We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for an early morning flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Best Western puts a lot of big name hotels to shame. The decor and attentiveness of the staff were amazing. We arrived at the hotel around 7pm and got some food and drinks in the small restaurant. The room was perfect. Large room with plenty of space. My wife and I were very comfortable in the room. We had to catch a 5am shuttle ride to the airport and the driver was in the lobby waiting for us and he loaded our bags and got us to the terminal in about 5 minutes. The only downside to the hotel is the location. It's in an industrial park but it was still very safe and we left our car there for the weekend with no problems. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who has an early morning flight out of Newark.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmurray515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Worst service ever. We got out of the airport 7:30 pm, by 8:30 pm the Shutte hadn't picked us up. Because we were at pick up 4 and it kept getting full before it arrived to us. They didn't tell us to move to another pick up station, just kept saying the van was arriving. We ended up taking a cab and paying it.

When we got there, it is in am industrial area, don't expect what you see in the picture. Even the entree sign was not all lighted up, which gave a scary look.

Once you get inside it is ok! Rooms are clean, bed is as expected.

Making a long story short:
- key had to be reprogrammed to open our room.
- room service was closed at 9 pm. And they kept transfering the call like 6 times, until I asked what was happening.
- the service at the bar was the only good service we got.
- vending machine was broken
- our shuttle was late to take us back to the airport.

And after telling "Freddy" from the front desk they had a very bad service, he had no answer or explanation. Just a big attitude. Not a good one.




  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anaefdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a great hotel for their park and cruise option. The hotel is nice, safe, clean, with friendly staff. The hotel is nothing too special, but we were not looking for a top end hotel room - but rather wanted a place to stay for the night and the option to leave our car while we went on a cruise. The hotel offered a shuttle to Penn Station (extra cost) so that we could take the Path over to Manhattan for the afternoon, plus offered a well-timed, stress free (free) shuttle to Cape Liberty on the morning of our cruise. The parking lot was small and tight, but we felt as though our vehicle was safe. At the end of our cruise, the taxi back to the hotel was quick and efficient. We would definitley consider using Best Wester Plus Newark hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Checked in after a flight from the UK. Hotel is very close to airport and just a shuttle ride away.

Rooms are very nice, large and comfortable. Only downside is its slightly noisy with people coming and going at all hours.

Hot breakfast was simple but good. Sadly the restaurant staff were very surly and unhelpful. One even managed to pour boiling coffee over my wife but otherwise very good.

Overall I was very happy with my stay, ideal for our needs and very good value. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRL962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I used Hotels Tonight. In a pinch for a base close to NYC. I couldn't get a reasonable Priceline in the city. If a base is all you need, this facility is clean with free wifi. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The location is near an industrial park near the airport. Forget any view. They offer a full complimentary American breakfast buffet. It actually was very good. The service was pleasant on Checkin and check out. The only negative was the industrial park location and the limited parking area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grande2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I will try and keep this short... On arrival at Newark Airport, we made our way to terminal P4 , found the hotel number (21) on the display, called for the shuttle bus which took 10 mins to arrive then it was a 5-10 mins journey to the hotel,check in was quick, rooms were clean and beds comfortable.

The hotel runs a shuttle at 7am,8am,9am,10am,11am to newark penn train station were the NJ Transit ( $10 Adults return $5 under 12 return ) is taken into NYC.

The hotel also runs a pick up at 7pm,8pm,9pm,10pm,11pm at Newark Penn train station to take you back to the hotel .

The comp breakfast is great, all the items you would wish for.

The hotel is not in the most attractive part of Newark but, if like us you use it as a base, it's fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 407, all we could see out of the window was a disused building !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I was unfortunately stuck in Newark to watch the Super Bowl this year. However, I couldn't have been in a better place to watch the game! This hotel was very clean and comfortable, and I got the best sleep in awhile. The hotel restaurant/bar had some good specials for the game, and the prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was very good, with more offered than expected. Shuttle service was great, very quick to and from the airport, as well as Newark Penn Station. I took the shuttle to the train station one night, and found it very convenient to get me to NYC. I didn't notice any noise from the aiport, considering how close it actually is. There are not a lot of restaurant options in the area, so it was very nice having the on-site restaurant in the evenings. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZ_Hotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark Airport West

Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114-2314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. A nominal fee is charged for Mall, Cruise Port and off peak Penn Station trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing