We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly What You Would Expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exactly What You Would Expect”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Not much to say here. It is everything you need for a short stay at the airport. The rooms are clean and there are drinks at the bar. The shuttle service to the terminals runs well and is available 24 hours a day. The fly and park deal can't be beat. Expectations met.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BlindTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    711
    243
    70
    32
See reviews for
309
391
131
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just stayed a night but loved the sleep and proximity to the airport. Room service was costly...is the only real drawback.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TML4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is conveniently located for overnight layovers in Newark. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. However, charging $12.95 a night for WIFI is ridiculous in this day and age. They will also sell you bottled drinks for a whopping $3.00 a piece. The two restaurants are also pricey. It seems this hotel exists for a convenient yet expensive stay for the average traveller who is unfortunate enough to have an overnight stay in Newark.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hammark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My partner and I booked a 2 night stay at the Marriott Newark Airport for a short weekend in NYC.

We chose the Marriott due to the flight times (late arrival/early departure) and the hotels proximity to the airport terminals.

Reception

We arrived at around 11:45pm, were greeted by a friendly reception clerk who was very nice and ask how our flight was. Confirmed arrangements for getting the shuttle to the airport.

Lobby

A lovely open lobby, free WIFI is available in the lobby which was popular for guests. In addition, there is a small shop to the left of reception where you can purchase necessities such as drinks, food (chips, cookies) and toiletries. Very useful for somewhere to buy a couple of bottles of water after a long flight.

Room

We were on the 5th Floor (room 570), excellent spacious room, large king size bed and HUGE plasma TV.

I was pleased with the climate control in the room, it was very effective and we could easily ensure the temperature was to our needs.

Complimentary coffee/tea was provided in the room, however, no fridge. It would be great to see fridges in the room.

The toiletries were very nice too, bath and body works.

WIFI is provided by iBahn and is $12.99 per 24 hours - a disappointment.

Access

There is a regular shuttle to the airport. However, one of the great perks is that you can walk from the terminal to the hotel. We walked from Terminal B and it took 5 minutes from leaving the terminal to walking into the hotel lobby - you walk through the car park, you do need to cross over a couple of roads which were quiet and you arrive - very easy.

On the return we took the hotel shuttle, the driver was very polite and helpful - the service was regular and efficient.

Overall

I recommend this hotel to anyone who has early/late flights from Newark airport. For getting to Manhattan, there are a few options - we used the Newark Express which is $16 one-way or $27 return. It took just 45 minutes to get to Bryant Park from the terminal.

Positives

- Large comfy beds.
- Good service from the staff.
- Location to the airport.

Negatives (feedback for management)

- WIFI - too expensive in room, should be free or more reasonably priced.
- Fridge in room would be great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LukeRichM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Newark Liberty Marriott overnight between connections on a recent trip abroad. The airport unfortunately had no directions on how to get to this hotel and some of the employees working at Newark International Airport had no idea it existed or how to get there. We got off our plane late at night and were very confused about how to get to the hotel, assuming it was like other Marriott airport hotels with access from within the airport, however this was not the case. Leaving from terminal C we had to go to the AirTrain, then to another waiting area (p4)... and then call for the shuttle bus from the hotel. There are phones located in the area with each key for a different hotel, but none for this hotel. We had to call the Marriott Courtyard and get transferred to the Marriott Liberty to have the shuttle come pick us up. This is all logistics, worth writing about only for traveller convenience. The hotel itself was nice, clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our rate was $249 a night which was far more expensive for an airport hotel than other similar hotels we have stayed in. Had we known the hotel was not accessible from within the airport ( we were traveling with two small children so this was a big thing for us) and we would be required to take a hotel shuttle we likely would have chosen a cheaper hotel close by (of which there were several) for this short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLLcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Good airport hotel, very attentive service and great facilities (gym, pool etc). Quiet rooms and reception staff happy to accommodate requests at check in.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDE260767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Amazing hotel!
Big room with a large and very confortable bed.
You have 1 restaurant and 1 bar inside the hotel.
Bus 24 hour to Newark Airport (from and to)

Nice staff, nice price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machado666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
2.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
2.6 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
5.0 km away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing