We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views!”
Review of American Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
American Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful! The rooms were clean and the pool was very nice and clean. The room we had provided all cooking utensils and cookware and towels for the kitchen. We loved the amazing views from the top floor patio, it was absolutely beautiful!! Everything was just great and we are coming back again just as soon as we can...You couldn't ask for a better location, right on the beach and steps from the boardwalk!

Room Tip: style "A" which had separate bedroom with 2 full beds, LR, small kitchen, fridge. All of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saschubert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. our goal is to insure that our guest are in a welcoming and beautiful setting and they have everything they need to enjoy their much needed vacation stay. Sunrises and sunsets are our specialty. We are looking forward to your next visit. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Literally...I've been coming to the American Inn for as long as I can remember. This is the first time I've actually booked the room under my name, but I've probably been here 20 times over the course of the 33 years of my existence. Over that time I have watched this place steadily improve each season. It's good to know that they are improving each year and I would love to see more marketing around yearly improvements in any emails or brochures that may go out.

So about the check in process...well relatively it's easy. Pull in on the side and leave everything in the car. Have cash ready for the balance of your bill in order to get the cash discount. That mildly annoys me to carry that much cash on hand but I appreciate getting a lower cost. Trade off I suppose.

Plenty of parking around back after we checked in and moved the car. Never once felt like I wouldn't get a spot when I chose to leave and go out. It's super close and easy to get your luggage from the car to the room as well.

Speaking of getting luggage to your room, there are entrances on both ends and in the middle of the building which are easily accessible from the back. If you take the middle entrance you'll arrive at a large elevator which takes you to the 2nd and 3rd floors. Our room was on the first floor, pool side, but my pregnant wife took the elevator up to the 3rd floor where we enjoyed a large sun deck (or moon deck...it's beautiful for watching the moon rise over the ocean).

The room that we were in was a clean, simple studio style room which is PLENTY of room for 2 people. I noticed new tiled floors this year and surprisingly not slippery at all so I was pleased with that as we ran to our room from the pool one chilly night. The beds and sheets should probably be on the short list of updates for next year though. Don't hesitate to save a few and book this room unless it's really worth getting a better ocean view on the 3rd floor. To us it wasn't since we were only in the room to sleep. TIP: They start getting the pool area ready around 7am and aren't too quiet about it. If you're a light sleeper and wish to sleep longer you might want to get a larger room with a back bedroom or move up a floor or two. It wasn't a big deal for us, but was jarring the first morning.

The heated pool is large enough to accommodate many people and includes a kiddy pool. It's pretty clean, but you can tell it gets a lot of use during the day. TIP: most folks go to eat after 5. Plan a trip to the pool while they're dining and you'll have it all to yourself!

The location in general is super convenient to everything you'd want from the boardwalk to the beach and multiple local hidden gems like Russo's. You really can't go wrong with the quiet location here.

Overall we'll definitely be keeping the American Inn on our list for the next time that we visit Wildwood. Next time it will be with our new child and we can't wait to share the experiences with him/her! Thanks for helping to make our babymoon a pleasant one!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We would like to thank you for your comments and your continued patronage. Your suggestions have been noted and are very important to us as we like the input from our guests. Good luck with your new baby and we will see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We've been going to the American for three years now. On the plus side, the rooms are very clean, the staff is pleasant , helpful, and accomodating. The location is great - children can run from the room to the beach as the front of the motel is paved and closed to traffic. Children can walk to the boardwalk. The rooms are pricey @ $240 a night in peak season. The rooms could use updating. The gold bedspreads are ancient. The carpets in the bedrooms could be redone also. The water in the pool has a grey look to it and I saw maintenance scrubbing the grey residue off of the gate spindles separating the baby pool from the rest of the pool. Why was it so dingy? I would also like to pay by credit card - carrying around $2000 in cash is a bit much.
That being said - if the family choses to return to the American next year, we will be there!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jovanna2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do a major upgrade every year and last year it was tile floors in the front room of all the suites! Bedding and carpets are being considered. Your issue with our pool I am not sure I understand. The pool will become a little cloudy in the afternoon due to heavy use and body oil and suntan lotion being the cause. The spindles are scrubbed for the same reason that they get a ring of residue at the water level. I have never seen our pool dingy. You may also use a credit card upon check in and there would be a 3% surcharge charged for this service. We hope that you will choose us for the 2018 summer season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Clean rooms, pool is always clean, friendly and helpful staff. This was our second year here and we look forward to returning next year. Motel is located right on the beach that is a plus and being a little off the boardwalk keeps it quieter then being in the heart of Wildwood.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saves31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the American Inn. We enjoy our returning guest as they become part of the family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My family has used the American Inn for a number of years. In recent past, each visit has been met with less and less enthusiasm. But let me first start with the good - the location is ideal. Right on the beach, the views are lovely, even from the first floor. Just a block from the boardwalk means quick access to rides and all of the shops and games. And it's only a few blocks from Russo's. The pool is big enough to accommodate even a busy week at the American, and it is well-kept. The cleaning staff are very nice and are a pleasure to chat with. For the location, the price isn't terrible, but it certainly is more worth a visit during one of their "sale" periods. Now, the downside. Somewhat recently, the rooms switched from carpet to tile in all but the bedroom. There are a number of issues with this, starting with it being slippery - not just when someone is coming from the pool or beach (which, they'd presumably be dry enough by the time they enter the room), but also coming from the bathroom. My family has little ones in tow, and regardless of how many time we tell them not to run, they're going to try to run at least once. The flimsy towels and bath mats mean that you don't get quite as dry as you might in your own home, so your feet are inevitably wet when you leave the bathroom and step on the tile floor. The rooms aren't kept particularly clean: we make meals in the rooms for much of the vacation, and that leaves crumbs, which are extra-noticeable on the tile floor. There's no broom in the room, yet the cleaning staff only swept it MAYBE every other day. The other days, I guess we were just expected to live in our own filth - crumbs, sand, etc ... it's pretty gross when you're not wearing shoes. The bedspreads (and from the feel of it, the mattresses) have been there as long as I can remember. They don't even FEEL nice anymore. My particular room wasn't even super clean when we arrived - there was a left baby doll under one of the beds, and many of the drawers were lined with aluminum foil for some reason. Both of these indicated that the staff didn't bother checking to see what was in the room before leaving it. Also, there was food stuck to a number of the dishes in the cabinets, so I ended up having to scrub everything we used before we even used it. The A/C doesn't cool the rooms particularly well (the bedroom is freezing, while the front room needs the ceiling fan on to feel even remotely comfortable ... and yes, we had the bedroom door open and the vent running to pull the air from the bedroom to the front room), and the vent that pulls the air from the bedroom to the front room was so caked with dust that I felt unsafe even using it. Finally, the credit card policies in that hotel are archaic. The fact that they didn't even take credit cards until recently is pitiful, but even now they charge a "convenience" fee for running the cards. As a businessperson myself, I can tell you that credit fees are a cost of doing business, and that cost shouldn't need to be passed to the customer. The American used to be a great place to stay, and we looked very forward to it. In the past couple of years though, I've been more and more inclined to look elsewhere, and I think that this year was the year that forced the issue. Next year, we'll be staying at a different motel.

Room Tip: Rooms 300-305 are the quietest w/ the best view, then 200-205. The 1st floor (pool), & the sun d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lennonzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello;
We are sorry that your vacation experience was less than you had hoped for. The cleanliness factor is a surprise to us. Would you be so kind as to furnish us with the room # you were in as I would like to address your issues. Please send it to us at americaninn@americaninn.com so we can make the proper changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Yhe motel is family oriented. The motel is very clean. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Near the boardwalk. It is right on the beach. They also have a pool if you don't like the beach. They have a large sun deck.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My family and I stay at the American Inn Motel every July for the passed 3 years. The pool is huge and always warm. You are steps away from the beach. Over the dunes and you are right on the beach. It is close to the boardwalk but far enough from the noise. I love spending time with my family at the American. I'm counting down the days until next July. Thank you American Inn Motel staff for another amazing stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 a night for a 3rd floor oceanfront room. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your words. We do have the ultimate location and enjoy our returning guests feedback. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.9 km away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 41 in North Wildwood
161 reviews
0.2 km away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 41 in North Wildwood
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Carideon Motel
Carideon Motel
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
116 reviews
0.3 km away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#3 of 41 in North Wildwood
144 reviews
0.4 km away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#24 of 41 in North Wildwood
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Motel

Address: 510 E 13th Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range: $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and courteous staff, Family oriented. Large heated swimming pool with kiddie pool attached. Daily maid service, Fully equipped kitchens with microwaves in all efficiencies. color TVs, phone, refrigerator and coffee maker in all units. Fully heated and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
American Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing