We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT YOUR ORDINARY BREAKFAST FARE.”

Grid Iron Waffle Shop
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in South Orange
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Belgian, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Home of the Original Stuffed Waffle Stuffing Waffles since 2007 Delicious Breakfast, Brunch &Lunch We specialize in Liege Sugar Waffles and our recipes are Southern and European inspired. All of our menu items are born from the highest quality ingredients. From our superior fair trade specialty coffee to our made to order breakfasts, lunches and brunches.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Forget the bacon and egg plates that you can find in any diner, this is breakfast as it should be - delicious, different and full of surprises. My normal entree is sausage and biscuits, which consists of two waffles, sausage gravy, a sausage patty and two eggs cooked to your order. Be warned, this is not a dish to recommend to your cardiologist. This past Sunday, I had the shrimp and cheese grits, which brought back memories of Charleston. OUTSTANDING, to say the least. The menu is chock full of waffle, pancake and crepe creations and the coffee served in a large mug is hot and welcoming. There is fresh squeezed orange juice and an assortment of interesting beverages. A wait time on weekends, but be patient,because the best is yet to come. Service is excellent and friendly but the wait time between your order and your food is sometimes a while because of a relatively small kitchen. So who cares, the coffee is great. I guarantee a memorable breakfast that won't break the bank.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pavlovich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizbone, Owner at Grid Iron Waffle Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thank you Pavlovich for such an outstanding review! We just love our customers and adore the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

Love the grits there. Food is good. Large variety of waffles and pancakes. Yum, yum. However the service from one particular female is good but she acts like she doesn't want to be there. Not friendly and has a somewhat stern look. The guys that work there were pleasant and funny. They made up for the grouchy waitress.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ldhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizbone, Owner at Grid Iron Waffle Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for your review! We’re really glad that you enjoy our food and value your patronage.
As you are aware we are always very busy and sometimes the stress of doing a hundred things at once can get to the best of us and sometimes that stress can be interpreted as “grouchy”. We all have our moments and all have our own bad days.
All of our employees are very nice people and very hard workers. They do their best to please everyone. They also care an awful lot about what people say about them personally and do read these reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

The Grid Iron is a wonderful breakfast, brunch, and early dinner establishment. The plain or stuffed Belgium waffles, sweet or savory, are fantastic. You can make any waffle into a fabulous dessert by adding ice cream! My favorite is a liege waffle topped with Butterscotch ice cream. Any waffle stuffed with or topped with fruit is delicious as well.

To satisfy my need for more savory flavors, I get the Croque Madam that comes breakfast meats and a side mixed greens salad. For lighter savory fare I really enjoy the waffle panini sandwich with eggs and bacon. Yum yum!

Savory waffles can be stuffed with bacon, sausage, veggies, and cheese. In addition to those, my husband's favorites include traditional offerings like the tuna melt and a southern staple, shrimp and grits. When my sister in law comes to visit from the Midwest she always takes time to have a meal at the Grid Iron. She loves the shrimp and grits as well.

With sweet and savory options you can make everyone in your family happy. A meal here is a real treat.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank S4356KUtracyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Ordered the sausage with gravy and potatoes, it supposed to be for one person..but it was big enough for two and still be super full. Good service but a little bit slow, even though it wasn't at it's full capacity

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Analuosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Service a little slow for a mid morning trip
Waffles make up for it though, loads of choice and a good spit for breakfast
We Brits aren't used to the portions but managed it

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank rfn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grid Iron Waffle Shop also viewed

 
South Orange, NJ
 

Been to Grid Iron Waffle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing