We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience;friendly people,clean areas,quiet sites.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean View Resort Campground
South Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience;friendly people,clean areas,quiet sites.”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We booked this holiday weekend at the last minute. We were very surprised that there was still availabilty for the 4th of July, and questioned it. But decided to give it a try and boy we're glad we did! Everything was fabulous! The staff was very friendly and helpful, sites are spacious and clean. All sites have water and electric. There are plenty of bathrooms available, I never had to wait in line. The bathrooms were pleasantly clean and have coin operated hot showers. 25 cents for 5 mins. The beach area is great with paddel boats, shuffle board, playground and volley ball net nearby. Snack stand and bathrooms on beach too. We took a walk down to the fishing only lake and it was nice and quiet with shade. A swimming pool is also available, but we did not visit. They have a decent game room for the kids near front gate as well as mini golf. We saw pleanty of people walking their dogs, we brought ours as well, and wondered how that would be at night. We heard nothing and were never disturbed. They list quiet hours between 11pm and 7am but you never know what to expect. They also offer a gift shop that stocks anything and everything you may need or may have forgotten. They also offer cabin rentals. We loved this place and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wailym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    13
    1
    6
See reviews for
68
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
marlboro
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We booked for the week before July 4th for a 7 night stay. What a disappointment! First, this is a place where there are 1175 sites and only maybe 100 or so are for campers, the rest are all seasonal (very similar to mobile homes). If you take a ride many are almost falling fown and have garbage all around them. As for camping, people on here are right when they say there is nothing to do. Most all places we stay have activities. Not here, only the swimming lake which does have paddle boats, a game room, and shuffleboard. The baseball field is overgrown with weeds and is being used as a storage facility for broken down trailers. I was charged an additional $50 for my third child. And a friend came to visit for one night with his son and was charged $36 when we called the office and asked what the charge was for and why the booklet said it was only $20 they were nasty and said we are not refunding any of the money. Bathrooms by our site closed at 7pm. No planned activities for kids. Mini Golf was horrible. Paid $4 per person for a little, dirty course. Paid 4.50 at the boardwalk the next day for an 18 hole pirate adventure. Nothing here to do but the lake. We stayed here also because of the no drinking in public places policy but this also was a lie. There was so much drinking on the beach it was annoying for those of use who don't drink. Also, the places was dirty. People not cleaning up after there pets, trash outside the dumpsters no trash pickup at your site. All in all paid almost $600 for 7 nights and got a lake to swim in. Disappointment. And all but the guard shack employees were nasty. Never again. Don't listen to these people who talk how great this place is. People live here and I only saw one set up for tent camping. Also paid extra for a lake front site and had a view of a building and bushes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank markat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed here in a travel trailer. The campground is large with many sites and seasonal "renters." The sites are sandy and wooded, blacktop roads. Lots of "no-see-um" bugs, LOTS! Came right in past screens, had to keep closed up with AC on all the time. Bathrooms are VERY CLEAN! Showers were a quarter but you got your moneys worth. Lots of hot water. I liked them. Roomy and private. Hard to shave at sink, as the auto sinks have one temp with auto-on with hand movement sensors. The campground was half empty, a good thing because if this park is full don't go. Some sites are very close and tight, width wise. Place would be crazy if it was full! It would be like 20 sardines in tin can made for 10! Fishing pond was great, caught many small bass and its a catch and release area so we gave-em back. Kids had a good time catching them. Many seniors have set up trailer homes at this resort, and gone to bed or are waiting around for the reaper. While at the large pool (nice), one old battle axe, apparent seasonal resident, remarked how she didn't like the way the place was changing, allowing "transient campers" into HER resort. Sounded like she had a "bad chew of tobacco" in her mouth when she said it too. LOTS of teens congregate at the lake at night. Appears to the residents teens. Nothing to do after 9PM as everything for them closes even though the signs say different. As I walked past the teens about 10PM, it was apparent they knew each other well. Then surprise, one "Jersey Shore Girl" ran underneath a street lamp into the light with a friend, looked right at me, the wife and our two girls and believe it or not, jerked her pants down and peed in front of God and everyone else watching. However, with that aside, the campground can most likely be described in one word my wife came up with - "Disheveled." It left me confused as to if its a trailer park trying to be a campground or a campground trying to be a trailer park. Our camping neighbors both remarked they disliked the place, indicating all of them in this area are about the same. They indicated Cape May had some nice ones. Perhaps "group think" has taken over in this area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Delaware1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

There is a huge difference between a five star campground and a three star mobile home park that let's you have campfires....this one is the latter. It might be ok for seasonal renters with modular homes, mobile homes et al but this is no campground. After traveling all over the US I found this to be a three star mobile home park...............you even pay for the flippen showers...get out your quarters. There were a few nice people willing to loan us quarters when we arrived at the showers ill prepared...and by the way...it's a whopping 77 dollars for a spot by the lake, way not worth it! Compare it to the "room" at the Showboat available the same dates for 62 dollars this was one big ripoff. The young lady at the desk tried to be nice but the old lady was not helpful and frankly not nice. Would not recommend it. Go to the Showboat more value for your dollar......even the rooms at the beach were a better value.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slkatphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Shade, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Buyer Beware !!!! I reserved a spot at the campsite two weeks in advance and decided to cancel that very day. Well they mention a "Service Charge" on their website...that SERVICE CHARGE IS $30.00 !! That is bad business ! Try Big Timberlake....it is an excellent campground.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NJjimmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We wanted to visit the New Jersey Shores, but found the cost of hotels was VERY high. So we switched gears and decided to camp instead. Since there are so many campgrounds, it was tough to decide which one to try. We found the OVR in the AAA book, and then found the TripAdvisor reviews. What an absolutely great find! And for only $400/week.

Campsite: We had originally planned to stay six nights, but had such a great time we stayed a seventh night. We brought our tent, and got a site close to the front of the park, and close to the washrooms and showers. The site was great, with lots of trees. It included a picnic table and fire ring, plus electricity, water, cable TV and WiFi. What more could you ask for in a campsite.
Most of our neighbours were seaonal renters, with huge trailers or mobile homes. I was amazed by the amount of work that people put into their campsites.

Office/security: Check-in was very fast, and the office was very modern and organized. I liked that they gave us a card with a bar code on it, to use at the gate upon entry. There is also a guard posted 24/7 at the gate, so you know the place is secure.

Restaurant: It was awesome having a little restaurant within walking distance of our site, since we didn't plan on doing any cooking. In the morning we could walk over and order bacon & eggs and enjoy it at the site. They also had ice cream, which was a big hit.

Pool: There were lifeguards at the pool, and every day we saw people cleaning off the many lounge chairs. We swam once in the pool, and it was quite refreshing (i.e. cool). The pool is huge with room for everyone. It was never crowded while were there.

Tram ride: We took the tram ride around the campground one night, and got to see a lot of other sites. Kids really enjoyed the ride and are able to get on, ride to the store, and get back on to ride back to their site.

Amenities: There are lots of things to do here. There is a large man made lake, pond for fishing, games room for the kids, laundry room, and a club house that showed movies every night.

Washrooms: I could not believe how clean the washrooms were. I know they were cleaned at least every morning. The showers were great. For 25 cents you can shower for a long time. There were never any line-ups for the showers. I assume that's because most people have their own trailers / mobile homes.

Halloween: The best part of the trip was Hallowen in August, on Saturday night. There were lots of decorations at many, many sites. And over 1,000 kids went out trick-or-treating. The costumes and decorations were simply amazing. One of the campsites even had a haunted house, graveyard, casket with skeleton, etc. It was such fun to walk around and enjoy the atmosphere. Afterwards they gave out trophies for costumes, and then had a dance at the clubhouse.

Bottom line: This is a great campground, and I hope to come back again next year. Maybe we'll come for Christmas in July!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KLM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piladelphia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

I took my 3 children to Ocean View Resort Campground two times this summer. The first we camped in a tent and were pleasantly surprised so when we had more time, we rented a cabin and came back for a longer stay.

I was surprised by the nice pool, lake and all the activities at the campground. The down side was we wanted to spend time at the campground not just at the beach. The kids enjoyed the "old fashioned" minature golf, tram rides and shuffleboard by the lake. We still need to fish in the pond but we ran out of time.

My children made friends easily here which made it even more enjoyable. Very nice people. The bath houses were clean and never full you do need a quarter for the shower.

This campground I would say is probably 70% seasonal RV units, 20% weekly RV and 10% tents. All sites have full hook ups and cable tv - which felt a little odd with a tent! We look forward to going back.

  • Liked — Close to beach, clean, friendly, lots to do for a campground and shady
  • Disliked — bit pricy for tent camping since you have water, electric and cable
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Momstertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean View
13.0 km away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
220 reviews
17.4 km away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
76 reviews
26.7 km away
Seashore Campsites & RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Big Timber Lake Family Camping R...
#1 of 5 in Cape May Court House
140 reviews
24.2 km away
Holly Shores Camping Resort
7.9 km away
Sea Pines RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Resort Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Resort Campground

Property: Ocean View Resort Campground
Address: 2555 N Route 9, P.O. Box 607, Ocean View, NJ 08230-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean View
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ocean View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Resort Campground invites you to the finest in family camping at New Jersey's largest privately owned campground. Here on our 180 wooded acres, you will love your spacious, shaded campsite and OVR's modern camping conveniences. Each of our 1173 campsites is equipped with 20/30 amp electric service, water, sewer, and cable TV as well as a fire ring and picnic table. We offer 4 types of cabin rentals as well as luxury appointed park model rentals. Your kids will love our new Buccaneer Bay Splash Pad which opened in 2014! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean View Resort Campground Hotel Ocean View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing