We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Headstart on Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Ocean Grove
Ranked #2 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2009

A break in the chilly spring brought us to our favorite hotel this time with two grandchildren in tow. We stayed in one of the three apartments they rent out and found more than enough bedspace as well as a flat screen TV and a full kitchen (eating a few meals in the apartment saved us a lot). The shops in town were bustling with activity brought on by the warmer weather. After shopping we found a playground just two blocks from the inn where the kids made a few friends and promised to meet again when summer officially arrives. So now the tradition is passed along to a new generation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Ocean Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2008

We love staying in Ocean Grove and chose this B&B based on some the reviews we read here. We made a reservation for the Tamarind Room and checked in with no problem. After that, the inn staff never bothered to even say hello to us and I had to search for someone to give the key to when we checked out. The room itself seemed adequate at first... until I took a closer look at the baseboard radiators, which obviously hadn't been dusted in a very long time (if ever). They were covered in a thick layer of dust and hair -- gross. The shower curtain in the bathroom was too long for the tub, and the bottom 4-5 inches was discolored and moldy. I couldn't believe the cleaning staff would leave it in that condition. Definitely will look for a cleaner hotel next time!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlinkyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This b&b was recommended by a friend and I was happy to be there. I found George to be a very warm host and another woman working on his staff. This was right after Labor Day weekend, when hospitality people are tired, and they were nicer in person and on the phone than other b&bs I called.

I found the place to be very warm and comfortable. Our room (Blue Willow Room) was clean, including the bathroom. The floor under the radiator in the bathroom wasn't clean, but the rest of the room etc. looked good.

The wrap around porch was nice, the patio outside by the fountain and the large living room with a very comfortable couch. I didn't try the breakfast.

I definitely would come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Oliveseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My husband and I stayed in Room 10, the "Angelica Room," on the fourth floor and it was great. I think we were the only ones on that floor, and we had the roof deck all to ourselves. The fourth floor also has a TV room with movies. (We didn't use the TV, though.) Also, right across the hall from our room was a room containing a whirlpool tub.

The inn was very quiet, and our room was large and clean. I read a recent review written by someone who stayed in our room the week before and he didn't mention the beautiful view of the ocean from the window facing the bed. You could literally sit up in bed in the morning and see the ocean.

One of the best things about The Inn at Ocean Grove is the location. It's 10 houses in from the beach (a block and a half) and two blocks in the other direction from the quaint little shops and restaurants on Main Avenue. On our first day we didn't even need the car because everything was within walking distance.

The breakfasts were good. George's employee remembered that my husband liked hot sauce on his omelet and on the second day he brought it out without being asked. He also remembered I liked English muffins and had a supply of them on the second day as well.

They offered different breakfast options on the two mornings we were there. While omelets/eggs, French toast and pancakes were offered every day, the "cold" choices varied. For example, different types of bread and fruit preserves and a different kind of coffee cake or pastry. They offered oranges and plums on both mornings.

The innkeeper, George, let us borrow wine glasses and a wine/beer bottle opener as well as a discount card for 15 percent off certain nearby restaurants. He also let us use his beach towels and had discount beach tags. He was really nice but also seemed respectful of his guests' privacy and pretty much left you alone unless there was something you needed.

Ocean Grove is a beautiful little town, very peaceful and full of wonderfully restored Victorians. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cali1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We spent several days in midweek. Booked #10 'the honeymoon suite" which is on the 4th floor. It was very quiet and led to a deck overlooking Ocean Grove and the ocean. It had chairs and lounges but one had to put them back together. The Inn is clean but lacked warmth. There were broken screen doors, room numbers written with magic markers on the doors, magazines one year old, no daily newspapers and after the summer rains no one bothered to dry the cushions. Breakfast was OK but with store bought coffee cake and breads. The location was great just 11/2 block from the boardwalk. We would stay here again but some very little effort would place this Inn above average.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Checkerberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at this property in June of 2008. His cousin was married near there and this was chosen as the property with "blocked rooms" set aside for familiy and close friends, so we didn't research any other properties, choosing instead to stay with the family.

We couldn't have been happier. We had both been traveling quite a bit in recent days and our needs were pretty minimal (just a bed and some A/C), but we were pleasantly surprised at this property. Our room was on the first floor, but it wasn't noisy at all. The room was decorated simply and tastefully and the bed and couch were comfortable and inviting. The bathroom was clean. We were allowed to book for only one night, which I hear is a luxury on the shore during the summertime. We arrived early, before the wedding, and had no problems checking in early to get ready for the party. The staff was courteous and personable (and seemingly always available, which is hard with three properties and only two owners!)

Breakfast was wonderful, out on the balcony, with an ocean breeze and all of the carbohydrates you could eat. The whole family was able to sit out there for hours, enjoying the weather and catching up.

All in all, it was a wonderful weekend and a lovely place. We would definitely look to stay there again if we found ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UndrH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

The Inn was so wonderful! very clean and cozy. and the staff went out of their way to accommadate us! Nice location, close to the beach. The Inn manager, Robert, was a wonderful host! we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NJContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.7 km away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,596 reviews
1.5 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
281 reviews
1.0 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
257 reviews
0.2 km away
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ocean Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ocean Grove

Address: 27 Webb Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1335
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range: $121 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in the entire Inn with a tv room w/ cable & Netflix. A year round romantic retreat with full gourmet breakfast an easy walk to beach, shopping and attractions. Designer decorated rooms with emphasis on style and comfort. Special rates for groups, weddings and retreats. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing