We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Winds
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

After staying at several motels in the crest in the last 15 years, this was one of the nicest and most pleasant. When we pulled up, we had one of those "here we go again" moments, but we were more than surprised to see that on the inside, the room was very clean and not nearly as dated as some of the other motels we have stayed at there. The location was farther up than we usually stay so it was a nice change, we were right on the beach (and a nice section of it as well), not too far from the boardwalk, and right near most of the main stores,resturants etc. While theres no food or resturant on site, something to be expected in Wildwood, you're very close to most of the good amenities around you.
We had very few gripes, the pool wasn't very big, but we really didn't use it that much being right next to the ocean. The only other thing really was that the bedrooms were very standard for this area. There was not as much wear as some other hotels but you can tell it was not recently redone like the living/dining room area. One last thing is that although all rooms are ocean view, our room was towards the end of one of the floors (street side) and although you could see the ocean, it was not as good of a view as some of the rooms on the ocean side.
If you are taking a trip to Wildwood and want one of the nicer places with a classic feel and an excellent location, this may be for you.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CStroh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

this is going to be short because the tought of having to think about the "four winds motel" in wildwood nj makes me sick!! i think it's safe to say the four winds is the dirtest place i have ever stayed!! bugs galore in the bathroom and even in the fridge! i was so grossed out by the place that i didnt even go to sleep the one night i stayed. i sat in a chair the entire time. also the staff is rude beyond belief...do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else...the beach is nice tho :)

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — gross rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank auntieauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

I can't say enough good things about the Four Winds. Great location on the beach, clean, and affordable. The pool is nice and clean, although it could be open a little later and since its heated, it was a little on the warm side in 90 degree temperatures. The staff is friendly and helpful, and I like the family atmosphere, right down to the cat who hung around the office (I forget his name, but a very friendly cat who seemed to enjoy lazy days by the shore). It is not luxury accomodations or ultra-modern, but I don't exactly want a cookie-cutter Hampton Inn type of place at the shore anyways. Its is clean, well-maintained, and well worth the affordable price. I like the decks overlooking the ocean with tables, and grills for cooking out. It was a nice place for families with kids, as it was mostly families staying there....no loud partying or anything like that. I was very happy with our stay last year and will be returning in August.

  • Liked — cleanliness and close to beach
  • Disliked — nothing...only complaint was pool water was a little too warm
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psjr520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clifton, nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

We go during the off season in September when they have the motorcycle rally and its tecnhically not a great place for family to go in general during that weekend.

That being said, for a group of guys its a great time. Right on the beach and close enough to hear the bikes roaring from the boardwalk.

The women here is as sweet as can be and understands that we are just here to enjoy certain parts of the bike weekend and not destroy the place. They put on the first floor by the parking lot so we can get a little crazy later in the evening and not offend anybody, its great

The rooms are always clean, and the maids are young and hot!!!

Come on down and enjoy the bikes with us

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — small pool, but im really not interested in swimming that weekend, i probably would sink
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianthehotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2006

We stayed at Four Winds for 2 nights. The weather was great. The beach is just steps from the hotel. However, the rooms are nothing to right home about. It looks like they have never been renovated since 1950s. They are clean and functional however. We were a little disappointed that what is called "TWO Room" is really ONE room with 2 beds and another small room with a couch, not two rooms with beds. The owners were not very pleasant. When we were checking out they claimed that we were supposed to check out an hour before (at 10) and not at 11 like our confirmation letter stated and gave us some hard time about it. While we stayed there they called in police and evicted 2 adult couples apparently for jumping in the pool after hours. In my mind it is kind of a harsh treatment for something like that. Even the police was trying to tell that to the owners. (No connection with the evicted couples on my part). Finally for one of the days they called in a DJ that played 60s~70s music in front of the pool since 10am until 5pm. It was loud enough to be heard 2 blocks away. Personally I like to catch some sleep in the afternoon after going to the beach in the morning, or hang out by the pool and quietly read a book. If I want some loud music I go to a club or a lounge. I go o the hotel on the beach to relax. For what we played for it, I was expecting at least nicer treatment.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2006

We had a great time at the Four Winds. Though the room decor could use some upgrading, the place was clean and neat. We originally were going to only stay for three nights but after our second night decided to stay for four. The manager (who was wonderful) was great about it and even upgraded our room, giving us an ocean view and letting us move in there right away. The location of the hotel is perfect, steps from the white, clean and sandy beach. The pool was a little bit small but with the ocean so close who needs the pool? The laundry and game room was also neat as was the entire hotel with the maids and maintenance people on top of everything. The other guests were super friendly and we really had a fantastic vacation. Overall, this is a great place and worth a try.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boccegoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2004

What a dissapointment. I thought we were getting something nice for the money we were paying but that wasn't the case. The rooms were kind of dumpy. Parking was a problem. The spaces were tiny and some nights we couldn't find a place to park. The only good thing I can say is that it was right on the beach. I think hotels at Wildwood and the Crest in general have gone downhill. They are overpriced and dated. For the same amount of money we spent at Wildwood, we could have taken a nice cruise.

Helpful?
7 Thank Dme1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 km away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.2 km away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.2 km away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#60 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 km away
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
#49 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 km away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#53 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds

Property: Four Winds
Address: 404 E Denver Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3510
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Winds is located directly on the beach in southern Wildwood Crest. Motel Room, One and Two Room Efficiencies and a two-bedroom efficiency are available for rent. Ocean Front two room efficiencies also available. Gorgeous views of beach and ocean from decks and most rooms. Amenities include an elevator, BBQ Grills, heated pool, guest laundry, daily maide service and a video arcade game room. Family specials available. Four Winds is a nonsmoking building. We are conveniently located just a short distance from boating, fishing, miniature golf, water sports, shopping and restaurants. Wildwood Boardwalk is just a short drive or trolley ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Winds Hotel Wildwood Crest
4 Winds
Four Winds Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing