We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Somerset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Somerset
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A loyal Marriott customer, but can not recommend this hotel. Rooms are very old,heating system keep us up all night because it was so loud. Furniture shows signs of being worn, bathrooms are antiquated. Hotel needs major updating.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your recent stay review for the Courtyard by Marriott Somerset. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including areas for improvement. Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Somerset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
50
37
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
331 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Marriott Courtyard in Somerset is probably filled with busines travelers on weekdays. Friday and Saturday it's quiet and quite reasonable. The AAA rate can get down to about $62.00/night. It's good for travellers since it's not that far from New York City. My wife and i like it for a weekend getaway. We pack a picnic and relax in the room. During the summer it's great to have the comfy outdoor seating area plus the pool and whirlpool. Most weekends it' quiet. If Rudgers University has a game, that can change. Most rooms have a microwave and refrigerator, a good benefit. It's a reasonably priced getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Somerset. I greatly appreciate you for taking the time to give feedback about your stay. I'm pleased to know that we achieving our goal of making each an enjoyable, and memoriable stay. I look forward to have back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I'm a Marriott preferred member, and stay in Courtyards all the time. For this trip, my usual two (Basking Ridge and Whippany) were sold out, and this was the next closest one I could find. It was a great price, so I did it. I was disappointed. The hotel needs a major updating...the elevator lights were nearly burnt out, the outside lighting was poor (as a female, I don't care for dark/poorly lit parking lots for safety purposes), the hallways were pooly lit, and the rooms were outdated. The room I had came with 2 beds, one of which had crumbs on the sheets. The tub in my room did not drain, and some TV stations didn't work (ABC and NBC). I call the front desk about the TV and was told that they've had that problem for weeks, and there was nothing that could be done. I didn't know about the tub until the morning I checked out- I did let the front desk know when checking out. The receptionist did apologize for the inconvenience.

Overall, the experience was just less than standard for Courtyard. Reading these reviews, it's possible I had a fluke, but there are definitely areas for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Somerset. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including areas for improvement. I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with the satisfactory experience you deserved during your recent stay. Your feedback will help us ensure that situations like this will be handled more swiftly and effectively in the future, ensuring that all of our guests experience an uninterrupted level of comfort during their stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Somerset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times. I have always had a pleasant stay every time and when booking reservations, try their site directly. Most stays are less than $75 on weekends. An added benefit is there is a Ruby Tuesday connected to the hotel, so if you have a couple of drinks, you don't have to worry about driving.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Somerset. I greatly appreciate you for taking the time to give feedback about your stay. I'm pleased to know that we achieving our goal of making each an enjoyable, and memoriable stay. I look forward to have back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E BRUNSWICK N.J.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Originally we intended to spend one night here but with the first snow in the Northeast this season we added a second night to avoid being on the roads.

Rooms: Pleasant enough. Clean bathroom. Flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, sofabed and also a balcony. Free Wi-Fi that works well in the lobby as well as the rooms.

Lobby: Open and vibrant. Large screen TV plus booths to have coffe with individual flat screen TV's. Bistro is open 6:30-10:30 a.m. and does serve Starbucks and some simple cold and hot breakfast items. Additionally there is complimentary coffee/tea for guests during the same hours.

Pool: Although we did not use it, the pool/hot tub area looked like a wonderful retreat whether there for business or personal reasons.

Outside sitting area: With winter on hand we did not get to use this area. We could see from our balcony however a great sitting area outside with couches and even a firepit.

Check-in: Checking in and out was quick and effortless. Free parking and rolling cart for any luggage if needed.

Would certainly come back here either for business reasons or a quick get-a-way night since we live close to the property.

Room Tip: Rooms by elevator can tend to be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O0gierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Somerset. I greatly appreciate you for taking the time to give feedback about your stay. I'm pleased to know that we achieving our goal of making each an enjoyable, and memoriable stay. I look forward to have back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our family stayed here for a wedding event. It was very nice. The room was clean and up to date. The lobby was comfortable and the front desk help were very attentive and gracious. We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Olive, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My family and I stayed here during the wrath of the late October snowstorm which knocked out power in our hometown for 5 days. The courtyard was ok. The first room we had the toilet didn't work and they had to move us to another room as their was no maintenance people available. They have a pool and a little gym. A Ruby's Tuesday is connected to the hotel. We got dinner from there and because it was delayed by 40 minutes they gave it to us for free.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgtpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 km away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#2 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#5 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
0.1 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Somerset

Property: Courtyard Somerset
Address: 250 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4115
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Marriott
Somerset Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing