We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Does the job okay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Paramus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Does the job okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Nothing special about this place...right off of route 17...NO ELEVATORS only two levels...very odd they have their fitness room literally in the middle of the lobby/breakfast area...Rooms were very clean, but SMALL...bathroom very clean and decent but small as well. Comfy bed, peaceful and quiet for the most part. Staff seemed okay, nothing to write home about. The hot DELUXE free bfast was sort of weird...all pre-made "military" style eggs/omlets...decent choices for cold foods but if you want a real breakfast just go to the many local diners around the hotel, they have awesome breakfast! WIFI worked well, and it was an overall pleasant stay. I Would stay here again...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amira82985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    72
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
33
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

I needed a hotel last minute near a jobsite and this was the closest one that came up. The location is right on a very busy main highway and my room was moderately noisy from the traffic. I get used to it, but someone who is sensitive to noise should stay away. The room itself was nice and very clean. The bed was comfortable and having a selection of soft versus firm pillows was also a good touch.

The parking lot was a bit awkward to get in and out of. Since the highway is very busy, it was not easy to pull out into the traffic. There is a gigantic mall across the highway, but was also very hard to get to because of the area roads.

Breakfast was fine. Some hot choices like pre-cooked eggs, sausage and biscuits along with cereals, bagels, bread, etc. The dining area was a bit small with only about 10 tables which got more full than I would like when enjoying a breakfast.

The staff was friendly and helpful for the few questions I had.

Overall, the accommodations were nice and reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sardonyx47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We arrive very late at the hotel, beds were relly comfortable, our daughters love it. The breakfast was big and there was a lot of choice. We surely return one day!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We arrived at 1 a.m. and left at 10 a.m., but I have nothing but high marks for this budget friendly hotel. Best bed linens and especially pillows that I've ever had in a hotel, especially a budget hotel. I say this even though the comforter clearly smelled (faintly) like someone had smoked in the non-smoking room. Hotel is on a busy highway - request a room near the back if possible. Good towels, soap that smells like Red Hots (wakes you up!) but no fan in the bathroom. We chose this hotel for the availability of 2 queen beds (instead of full) a major plus for 2 teenagers sharing a bed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenwoodtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

The Holiday Inn Express in Paramus NJ was a very nice surprise.

I stayed there for a month. I stay in a lot of hotels thru the year. These folks treated me like a highly valued guest. The manager even allowed me to leave my belongings in the room when I flew home for the Thanksgiving holiday, (saving me the move out/ move back in hassle) and didn't charge me for the room during the days home. Unheard of. Hotel is aged, but well kept, and clean. Walk around and you see where there is a "we care about this place" culture. They are doing upgrades and re-modeling. I’d like to see what it will look like when they complete the upgrades.

Nicest staff I've dealt with in ages..ALL of them. Housekeeping, maintenance man, front desk, manager, you name it. Extremely pleasant, eager to please, and always courteous. Any call to the front desk was answered by someone with a smile on their voice, and genuinely eager to please the caller. They always went the extra mile to ensure I was comfortable. I felt like I was being treated by a 5 star staff.
I was putting in 12 hour days, dragging in at late hours. This crew made sure I was comfortable and undisturbed when I had an occasional day off. They handled my laundry valet needs. Once a week i'd find a 'thank you' token gift on my room doorknob: a bag with a water bottle, a few cookies, or chocolates. In it was always an appreciation note for staying, and a comment from the management to let them know if I had any needs.
This staff will be missed when I leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texnuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otis, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

We were in town for the Giants game and took 2 rooms. The desk staff and manager who were there at check in were friendly and helpful. They gave us a 15% off coupon for Houlihan's. The rooms were nice, and breakfast was good, except for the eggs, but can't complain given the reasonable rates. It took us about 15 or 20 minutes to get to the stadium from there, and they were nice enough to let us leave a car on the lot until after the game. The only downside, as with much of the routes in NJ, is that its a pain to have to make a jug handle turn every time you want to be on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofSunsetTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

I am Clearly disappointed with the policies of Holiday Inn. Unaware that they had a cancellation policy that is nonrefundable upon purchase. Due to unexpected cacellation of a family event I had to cancel our trip. I have been in the hotel buisness and and there are different cacellation rates, but to take the whole payment on the room. Im paying for a inconvenience not a service in this case.

Disatisfied Customer

Joseph

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeholly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paramus
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
2.1 km away
Courtyard Paramus
Courtyard Paramus
#3 of 5 in Paramus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
1.4 km away
Ramada Rochelle Park Near Paramus
3.6 km away
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
#2 of 4 in Saddle Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Paramus

Property: Holiday Inn Express Paramus
Address: 50 Rte 17 North, Paramus, NJ 07652
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Paramus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated 100% non-smoking Holiday Inn Express is right where the action is in Paramus. Located on Route 17 North and is very close proximity to major highways like Route 4, Garden State Parkway, and I-80, the Holiday Inn Express is where you want to be, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure,or leisure in and around Paramus. New York City is only a few miles drive away from the Hotel. Hop on to the George Washington Bridge or take the Lincoln Tunnel and you are in the heart of Manhattan, New York City is the heartbeat. Shopping could never be closer: Garden State Plaza Mall, New Jersey is the largest and busiest Mall is across the street from the hotel. With over 300 stores, which include Macy s, J.C.Penney, Lord & Taylor, Nordstrom and Ikea to name a few,the mall is a major bus transfer point for New Jersey Transit Commuters. Bergen Mall is also minutes away. Throughout your stay you will enjoy our warm and professional hospitality. Start your mornings off with complimentary Express Start breakfast including hot items Take advantage of our free wireless & wired high-speed Internet. 32''LCD TVs, DVD players & refrigerators in all rooms. The hotel has free and ample parking spots. Please ask for our concierge service if you want to schedule a NYC tour. All our 89 rooms and lobby area are newly renovated.Come experience our Stay Smart hospitality. Enjoy our 24 hour fitness Center along with our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Paramus Hotel Paramus
Holiday Inn Paramus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing