We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(North Bergen)
US$118
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites North Bergen(North Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$149
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
117
203
135
52
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
203
135
52
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln tunnelthe busnew yorkshuttle servicetimes squarefree breakfastoutdoor poolthe holiday innbagelsbeds were very comfortablecinnamon rollsfree parkingbreakfast roominto nycpull out couchport authorityflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 581 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for 5 nights. Very clean well organised rooms with fabulously comfortable beds and loads of hot water after a day or two treading the pavement - or should I say sidewalks of NY! Fridge to keep the beer cold and keep the boxed remains of any oversize meal for nibbles later! Bit of a hike in the morning to catch any shuttle type bus - $3 each - into the Port Authority from the just outside the Super 8 along the road but a downhill walk at night. Wifi non existant - tried to connect on numerous occasions - gave up! Never made breakfast but plenty of places to get a good breakfast to keep you fortified not to look further! Would use here again should I be lucky enough to be back in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and well away from the lifts so little noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeonsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We checked in to the HI Exp on March 11, 2012 after traveling 17 hours from MN. We were here on Spring Break to see NYC. Wanted to stay in a reasonably priced hotel close to NYC but not pay NYC prices. I guess you get what you pay for. I had booked four nights with my Priority Club points plus $. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly but a little hard to understand employees.
We moved into our room, 302, and immediately tried to access the Wifi. It was non-existent. Decided to go to dinner, just down the street is the Coach House, we highly recommend this restaurant! It is locally owned, they serve huge portions and they are open 24 hrs.
When we returned to the hotel we tried again to access the Wifi, still not possible. I took my Ipad to the lobby where miraculously it immediatedly connected. Matthew suggested that we move to another room closer to the hotel center. Since we weren't really unpacked we did move to room 316. Wifi worked there, YAY! About 4 a.m. we were rudely awakened by a package rattling. When my husband finally turned on the light he realized there had been a mouse in our food bag!!! Of course, he scurried away and was nowhere to be found but my daughter and I still had a hard time getting back to sleep. We were up early to catch the boat to Ellis Island/Statue of Liberty and spent little time in our room. Had a quick breakfast. The pancake machine did not work the whole time we were there:(
Left for the day, returned to the hotel later in the day and reported our "visitor" to the desk. They were very nice, asking if we wanted them to call the exterminator, move rooms, etc. We decided we wanted to move rooms, again! and then they could have the exterminator come in. They refunded some points to my account and offered a gift certificate for dinner. The new gal at the desk was very nice and showed us probably 4 rooms that we could move to and let us pick. We went to the 5th floor and stayed again near the middle of the building so we wouldn't have Wifi issues.
After this move everything was good. Still no pancakes for breakfast, no indoor pool, only outdoor and not usable in March. Probably wouldn't stay here again BUT it is cheaper than NYC and the transportation options as others have listed are handy, if you aren't too old or have young kids.
We used the bus to Port Auth. one day and were glad we returned before dark. We kind of got turned around and confused when we got off the bus but could see the hotel and knew where we needed to get to and just had to find a 'through way' to get there. Wouldn't have wanted to walk that in the dark.
We parked on the New Jersey side and took the water taxi to NYC when we visited the 9/11 Memorial.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the middle of hotel, but not on the third floor, if you want to use WiFi. No indoor pool. If you use the bus to Port Auth. make sure when returning know when to get off and maybe do so in the daylight at least the first time. If you are visiting Ellis Island, take the New Jersey side boats. Industrial area.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missylu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Missylu6,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel and our friendly staff. We are deeply sorry you had to move rooms twice during your stay.. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights traveling with family consisting of 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Chose this hotel because of proximity and sleeping arrangements with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Rooms are very large.

Very reasonable hotel with easy and in-expensive access to New York City using the shuttle vans a short walk away. The free morning breakfast was wonderful and varied slightly both mornings which was nice. The area is generally hispanic, but appeared to be extremely safe. Hotel staff extremely nice and friendly, but with some broken English.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camp5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just a few remarks on the hotel:

1. Clean and comfortable. Well-equipped rooms. Accommodating and polite staff. Efficient check-in. Above average (compared with other Holiday Inn Express). Served with snacks and water as a priority club member.

2. The complimentary breakfast was also fantastic.

3. Should consider its location before you book. It is located within an industrial area and therefore you shouldn't expect any fantastic view around. It is far from JFK airport - if you take a taxi from the airport, it may cost you $120+. Also, the Lincoln Tunnel is always congested. An alternative to get to the hotel is by public transport: You may get to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Manhattan and seek for Gate 51. There is a public bus service costing $3 only. However, you have to get off the bus at Kennedy Boulevard, otherwise the bus will take you to Jersey City in the end. For the newcomers, it may be a bit difficult to recognise the "get-off" place. Recognise the landmark (maybe a "Toys R Us" sign) and ask the driver to note you. Also note that the bus stop is not right next to the hotel. You need to walk uphill past the Days Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leeyikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I just spent three nights in the Holiday Inn Express in North Bergen, New Jersery. Unfortunately this was a memorable experience because of what this hotel lacked. I normally spend many nights a year in Holiday Inn Express properties and other sister hotels. Normally one can expect an excellent standard including clean rooms, well kept common areas, good Internet service and a friendly staff. None of the above met this standard in North Bergen. We were met with surly reception desk employees who were obviously not happy that they were busy. I was asked for a Priority Club voucher for my stay which is not the norm and when I asked if I needed to print that out the reception person ignored me until I asked 2 more times. The hallway carpets were filthy as were the carpets in our room to the point that I was uncomfortable removing my shoes. The toilet was so dirty that we went out and bought cleaning liquid. As well the Internet was barely functional and I was told that they had a technician looking into the issue but nothing changed over the duration of our stay. We were too uncomfortable dealing with the front desk people to complain. The one bright light at the front desk was a very sweet Latino girl who was extremely helpful with directions and other questions. .
We have been on a 3 week drive from Mexico to Canada and have stayed in many hotels along the way and have economized with Motel 6 properties that are for the most part much better and much cleaner than this hotel. We had really looked forward to a step up here and were sadly disappointed. The only real positive about this property is its excellent proximity to Manhattan and a very regular express bus just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on in the rear of the building as you will have next to no Internet service.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skye2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear skye2222,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for being a Priority Club Member. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews