We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Understanding Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Understanding Management”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We unfortunately ran into an issue and had to make some changes to our reservations, Nishant could noy have been more helpful and understanding. As I read these reviews, I can actually hear my grandmother say to me ' you catch more bees with honey'. Perhaps if you were to address the hotel staff with respect they would do the same. I would be happy to stay at this establishment in the future just because Nishant was so understanding,

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank susan320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
29
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and 2 kids stayed at the Candlewood Suites in July and had a wonderful stay. Everything was great- from the rooms, to the free shuttle service, to the personable staff. The hotel is in more of an industrial/residential area, but it was nice and quiet for us. It was about 20 minutes away from NYC and some great shopping at the Harmon Clove outlets. .  We had a one bedroom suite and the bedroom portion was roomy and had enough room to maneuver around with amazing beds and was perfect for our family. The bed itself was comfortable and it sported three pillows plus two more in the closet. This was a nice touch since I like a lot of pillows. The vanity is large enough had enough room for me and my wife's toiletries. The two 32" LCD TVs with DVD player were a nice touch and they had 3 ESPN channels including premium cable channels such as HBO and Showtime but they did not have pay per view movies. But they have nice DVD collection at front desk which you can borrow at any time. The kitchen was nice. They did provide a fair amount of kitchenware. The refrigerator was nice to keep drinks and restaurant leftovers in. The kitchen would be adequate to prepare small meals if you feel the need so it was great to be able to close the door when the kids had to take a nap. They even let us use the bbq grills. Our stay was wonderful, all of the staff incredibly helpful, and the rooms great. We will definitely stay here again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tborg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
On behalf of the entire staff of the Candlewood Suites Secaucus, thank you very much for the kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to hosting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arived at the hotel and we had reservation for three rooms and they only had one room available which is fine. So we check in one of the rooms to change and the hallways were dirty. Once we open the door of the room it smelled horrible. We just decided to leave and and cancel our other rooms. The lady at the front desk who was very nice said ok. We went to the marriott which was much nicer. The next day they charged us at the Candlewood suite, so we called the manager he ended up hanging up the phone on us. what horrible servcie from the gm. would never stay there.

Room Tip: would not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdflyingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
In the above mention review you sir have FAILED to mention the fact that you wanted to check into all 3 rooms at 10 AM instead of 3 PM (at least 5 hr earlier than our check-in time) and since our hotel was SOLD-OUT night before we were not able to accommodate your demand for an early check-in for 3 rooms. However our Front Desk agent gave you 1 room so that at least you and your other 2 guests can freshen up while we clean other suites. Later on after you guys were freshened up you just left our hotel and informed us to cancel other reservation as there was change of plans. You never mentioned to us that you were unhappy with room or disappointed due to cleanliness. You never gave us the opportunity to correct our mistake if in fact it was an error on our part. You never gave us chance to clarify that the reservation were an advance purchase and cannot be refunded upon cancellation. You just assume that since you are cancelling other 2 reservation on the day of arrival you were entitle for a full refund.

I’m not surprise to see that you have now used tripadvisor.com as a way to spread wrong image and make false claims of cleanliness because you’re previous attempt to get a full refund from our customer service department have FAILED. By making false statement about our cleanliness and submitting incorrect negative review if you think we will offer you some sort of refund so that you can withdraw you misleading review than sir you are only misleading yourself.

We strive to make every guest’s stay a pleasant stay and if for any reasons they are dissatisfied we will do everything that is possible to ensure their stay is excellent. But when a guest who makes false statement just to get a refund or discount we stop giving them the upmost service as was the case here. When you start making threats against me by saying that you will get me fired for not refunding you, I had to hung-up the phone on you as I didn’t seem necessary to carry on the conservation.

I CANNOT OFFER ANY KIND OF COMPENSATION OR A FULL REFUND because you fail to understand the rules and regulation of an advance purchase.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

this hotel forced my wife and I to leave the hotel @9p.m. Because we complained to priority club which we are platinum members that they were over an hour late picking us up . The hotel manager said if we did not leave they would call the autorities and have us removed.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlevtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The reviews of this hotel here on Trip Advisor are mostly positive and it is fair to say that we had a decent stay at the hotel but not as good as many have made out. We booked two separate queen rooms for 4 adults (2 x married couples) and arrived quite late at night from London.
The hotel is not easy to find and whatever you do forget using mapquest for directions as it will not get you there. We had to stop at another suites hotel and get directions to Candlewood. The hotel itself is in the middle of an industrial zone so there are no restaurants close by so unless you have a car where you can go out there is only the choice of eating in from ready meals sourced in the in-house shop or get a local carry-out eaterie to deliver to your room.
The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much bother to try and help you and this is a huge positive for the hotel the staff are undoubtedly one of the best things about Candlewwod Secaucus.
After our long day travelling to New Jersey we accepted the rooms we got but next day I upgraded the two rooms to a double queen size and this suited us better. I have to say the standard queen size room is on the small size and if you have stayed in suite hotels before in America like Homestead or Extended Stay you will be shocked by how small and compact the standard queen suite is at Candlewood. The double queen suite was much better and spacious and was worth the extra money.
The hotel shuttle bus will take you round to Secaucus Junction station (less than 10
minutes away) and it is only a 7 minute ride and no stops on the train to Penn Street Station in New York City (34th Street & 7th).
It is undoubtedly the fastest and cheapest way in to downtown Manhattan and is all told a very reliable and frequent suburbun train service and cheap too (about $10 return trip for one adult).
The hotel is good and extremely reasonable value but some of the rooms (lower numbered rooms) are close to the New Jersey Turnpike which passes close by and the traffic noise is considerable.
When we upgraded our rooms to the double queen we moved along the corridor away from the Turnpike side and the noise was reduced dramatically. If you are a light sleeper you don't want to be anywhere near that wing of the hotel if you can help it.
All in all a few positives from our stay at Candlewood and a couple of negatives but overall good value for money if you are prepared to stay just outside Manhatten and pay the few dollars to travel in each day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Beautiful, well designed and clean. The staff was friendly and went beyond expectations to help. It was delightful and I would highly recommend it. We traveled across 5 states, this was by far the best experience we had in hotels. There are kitchenettes in every room. That included a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, toaster, coffee pot, microwave. On the good and bad side, there was no housekeeping unless you were there for more than a week. However, you could ask for clean towels, etc if needed. You were also offered a choice of pillows.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoolN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
On behalf of the entire staff of the Candlewood Suites Secaucus, thank you very much for the kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to hosting you again on a future trip to Secaucus.

Nishant Patel
General Manager
Candlewood Suites Secaucus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here to travel back and forth to NYC. This was a great choice for value and location. The hotel is close (driving distance) to the outlets in Secaucus, movies and restaurants. It only took us 15 minutes via the Lincoln Tunnel to get to Manhattan. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the kitchenettes are a plus. The staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Movee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
2.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
2.0 km away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
2.8 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Property: Candlewood Suites Secaucus
Address: 279 Secaucus Rd, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing