We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect dining experience...please eat here!”
Review of Mistral

Mistral
Reserve with OpenTable
Mistral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 219 Restaurants in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Savor and share chef Scott Anderson and Ben Nerenhausen's inventive, culturally influenced cuisine with a superlative emphasis on fresh, local ingredients and inviting flavors. Mistral's bar features an eclectic craft cocktail menu that is both unexpected and attuned to chef Anderson's local and seasonal ethos.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I enjoyed a spectacular dining experience at the Mistral last Monday night. Got a seat at the kitchen bar which I loved! Watching the culinary team was a blast and the food was just GREAT! Super relaxed vibe in the restaurant, with an attentive, friendly and personable staff that was engaging, on top of their service and super helpful.

Now the food, WOW. Seared foie gras on walnut shortbread topped with apple compote and black cardamon. Silky smooth, crunchy shortbread,,,melted in my mouth.

Next was a tuna and avocado ceviche with a squid ink "leche de tigre" and diced sweet potatoes. Over the top taste and elegant presentation.

As if that isn't enough, my entree was saute of skate wings with a carrot puree. Clean, great taste, just amazing! Oh yeah, great wine selections with each course.

Not enough wonderfulness yet, then try the mint chocolate tarte with zabaglione and an Amore nightcap. Pretty much perfect night for me.

Thanks Mistral. Your kitchen KILLS IT! Everybody else...go eat at this restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pveeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

The Mistral is situated in a beautifully designed space that speaks of post modern, classic, cozy country and elegant city all at the same time. It’s a space where one feels comfortable in business casual or formal; both seem to fit. I mention this because the decor echoes the food and drink. Most dishes are prepared with 5 Star quality, yet they are presented in an informal manner. The snacks arrive on curiously shaped plates and are meant to be shared. We thoroughly enjoyed the buttermilk biscuits, foil gras and bacon beignets but we’re not impressed with the Beausoleil Oysters. They seemed to lack freshness. The large plates were fine, especially the seared diver scallops. The only truly poor dish was the Shoyu Duck Ramen. The duck was overcooked and tough and the ramen sauce was so overpoweringly dense that it destroyed the taste of the noodles.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We've been here many times. The most recent was Sunday for Easter. All three courses were outstanding, unique, tasty, of course fresh, with interesting combinations of flavors and textures on each plate.

The environment is relaxing and beautiful especially outside in the summer. Staff is always friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating if needed. They use small plates which is fun to try different foods and you don't leave stuffed. Again, this is one of the top 3 restaurants in the entire Princeton area.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2JerseyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

The best seat in the house is at the bar, where you can watch the chefs prepare the various tapa dishes, all of which are delicious. We also went there for a Valentine's Day fixed menu, which was offered with wine pairings. Very good service and a fine meal.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank tingogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

We've eaten at Mistral several times for dinner while visiting Princeton. Service and dishes have always been above average. Would be nice if the menu rotated more often or expanded a bit. All in all a good dining experience. Recommended.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheDistrictTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 

Been to Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing