We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Lincoln Tunnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to Lincoln Tunnel”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel is a cheaper alternative to NYC prices. One elevator still was not working on Dec2, 2011, in fact the manager asked us to only have 4 people on the elevator at one time. I was on a bus tour we got in late at night and this was very inconvenient and time consuming getting up to our rooms.
We stayed for 3 nights, but the second night none of our keys worked and there was another delay getting new keys for everyone on the bus. At first the person at the front desk said the key only worked for 24 hrs. then said we must have placed the key by a credit card in our wallet?
I must say the room was clean and comfortable, it had a flat screen tv. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKShr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    197
    125
    48
    67
See reviews for
244
96
21
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Pros
- Excellent location. Close to New York with convenient options to get there
- Excellent service. Friendly staff. Good breakfast
- Excellent price
- Excellent dinner options

Cons
- Directions by the hotel staff for coming back from NYC favored the private operator than NJ Transit(which is also an option). The private operator does not announce when your stop comes by. Had an extra 15 min walk in the cold due to a missed stop
- Bed too soft for my preference

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machester U.K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Chose this hotel purely as a cheaper alternative to paying N.Y prices and we were very happy with our room-(5th floor ) stayed 3 nights 5th-8th Oct.The staff and service were more than just ok. One lift was inop but this wasnt a problem for us and just a few mins wait - or theres always those 2 other things you could use if your able bodied...your legs and prepare yourself for a day in Manhattan.
The room was clean and quiet with 2 very comfy beds, the front desk staff were very obliging and helped us twice -once with travel options into M-htn and recommended the best and cheapest way and also provided toiletries we had forgotten.
The breakfast is more than adequate and enough selection for all tastes.
The complaints on here that I have read about the 'trek' to the bus stop amazes me considering the walking you will be doing in Manhatten during a days sightseeing.Top tip from the guy on reception -dont walk up the big hill to Toys r us but follow the road round to the Super 8 motel where shuttles stop regularly to pick up ($2.50) and drops you at the Port Authority bus stn in about 15 mins ride.The return bus journey from the p.a bus stn is the 125 bus and the stop is toys r us on Kennedy blvd which is then down the hill back to the HIE.All in all this hotel is a great choice for anyone wanting to visit N.Y without paying Manhattan prices and is a really good base, but do not expect bars/restaurants in the vacinity as this is not a tourist area. We left for N.Y after breakfast and returned at night- if anyone else is intending to do the same then this hotel is worth serious consideration.We would definitely stay here again when visiting New York.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ooookitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, but from this hotel, or how close it was to the Lincoln Tunnel, but after reading the reviews on trip advisor, I felt a little more comfortable.

This hotel is noticeable from 495, but I had never seen it. Its right next door to the Large Days Inn.

Nice comfortable beds, new big flat screen TVs, what else could I ask for. The breakfast had alot of selections, but nothing that I would eat.

Dont go the Nile which is Next door. The reviews for that place are all horrible!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Too cheap to spend the night in NYC after driving all night so we tried the HIE. I will say it is convenient. A 10-15 minute drive and you're in the city. You can also take a bus into the city for a $3.00 fee which isn't bad. The bad part is, it's a little walk to get to the bus and you need to plan ahead when you want to return.
Now onto the hotel itself...staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were............adequate. Our room was next to the elevator and we never heard it.The bed was comfy, the bathroom was small and the shower made me claustrophobic. Breakfast was OK, however,the eggs were inedible. The self-serve pankcake maker makes 50cent sized pancakes which were tasteless.
Would I stay here again? Maybe. given the choice, I'd stay 5 doors down at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjfmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel on 31st oct for 2 nights upon arrival after a long flight from uk i arrived at the reception and checked in. i was on the 4th floor and only one of the lifts were working and had to wait as while for it too! room was nice and clean and bed comfortable, i decided to get some sleep, then all i could hear was noise and banging and laughing from what seemed like a large group of people in the room next to me. considering it had gone 11pm, i contacted reception and complained and asked receptionist to call through to the room to advise them to keep the noise down. receptionist never did this and obviously didnt care. following day after worst nights sleep i went to reception to ask about public transport to new york they were not much help. advised there was a shuttle right at the top of a steep hill to get to manhattan! granted it was cheap 2.50$. breakfast was ok! all in all it costs 65 to 70 dollars to get into manhattan by taxi and the hotel is not ideally situated. the staff are not very helpful. I would rather pay the extra 65 to 70 dollars and stay somewhere in manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is our 3rd time to this hotel, it is a great location for a trip to manhattan without the huge cost of actually staying downtown. Bus is within walking distance. Room was clean, and comfortable as usual. Breakfast is sufficient to get you started for the day. Staff are all friendly and helpful. We will return again next year

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrferreri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 km away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0.1 km away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Bergen
627 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
1.8 km away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
690 reviews
1.5 km away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Address: 2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing