We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun In The Sun..... at OVR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View Resort Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean View Resort Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun In The Sun..... at OVR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

By far the best campground in South Jersey. Clean, well maintained, lots are a nice size, the lake area is beautiful as is the olympic size pool. More than ample laundry areas and rest rooms, very clean with up to date machines. A well stocked camp store and a quaint old fashioned ice cream shop that also serves hot food compliment the campground. Entertainment for all ages from Pirates weekend to Christmas in July. There is always something to do. Weekly dances and movies. The campground also features a trolley car ride touring the beautifully decorated campsights. Nightly campfires add to the outdoor ambiance.
It's nice to be part of what used to be, families having fun together in a great place. OVR is located minutes from major highway to either Atlantic City or Wildwood, take your pick, plan your vacation and discover one of the best kept secrets!!! Thanks OVR for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbaraT201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    21
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
62
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a 5-10min. drive to all shore points. Forget about all the things you think about when you think camping. This place offers fun for the family as well tranquility for those whom want to get away from it all. Pool, social activities, convience store and much more. This is a far better choice then a hotel. You don't have to own a camper to get in on the fun they offer cabins and home rentals. Bring the whole family! It's important to them that you have a great stay and it shows in every part of this resort. I recomended this resort to my neighbor because they are a family of 5 it is tough for them to afford a family vacation. They had a great time bonding as a family again and getting to know each other on a personal level again. There is something for all ages to do. Build a campfire if you choose have some smors or just read a book by the lake with your flip flops off. You have to check this place out next time you go to the Nj shore stop in and take a look for yourself. Don't just take my word for it. It's hard to see all that they offer at first glance but anyone on staff would be glad to take you for a tour. Happy Camping

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladhybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We've been camping at Ocean Vew Campground for more than 2 weeks a couple times and.....It's just perfect. At the arrival, no bad surprises, It took 3 secondes and we were driving toward our site. No need to leave a deposit for the gate card, they give you a free printed bar coded card. (dont have to worry about it at departure).

Relaxing vacation time: The campground and our site were very quiet, (believe it or not, there is a security agent patroling on a bike all night long). We had a good wifi connection right on our site. As we camp in a Pop Up, we realy appreciated the 2 new sparkling clean bath houses nearby. no flies, no bugs to worry about, the pool is real large with a sufficient amount of chairs (même durant les vacances de la construction). The beach at the lake is real nice also.....perfect when you can't go to the Ocean. They offer all the funny extra amenities on a campground.....store (food), rv parts, restaurant, paved roads and the tram car.
We enjoyed our stays there.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank MfCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonie, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

My family and I have been staying here for a couple of weeks every year for nearly 40 years. We used to used to use a tent but switched to a one room cabin a few years ago. My son and his family have also been coming here with there tent and 3 children the past few years. This is a very nice campground, but has become too expensive given the cost of staying in nearby motels with pools and free breakfasts. This year we will not be coming here, will be staying in a motel at much less cost.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank coloniegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I recently camped with my family in Ocean View Resort. We had a great weekend. My husband, daughter and I stayed in a tent in a site next to my parents, in their pop up. It was a great family, camping experience.
My daughter is almost 3 and she LOVED her camping trip. She loved the lake because she could build sand castles. She also loved to swim with her tube. She wanted to go on the paddle boats but I said we should wait until she is alittle bigger. I like the baby pool that's next to the pool. It had a cute water feature that showered the kids underneath. There are great playgrounds at the lake and the pool. My daughter liked to take breaks from swimming to climb and swing.
The tram car was a nice surprise. You can hop on for a ride all around the campground. It gave us a tour so that we will be able to decide what area we want to camp in next year.
On the Sunday night of our camping trip we went to a nature show in the clubhouse. It was so cool. I held an albino snake on my shoulders. My daughter even held it, she also wanted to hold the owls and the alligator but we could only only the snakes.
Overall it was a great trip. It was fun to share the time with my husband, but also to be able to have a site right next to my parents for night time campfires.
We will be calling in the spring of 2012 to make a reservation for summer!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maopjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a permanent trailer park and definitely nothing like their advertisements for tent camping. They lock you in for 4 days minimum charge ($65/day) for tent camping and you can bet there is a reason for this policy. They know you will likely want to leave as we did after one night.

We were assigned a small spot directly between two permanent trailers for our tent. During the night we woke up to the strong smell of sewer pipe and asked for a refund that was refused. They offered only a one day credit - no refund. I tried to reason with the clerk (after she spoke to the manager) about how we are the customer and if you do not take care of your customers then you will not have them. She only mumbled something about having plenty of customers and we left the property for good and never to return.

We did not think that ruining our holiday weekend and suffering through a night of sewer gas was adequately compensated by simply offering a one day credit to stay at this place.

During the night as the permanent residents on both sides arrived, left and accessed their trucks at night their lights shined right on our tent. We also, had to listen to the air conditioner running that was attached to the outside of one of the permanent trailers.

This is definitely not a camping atmosphere as advertised on their web page- no nature (i.e, crickets), no peace of mind.

The positive side is that there was a small man made lake was nice and the pool looked respectable.

If you go to this place, definitely do not take a tent - it will be a big mistake. We will not return.

Room Tip: Tent Campers Beware- Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Soloman_Sez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC
Level Contributor
359 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in this campground last summer. I thought it was well located (close to the beach, convenience store) with lots of amenities. There are lots of mobile home but also plenty of sites for travellers. Loads of things to do with kids (pool, lake, train, mini-putt…). The only negative thing about this place is the limited opening hours of pool and office. I would definitely recommend this place to other people wishing to stay camping close to the beach.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Boutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean View
13.0 km away
The Beachcomber Resort
13.0 km away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
9.0 km away
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Big Timber Lake Family Camping R...
#1 of 5 in Cape May Court House
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Sea Pines RV Resort & Campground
4.8 km away
Driftwood RV Resort & Campground
26.6 km away
Cape May KOA
Cape May KOA
#15 of 19 in Cape May
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Resort Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Resort Campground

Property: Ocean View Resort Campground
Address: 2555 N Route 9, P.O. Box 607, Ocean View, NJ 08230-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Ocean View
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ocean View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Resort Campground invites you to the finest in family camping at New Jersey's largest privately owned campground. Here on our 180 wooded acres, you will love your spacious, shaded campsite and OVR's modern camping conveniences. Each of our 1173 campsites is equipped with 20/30 amp electric service, water, sewer, and cable TV as well as a fire ring and picnic table. We offer 4 types of cabin rentals as well as luxury appointed park model rentals. Your kids will love our new Buccaneer Bay Splash Pad which opened in 2014! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean View Resort Campground Hotel Ocean View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing