen salmon dishes. We did take this information seriously. It is possible your illness was coincidental or possibly an allergic reaction to something. Again, we're sorry you did not feel well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We made reservations for 7pm figuring the pre-theatre rush would be over. Arrived and there were plenty of tables, yet we were seated in the worst of them at the end of the bar. We asked to be reseated which they accommodated. Had to ask for napkin settings at our new table. Was not impressed. Food was good, and service has the capability of being top notch. Perhaps we caught them at a bad moment. Dessert was outstanding, the Irish Creme after dinner drink was out of this world. Overall a good experience that could have been better. We assume the service mis-steps were not the norm based on other ratings.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TSD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byrne A, Public Relations Manager at Catherine Lombardi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Hello -- We're regretful that the service at your visit didn't meet your expectations or our standards that evening. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to show you a truly great experience. Let us know when you'll be in next time. Cheers, Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catherine Lombardi Restaurant also viewed

New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Catherine Lombardi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing