We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Skylands New Jersey Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is a great place to have a wedding, or to just visit. Very rich in history, and they have wonderful fall foliage. we plan to return soon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A JEWEL INDEED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The New Jersey Botanical Gardens brochure describes SKYLANDS FARM located in the Ramapo Mountains of northern New Jersey and part of the Ringwood State Park as a “hidden jewel”. I think that’s a fair surmise. Design and layout of the formal gardens and construction of the granite Manor House began in the 1920’s. In 1966, the Skylands Garden was purchased by the State of New Jersey. New Jersey Governor Thomas Kean designated the 96 acres surrounding the manor house as the State’s official botanical garden. It has been placed on the State and National Registers of Historic Places.

Touring the grounds is an inviting adventure in landscape colour, design and layout. A social function was being held at the Manor House on the day I visited and so interior tours of the historic home were not available. Still, there is much to enjoy in a leisurely stroll around the property. Siting of the house is immediately apparent. It interacts with the overall design of the gardens exceptionally well. Mature trees and shrubbery accentuate and complement the weathered stone façade of the house.

Curving walls with overlooks, stone cherubs perched on some of the walls, a reflecting pool with statuary and lily pads invite one to pause and reflect on the serenity of the settings. Formals gardens abound with what seems like an endless outpouring of colour and arrangement. Benches strategically placed in the corners of some of the gardens invite moments of contemplative reflection. The floral blooms in the well tended gardens seemed almost infinite in variety. Not to abuse a cliché, but the profusion of blooms was really a “riot in colour”.

Skylands Farm is a safe haven of serenity. It should truly not be overlooked as one of New Jersey’s crown jewels.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiergadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful botanical garden site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

THis is a large, open ara with many types of plants, flowers, tree and small animals. A wonderful place to roam and relax on a clear Spring, Summer or Fall day.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank arichdevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I took my Mother-In-law from Massachusetts here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My Mother-In-law from Massachusetts was visiting. While my husband was working, we decided to take a day trip. I had never been, but always wanted to go! The Manor Castle is beautiful! We walked through the beautiful gardens and all over the grounds. They offer Summer Concerts and a Woodland Walk (which I would love to do). Free Guided Garden Tours - Sundays, 2 p.m., May through October. During the week (and all week long after Labor day until Memorial day) - parking is free! Skylands Manor Tours are available for a small fee! The park is a BEAUTIFUL way to spend the day!

Helpful?
1 Thank jaynelwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, ct
Level Contributor
318 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Well kept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great place for a stroll! Well kept stayed at the manor took a nice walk through. Great place for peace and reflection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skylands New Jersey Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Skylands New Jersey Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing