We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, clean & friendly AAA+++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked this hotel for my 22yo son travelling to NYC for the first time for a few days sightseeing before heading back home to Australia after so many positive reviews here.
Upon his return home last week he said he was so happy I booked there as it ws perfectly located close to public transport and the people were always friendly and willing to help with advise at all times.
He mentioned it is loacated in an industrial type area, with no views to speak of and he probably wouldn't recommend it for the elderly or young families as the walk to the bus stop is a bit of a challenge and in his words "could be a bit dodgy at night"
Other than that the bus drivers were helpful and friendly and it is the ideal spot for sightseeing on a budget as it is 5 minutes from downtown and its clean, great beds, showers and breakfast, what more could you want if just wanting a nice place to rest your head each night.
No food places nearby though so eating out in town before coming home is essential.
He loved it and NYC and would definatately highly recommend the hotel as a great place to stay for a few days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel property is fairly nice considering it's an older hotel, the staff was very accommodating. The breakfast was good. Hallways smell a tad musty, but the rooms are fine. The area, however, is very industrial and you overlook the rail yards. No place to walk, and you really need to drive to get to any restaurant worth eating....unless you are ok with Arbys and other fast food joints. Hard to get to as well, be prepared to go past the hotel and then take the formal U-turn to get back to the hotel parking lot. All in all, if I was only planning to sleep there and take the tunnel to NYC every day, it would be a workable alternative to the Manhattan priced hotels. But, certainly not a destination I'd seek out in the future.

Room Tip: Walls are a tad thin, so ask for the top floor if you can for less noise. Also facing the hill, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suek357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great service. People everywhere really friendly and keeping everything clear. They made sure we were pleased.

Great room. Really well located. Easy access to the lincoln tunnel and minutes away from Manhattan when no traffic!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianveilleux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Before making a reservation, I called the hotel to inform them that I will arrive at 7am. I was told that there's no problem with such early arrival, so I made areservation. When I arrived 96:30am) I was told that I have to pay $70 extra charge (the room rate was $109) due to early arrival. The man on the front desk (Asuley) was rude and impolite ("you could go ealswhere" he said). I asked for a manager, but he did not want to cooperate.
I cancelled the reservation and walked next door to the Days Inn.
I'll never trust this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Eyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Eyala,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your interaction with the hotel is not the typical guest experience, and I am sorry it was yours. We have documented your comments for the appropriate parties, and I am confident they will work with the staff to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your review. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to show how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is literally on the mouth of the Lincoln Tunnel heading to NYC - great place to stay just outside of the city. The hotel is clean, fairly new-looking inside, nice hot breakfast in the morning, great beds! It's a bit of a maze to get from the highway to the hotel - the roads in that area are a bit crazy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoolRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our 4th year to stay at this Holiday Inn Express with our 40+ middle school students and chaperones. They are always very accommodating to our group in every way. They offer a full breakfast, the rooms are always clean and the beds are great. They are minutes away from the tunnel and Manhattan and there are no distractions at this hotel that can get our students in trouble.....no where for them to wander off to as well. The hotel staff are always pleasant and willing to work with us in everey way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My experience here reflects most others posters thoughts.

This hotel is situated near the Lincoln tunnel / Mannhatten, and there are a variety of transit options into the city for $ 3.00 / person. The stop for the shuttles is a short walk away, and while not the nicest of neighborhoods, I never felt threatened, not even late at night.

The hotel itself is very standard. The rooms are clean, good flat screen tv with ample stations, but the beds are soft. breakfast is typical HIX, and there is ample parking.

There is little if anything in the immediate area of the hotel, so a drive is pretty much essential if going for dinner, or anything for that matter.

If you are looking for an inexpensive place close to the city to sleep and shower, this property is a very good option.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

ToSquareBob1,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 km away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0.1 km away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
640 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
2.2 km away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Address: 2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $176 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing