We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they are ver ignorant”
Review of Impala Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Impala Island Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“they are ver ignorant”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

been staying at impala for 15 years. they have been great on mostly all ocassions. i have spent thousands at this place.once went down after taking care of my father with alzheimmers for a few days away. it was very difficult for me at this time. it was off season and heard fire alarm blaring went to front desk they couldnt have cared less. very mean. let it go cause i love going to oc. last week went on there web site and it said 20 dollars for a room for thanksgiving weekend. knew that was wrong so called them to give them a heads up. women answered phone yelled that i need to pay 77 dollars and i said no problem. cause i knew it was wrong. woman hung up with no thank you or anything.sent them email they didnt respond. very bad attitude towards good people.

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We apologize that your received less than professional service. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    77
    28
    3
    9
See reviews for
107
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Avoid this place if you can. The most unfriendly staff and management. It is as if they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there! They need customer service and management training desparately. Add to that dirty rooms (actual dirt all over the bathroom and shower at check in) dust everywhere, and cheap cardboard feeling sheets. Those are only three things, but there were more issues. It was not cheap. But, even if the rooms were 1/2 the price, it would still not be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valentina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
It is our aim to provide a satisfying stay at a fair value. We are very sorry that you did not have that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammonton
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2011

In reading the reviews for this hotel prior to visiting we were expecting a pretty good visit

.There were a couple of negative reviews but overall the reviews were good. I have to say that maybe the few negative reviews were due to the time of the year that they were here. We could not have had a better visit. First we reserved a ground room and upon arriving thought a second floor would be better to sit out at night. The front desk switched rooms for us with no problem. Than our air conditioner went on the blink around 10pm .Again the front desk sent up a maintanance team and switched it with a good attitude. Than we asked if we could have a late check out and again were told no problem. Even after checking out we were allowed to stay at the pool when we asked. Cudos go out to the front desk help who made our visit a nice one..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to accommodate all our guests and hope to see you again at the Impala Island Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Clean and acceptable rooms. Arrived at 11am was told to come back at 1 at that time was told check in really isn't until 3, which is fine but was not offered a changing room or anything else. Promptly checked out at 11am and asked if we could use the beach passes for a few hours, of course was told no, they were needed for people checking in.. Later in the day a freind called the hotel to see if rooms were available was told there were at least 10. Which means no one was checking in so we could have used the passes. Also had to move the car from the parking lot of it would be towed. Very bad customer service, we stay in Ocean City a few times a year, will not be staying there again and will not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We traveled to OC for a dear friends wedding. When we arrived we were delighted to find out that we received a free upgrade. When we got to the room we were not disappointed. Even though the rooms are basic, it was perfect for our needs. The beds were comfortable, the AC worked great, nice flat screen TV, plenty of towels, clean, and a fridge to boot. The location is great too. We never heard a thing from the boardwalk. The only real con is the parking. It is tight, and far from enough spaces. When we arrived we were asked by three different people if were were leaving. We felt bad for having to tell them no.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelliejo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had some family in town to spend a few days at the beach. The rooms are large and very clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable. I didn't have any trouble falling asleep. The staff was very friendly and ready to assist. There is a wonderful resturant right across the street that I think is owned by the motel. The motel is located behind an amusement park that closes at 11pm. My room faced the park and I never heard one ride or one scream while in the room. We plan to stay here again next year as a group.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenn6786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your response. Our business prides itself in a gathering spot for families - year after year. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We are on this trip with our daughter, son-in-law and two year old grandson. The Impala is perfect for us. We made our reservations in April and I recommend that if you are planning to come in the summer. Our room is one that has been updated. The bathroom is freshly tiled and sink area is new. Both are small. The room is a nice size with small refrigerator, sofa and flat screen TV. There is a nice pool with plenty of chairs and a small baby pool. It is one block from the middle of the boardwalk with an entry to the beach right there. I recommend that you ask for an updated room when you make a reservation. Also ask for a poolside room and you won't have noise from rides on the boardwalk.

We made our reservations early and it includes breakfast at The Bloomin Tulip restaurant - nothing special but we are not big breakfast people - it is convenient and the price is right. You can ride bikes on the boardwalk in the morning and the rental place is across the street. Plenty of free parking.

The two showers for washing off sand are also private. I gave my grandson a thorough shower here and removed all the sun lotion and sand. Great for families and especially for young kids.

The free wifi has excellent reception.

I can highly recommend the Impala. This is not luxury - this is "Jersey shore." This place cannot be beat to convenience and being family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeronaNJtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.4 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.2 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
343 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.4 km away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 32 in Ocean City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Property: Impala Island Inn
Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3341
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Impala Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impala Island Inn is a vacationer's island indeed. Located in the heart of America's greatest family resort within the beach block, this intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of our accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool. Each room has homelike amenities that include a refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, color cable TV and two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa, making every guest's stay at the Impala Island Inn a relaxing and leisurely experience. Activities close to our apartments include sailing and kayaking, boat rides, jet ski rentals, surfing, bicycling, golf, arcades and a variety of amusement parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Impala Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing