We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude, Smelly and Mice?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Rude, Smelly and Mice?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a newer Hotel and would be nice if you can tolerate the rudeness of the personel, that can care less of what you feel or what you need, another obstacle besides the rudeness to overcome is the awful smell that is always there specially if someone is cooking something, it almost smells like a dead animal. Speaking of animals not only do you need to over come the rudeness, the smell but you also have to deal with mice in your room. there are other places to stay i woould recommend to not stay there based on my experience as well as the experience my 2 employees had there.

Room Tip: Need a tip for a good room, pick a room at a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlatinumMember174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear PlatinumMember174,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business very much and thank you for your loyalty as our priority club member! We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. Sorry to hear you received service which was less-than-satisfactory. We have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay.

Again we thank you for your review as we believe that we can only improve and enhance our services through our guests' feedback.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    187
    123
    47
    66
See reviews for
231
95
21
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here with my partner for 5 nights. Very clean well organised rooms with fabulously comfortable beds and loads of hot water after a day or two treading the pavement - or should I say sidewalks of NY! Fridge to keep the beer cold and keep the boxed remains of any oversize meal for nibbles later! Bit of a hike in the morning to catch any shuttle type bus - $3 each - into the Port Authority from the just outside the Super 8 along the road but a downhill walk at night. Wifi non existant - tried to connect on numerous occasions - gave up! Never made breakfast but plenty of places to get a good breakfast to keep you fortified not to look further! Would use here again should I be lucky enough to be back in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and well away from the lifts so little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeonsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We checked in to the HI Exp on March 11, 2012 after traveling 17 hours from MN. We were here on Spring Break to see NYC. Wanted to stay in a reasonably priced hotel close to NYC but not pay NYC prices. I guess you get what you pay for. I had booked four nights with my Priority Club points plus $. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly but a little hard to understand employees.
We moved into our room, 302, and immediately tried to access the Wifi. It was non-existent. Decided to go to dinner, just down the street is the Coach House, we highly recommend this restaurant! It is locally owned, they serve huge portions and they are open 24 hrs.
When we returned to the hotel we tried again to access the Wifi, still not possible. I took my Ipad to the lobby where miraculously it immediatedly connected. Matthew suggested that we move to another room closer to the hotel center. Since we weren't really unpacked we did move to room 316. Wifi worked there, YAY! About 4 a.m. we were rudely awakened by a package rattling. When my husband finally turned on the light he realized there had been a mouse in our food bag!!! Of course, he scurried away and was nowhere to be found but my daughter and I still had a hard time getting back to sleep. We were up early to catch the boat to Ellis Island/Statue of Liberty and spent little time in our room. Had a quick breakfast. The pancake machine did not work the whole time we were there:(
Left for the day, returned to the hotel later in the day and reported our "visitor" to the desk. They were very nice, asking if we wanted them to call the exterminator, move rooms, etc. We decided we wanted to move rooms, again! and then they could have the exterminator come in. They refunded some points to my account and offered a gift certificate for dinner. The new gal at the desk was very nice and showed us probably 4 rooms that we could move to and let us pick. We went to the 5th floor and stayed again near the middle of the building so we wouldn't have Wifi issues.
After this move everything was good. Still no pancakes for breakfast, no indoor pool, only outdoor and not usable in March. Probably wouldn't stay here again BUT it is cheaper than NYC and the transportation options as others have listed are handy, if you aren't too old or have young kids.
We used the bus to Port Auth. one day and were glad we returned before dark. We kind of got turned around and confused when we got off the bus but could see the hotel and knew where we needed to get to and just had to find a 'through way' to get there. Wouldn't have wanted to walk that in the dark.
We parked on the New Jersey side and took the water taxi to NYC when we visited the 9/11 Memorial.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the middle of hotel, but not on the third floor, if you want to use WiFi. No i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missylu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Missylu6,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel and our friendly staff. We are deeply sorry you had to move rooms twice during your stay.. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent 2 nights traveling with family consisting of 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Chose this hotel because of proximity and sleeping arrangements with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Rooms are very large.

Very reasonable hotel with easy and in-expensive access to New York City using the shuttle vans a short walk away. The free morning breakfast was wonderful and varied slightly both mornings which was nice. The area is generally hispanic, but appeared to be extremely safe. Hotel staff extremely nice and friendly, but with some broken English.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camp5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just a few remarks on the hotel:

1. Clean and comfortable. Well-equipped rooms. Accommodating and polite staff. Efficient check-in. Above average (compared with other Holiday Inn Express). Served with snacks and water as a priority club member.

2. The complimentary breakfast was also fantastic.

3. Should consider its location before you book. It is located within an industrial area and therefore you shouldn't expect any fantastic view around. It is far from JFK airport - if you take a taxi from the airport, it may cost you $120+. Also, the Lincoln Tunnel is always congested. An alternative to get to the hotel is by public transport: You may get to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Manhattan and seek for Gate 51. There is a public bus service costing $3 only. However, you have to get off the bus at Kennedy Boulevard, otherwise the bus will take you to Jersey City in the end. For the newcomers, it may be a bit difficult to recognise the "get-off" place. Recognise the landmark (maybe a "Toys R Us" sign) and ask the driver to note you. Also note that the bus stop is not right next to the hotel. You need to walk uphill past the Days Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leeyikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patzcuaro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I just spent three nights in the Holiday Inn Express in North Bergen, New Jersery. Unfortunately this was a memorable experience because of what this hotel lacked. I normally spend many nights a year in Holiday Inn Express properties and other sister hotels. Normally one can expect an excellent standard including clean rooms, well kept common areas, good Internet service and a friendly staff. None of the above met this standard in North Bergen. We were met with surly reception desk employees who were obviously not happy that they were busy. I was asked for a Priority Club voucher for my stay which is not the norm and when I asked if I needed to print that out the reception person ignored me until I asked 2 more times. The hallway carpets were filthy as were the carpets in our room to the point that I was uncomfortable removing my shoes. The toilet was so dirty that we went out and bought cleaning liquid. As well the Internet was barely functional and I was told that they had a technician looking into the issue but nothing changed over the duration of our stay. We were too uncomfortable dealing with the front desk people to complain. The one bright light at the front desk was a very sweet Latino girl who was extremely helpful with directions and other questions. .
We have been on a 3 week drive from Mexico to Canada and have stayed in many hotels along the way and have economized with Motel 6 properties that are for the most part much better and much cleaner than this hotel. We had really looked forward to a step up here and were sadly disappointed. The only real positive about this property is its excellent proximity to Manhattan and a very regular express bus just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on in the rear of the building as you will have next to no Internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skye2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear skye2222,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for being a Priority Club Member. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Here's our thoughts for a family of five: 2 adults & 3 teens
Came to tour Manhattan on a budget for the first time
Easter Sunday 2012 through the following Thursday:
OVERALL HOTEL:
Nice. Seemed newer. As most reviews stated, nice hotel in somewhat industrial area. But, we were not planning to tour around the hotel. Just needed a nice, clean, safe place to sleep. Felt safe within hotel and parking lot. Noise from traffic and morning train did come through the windows though and was notable for the early morning. But only woke me up, my family slept like rocks, and slept late!
OVERALL ROOM:
Nice. Updated. Just as pictures showed. We had a 2 queen with sofa sleeper and it was appropriately sized and clean upon arrival. Had space to put all our stuff (as we travel by car and have lots). Room was kept very clean each day - a simple thank you note which we always leave for the cleaning person and few singles for a tip go a long way at every hotel in which we stay.
Note though, that like previous reviews, the room was a bit stuffy and the a/c didn't seem to be set right to match temp or air flow on panel. In order to get what felt like "fresh air" we had to turn the temp down pretty far to 64. But again, we were just sleeping here, not spending time in the room, so worked out okay for sleeping.
BEDDING:
When we set up the sofa sleeper that first night, there was dust, crumbs, a few candy pieces, and a penny on the mattress (we just shook it off since mattress so light). My sofa sleeper at home collects the same, but a hotel should vacuum this regularly. Also, the zipped bag in the closet that had the bedding for the sleeper only had the down-filled duvet and two pillows - no sheets and blanket. They did bring this to us immediately after we called though. Sofabed not comfortable for sleeping as bar in middle pushes up and mattress is thin.
The queen beds were awesome. Great mattress. My husband and I slept well without any back pain, which is better than at home!
BATHROOM:
Small!! - but sufficient and nice looking. Again, not spending our day there, so just needed clean and functional . . . and it was. Note though, that the toilet handle broke upon first flush after arrival. But here again, front desk had maintenance at our door within 5 minutes to fix it. Also, the shower head is weird. Best flow choice was more like water coming directly from the wall pipe itself. Didn't "spray" well.
BREAKFAST:
The overall breakfast area was nice in appearance, although the chairs were not so clean. Although they fit the "look" that the hotel desired, I find it very disgusting for any food places that use cloth covered chairs. They are always stained as these were. Also, the chairs were somewhat flimsy.
The attendant paid attention to what was out there and did her best to keep up. First morning, we arrived late toward the end of the serving time and the attendant seemed to stop people a little too early - even after bringing out a fresh pan of eggs and sausage. But after I thanked her with a smile for bringing out fresh food, she lightened up a little - at least for me and my family. I guess a Thank You and smile can go a long way!! - as it should!
The food was the basics, although the juice machine was only okay. Seemed like juices were a bit watery compared to others we have had. The nice surprise was the daily eggs and hot side option. At first glance, one always questions, is it real? -- will it taste rubbery? But the eggs and sausage and bacon here were good. Actually very good. One day was omelet with cheese and peppers, another day was scrambled eggs, another day was cheese omelet, and the sausage - although thinly cut and lighter in appearance - was surprisingly tasteful.
Coffee was average to better than average for a hotel.
GOOD VALUE!
Therefore, for the low price compared to other hotels in the area, this was a clean and safe hotel with a bonus breakfast which saved us lots of money. This was a good deal for our family of five. We will stay again, especially now that we know how the shuttle system really works.
IMPORTANT NOTE!! SHUTTLE SERVICE TO MANHATTAN
First of all, this service is not provided by nor sponsored by the hotel and should not in anyway be a direct reflection on the hotel itself. But, we are visiting here to see the other side of the Hudson!! The shuttle is run by New Jersey Transit so it is what it is. However, instructions on the paper provided by the hotel were not so clear.
Let me start by saying that the shuttle service for the cost of $3 per person is awesome and runs very frequently in the mornings to get into Manhattan. Not sure of frequency during the day. At night,seemed to be running frequent enough shuttles. Either direction, the longest ride we had was about 30 minutes only one morning due to large traffic jam. Otherwise usually less than 15 minutes. So, worth it on that account.
GETTING TO MANHATTAN IS VERY EASY.
Go out the back door of hotel, walk through the back parking lot, over one block, up one block along Columbia Avenue to the front of the Super 8 motel and a shuttle will be there. Each of the days we went, the shuttles saw us coming up the hill 1/2 block away and waited for us. As noted in other reviews, mostly incline, but not difficult. Get off the shuttle in front of the New York Times building. You are only 2-3 blocks from Times Square!!
GETTING BACK TO THE HOTEL - NOT AS EASY.
Rule of thumb - do NOT trust the transit drivers or workers "on the street". I think they must get paid by the shuttle full and want the cash so they will get you and your money on their shuttle as their first priority, regardless of your destination!
On the first day, another family at the hotel had warned us that they had gotten on the wrong shuttle coming back the night before. We ended up with the same problem our first night. The NJT employee standing outside the shuttle on 42nd street said, "Yes, this shuttle will get you there, just get off at the post office and then only three blocks to walk!" Bad choice. The post office is more than three blocks away . . . per Google pedestrian mapping 0.7 miles. And if you don't get off here, the shuttle turned north and you end up farther away than you want to be. Thanks to a nice passenger on the shuttle, she helped us get off the shuttle and told us she grew up here and it really is safe to walk. The weather was nice enough also. Well, felt safe "enough" on our walk back, but still very frustrating as we are on a sidewalk literally right next to a busy highway where cars are traveling over 45 mph. You can feel the breeze from the cars going by!
Second night, learned we should go into the Port Authority terminal and go to Gate 51. In route to the gate, went down the wrong stairs. Ooops, easy to do. As we walked toward Gate 51 another employee standing by a partially filled shuttle asked us where we were going. Again we were told this shuttle would get us there. Frustrated at the previous night, I yelled at him and explained that we walked over 1/2 mile the night before and wanted confirmation that we would get to our destination. He assured me it would. Then he had a brief conversation in Spanish with the driver and off we went. Well, needless to say, we were lied to again! NOT the right shuttle and although dropped off one block closer than night before, still had a long walk back.
Third night, went to the Port Authority info booth, got very specific directions after complaining about two previous nights experiences.
HERE IS WHAT MUST BE DONE TO GET SHUTTLE BACK TO HOTEL.
First of all, always look at the front of the shuttle and make absolutely certain that it has a sign for Gate 51 on it, even if the guy standing next to it says it will get you there, because they obviously lie.
Secondly, go INSIDE the south section of the Port Authority Transit located at 41st Street and 8th Avenue. Walk through it a ways to the ticketing area on your left. It will be a semi-circle of windows for buying tickets or passes. Find ticket booth #15, then go down the stairs next to that window. No ticket needed, you pay cash to the driver. Gate #51 will be at the bottom of the stairs. There was a man sitting at a booth directing shuttles. There were two shuttles waiting there so cannot say if you have to wait or not at other times of the day.
Thirdly, note that coming back, the closest that you will get to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is somewhere at the crossing of 30th Street and Kennedy Blvd. This is farther away than the Super 8 Motel. It is about 1/2 mile walk to the H.I. Express. It is a safe walk as far as neighborhood, just close to traffic. So caution if younger children - hold their hands! Also, due to 1/2 mile walk - caution to weather.
The shuttles are the best way over to Manhattan and although crazy driving - by all vehicles on those roads, they are a safe way over there also. Just learn from our notes on getting back to hotel!!
Have fun. We sure enjoyed our time in Manhattan and want to come back again and will probably stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank emask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
1.2 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 km away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#3 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER NYC Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
1.8 km away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Address: 2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing