We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation (but not near Boardwalk)”
Review of The Crossings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crossings
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accommodation (but not near Boardwalk)”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Crossings consists of 1- and 2-room efficiencies: ours included HDTV with free HBO channels, stove, microwave, kitchen sink, fridge, ironing board (no iron), and no hair dryer. Bathroom small but quite adequate, with its own sink. We had a king-size bed, eating table with 2 chairs, a comfortable 3-person couch, and tv tables. Each unit at The Crossings has a separtate owner, so no two are alike in decor. Very clean. The only real drawback was that, while it is only a few blocks to the beach, we had to drive to the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jtoohil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
64
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Area
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Went to Ocean City last minute and almost everything was booked or had a 2 night min. I took a chance and booked with them. The room was clean and it had a small kitchen, eating area, bathroom, flat screen TV and 2 beds. The room was cheery and decorated appropriately. There was a pool, a game room, large parking area, and very close to the beach (not boardwalk). The staff was nice and you get free beach passes. I expected a dark, dingy room with a stale odor and I was wrong. I would stay here again, it is not the Marriott, obviously, but it provides you with a good experience at a condo/motor lodge place. You will have to drive about 7 min down the road to the Boardwalk, but I did not find this to be a problem due to the fact that during the day, you get a less crowded beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Buffalo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed here several times as a quick overnight getaway with my kids when we got the sudden "itch" to have some shore time. I've lived close to NJ shore my whole life so I know what to expect as far as hotels/motels. Most are dated, pricey and 3 stars or less. You get what you get at the shore...its the beach and the atmosphere that you really go for. With that in mind, here are the good and the not so good...

Good:
Very nice staff
Easy to get to, right off of 34th St. Bridge
Convenient to grocery store, Wawa, CVS, playground, restaurants.
34th St. beach has a public bathroom
Rooms all have AC and efficiency kitchens
Pool is warm & clean
Pool towels provided
Parking for 1 car
Reasonable room rates
Elevator
Front desk will work with you if you are not happy with your room
Rooms are clean

Not so good...
Long walk to beach (3 lights, busy streets)
All of the rooms are privately owned so decor and setup varies with each unit
(you never know what your going to get)
Very small bathrooms in all units
There is no "view" whatsoever from any of the units
Outdoor shower a bit of a joke

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhiladelphiaBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We found The Crossings to be a nice place to stay. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We all thought the rooms (efficiencies) were spacious and very clean. I am a fussy person when it comes to cleanliness. The bathroom is small, but the rest of the room had more than adequate space. We only stayed one night, so we didn't get to actually use any of the kitchen amenities. It's a nice touch, especially if you are planning a longer stay, have a family, and don't want to eat out every night. Some of the rooms have been updated and decorated nicely. We didn't get to use the pool because we like the beach instead, but it's a nice size. There is a Wawa right next door, a CVS and an Acme market.

The beach is just a few blocks away. The hotel also gives you beach tags. We had to leave a $20 deposit per person and you get that back upon leaving, as long as you don't lose the tag. :)

We thought the 10:00 a.m. check-out was a little early, but if you want to get some extra beach time in that day, they have a changing room, where you can shower and freshen up. They also let us leave our cars in the parking lot after we checked out, which was much appreciated.

I wouldn't hesitate to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyMom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband & I initially were looking to return to the Tropicana in Atlantic City. The prices quoted were not to our liking. Last year, we spent two days at the Tropicana on our honeymoon. And while we loved the suite, the expense after a wedding, was too much. Basically, we wanted more bang for our buck. We received all that we could have hoped for and more. A quaint town that feels like you're stepping back into a sweeter, peaceful time. The condo had all the amenities of home with excellent room service. The condo was advertized to come fully equipped yet I bought my own. THE CONDO WAS SO EQUIPPED; I never unpacked what I bought. Everything was within walking distance, a very short walking distance. Wa Wa right at the corner, CVS across the street and so too was the Acme market. Hoy's 5 & 10 was two blocks away. Bike rental shop a block away. A wonderful pizza place a short distance. The beach 3 blocks away, clean and certainly well kept. My husband Sean and I often speak of what our society has lost with improvements. Ocean City and specifically The Crossings helped remind us of a time gone by with all the amenities of today.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sassy_asset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester county, ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We just finished a 5 night stay and were very happy with this condo-tel. . I am a nut about clean rooms, beds and bathrooms when it comes to hotels, so of course as soon as we opened the door I RIPPED off the sheets looking for bedbugs, checked behind the headboard, etc. you get the picture - IT WAS CLEAN - our beds were on wheels and we had HARD WOOD FLOORS so of course i moved the beds to see if they clean underneath - AND IT WAS CLEAN - Then I checked the pillows - no stains or smells - So far so good - I also checked the bathroom for mold - AND IT WAS CLEAN. The front desk was the most friendly staff I met in a long time and the cleaning staff was very helpfull to get you whatever you needed ASAP. The pool was heated and goes from 3-6 feet, my kids were in it 3 out of 5 days. . Parking was plentifull there was in the shade and in the sun. The beach was a short walk away( 3 side blocks ), Wa-Wa is attached to the side of the hotel, CVS and Acme Supermarket are 7 steps away. you walk out the door of the hotel and turn right - and your there!! There is a park 1 short block away, there is also 3 ices-cream parlors, 1 game room, 2 italian restaurants, Hoys5 &10 store and Laura's Fudge Shop ALL WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE - when I say walking distance it is no more than 3 short blocks. It is a great place to stay and the area was very quite - it is not within the hussle and bussle of the Downtown area -but a 5 min car ride and your on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Yes this place is good value, but the rooms are hit and miss. My in-laws stayed in the room next door which seemed fine, but our room smelled like someone had just smoked a pack of twenty in there. Walk to the beach is not too far, takes a few minutes. Pool is small and warmish. Had room on back of building with view of electricity substation....not very inspiring. But for $120/night in August in Ocean City, I guess there's not too much complaining that can be done here. Nobody said this was going to be the Hilton. Its a 2 star establishment, do the math (5-2=3). Wireless internet was free and fast...nice touch.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PJM787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.5 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.7 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.4 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#27 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.6 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.4 km away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossings

Property: The Crossings
Address: 3420 Haven Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-1931
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crossings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossings is located in the beautiful South End of Ocean City, NJ. The Crossings offers easy access to a host of historical sites, artisans' villages, shopping, state and national parks, Ocean City beaches and fine dining guaranteed to satisfy the entire family. The Crossings offers many amenities and services, pool and tastefully furnished one room efficiency rooms featuring color cable TV, refrigerators, individually controlled heat and air conditioning, and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crossings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossings Hotel Ocean City
Crossings Hotel Ocean City
Crossings Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing