We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brisket sandwich”

Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Wharton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Trowbridge Ln.
Transit: less then 1.5 miles train, 60 ft from bus
Description: Award Winning Yankee BBQ Restaurant, Catering Experts, Family Friendly, Fun Staff, Full Bar, Craft Beers, Great Margaritas, Live Music, Smoked Ribs, Pulled Pork, Brisket, Famous Sweet & Spicy Wings. Hot Rods BBQ is a celebration of the open road, classic custom cars, All-American comfort food and fun all rolled into one. Today, it seems like every part of the country claims to have its own special twist on BBQ, but owners Anthony and Toby Sibona have combined the best of BBQ from around the country to create dishes that are truly a taste of America. And because the Sibonas are from Jersey, they call their BBQ "Yankee BBQ," a name that has come to mean the best of the best. Hot Rods is famous for delicious slow smoked pulled pork and BBQ babyback ribs. Both are prepared and smoked to Hot Rods' strict specifications, using only top-quality meats. The result is the most tender, tasty BBQ pulled pork and ribs you'll ever eat. A combination of flavorful rubs, homemade sauces, and an open flame creates the perfect BBQ - tender, meaty and exploding with great smokey taste! With that said, sit back and enjoy a tasty trip. The road to the country's best BBQ and the friendliest service starts at Hot Rods BBQ. Hours are as follows: Sun 12:30pm - 9:30pm(K) Bar 11pm Mon 11:30 am - 10pm(K) Bar 11pm Tues 11:30 am - 9:30pm(K) Bar 11pm Wed 11:30 am - 9:30pm(K) Bar 11pm Thurs 11:30 am - 10pm(K) Bar 11pm Friday 11:30 am - 10:30pm(K) Bar 1am Saturday 12:30pm - 10:30pm(K) Bar 1am
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Visited with a group of about 30 people for lunch yesterday. Food was excellent and everyone was happy with their BBQ and the service. Looking forward to eating here again. The brisket sandwich was really tender.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank njrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobymsibona, Owner at Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Nj Rider,
Thank you for stopping in and grabbing lunch here with us. We're glad to hear that your meals were delicious and the service was excellent. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Small portions and over priced
Asked for a frozen margarita and they charged me 2 dollars extra for making it frozen

Thank Bambamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobymsibona, Owner at Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Bambamv,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that our dishes didn't wow you. We typically hear that our BBQ is delicious and addicting. All of our prices are done by an industry standard formula which takes into consideration food cost, labor, and numerous other costs. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

If you want to visit a BBQ place in North Jersey, this is an excellent choice.
Great food, helpful service, nice atmosphere.
We stopped there on the way home from Delaware Water Gap, and this was a remarkable experience.
I recommend pulled pork, ribs, brisket.
Unfortunately we didn't have enough place to try their wings.
Hot Rod's BBQ has amazing selection of beer, so be prepared for a tough decision.

Thank zhidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobymsibona, Owner at Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Zhidas,
Hearing that you had a tough decision trying to decide on what to eat with us, is music to our ears. We're thrilled to hear how great everything was for you. Thank you for your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and couple friends of ours finally went in late June. Food was great and they have a solid beer list. My only complaint was the price for the wings. $16 for a dozen is ludacris. The wings are good, don't get me wrong, but not worth $1.25 per wing. I will be back for more brisket, ribs and corn bread.

Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobymsibona, Owner at Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Christopher,
Thank you for your great comments. We're glad to hear how much you enjoy our brisket, ribs, and corn bread. It's great hearing that you like our beer selection as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Wish I could try all the great things on their menu. This time we had the Fish Taco. And the Drunken Shrimp.Super good and the service was fast, friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobymsibona, Owner at Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Pat,
You can always try the different items on our menu, we're here for our guests to enjoy our dishes. Thank you for your great comments. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed the fish tacos and drunken shrimp. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ also viewed

Dover, Morris County
Morris Plains, Morris County
 
Mount Arlington, Morris County
Cedar Knolls, Morris County
 

Been to Hot Rod's Real Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing