We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great experience and would definitely stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great experience and would definitely stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Although this is a no frills motel , it was a family friendly place to stay close to the beach. The kids loved the pool. Management was very accomodating. The place was immaculate. We would definitely stay again on a future trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Absolutely well run and clean. Owners are curteous and friendly. Location could not be better. After 30+ years at another location in the Crest , this is now our place! Stayed for 4th of July and couldn't have asked for more! Will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broker1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Not so much anymore. Felt like we were being watched by owner all the time. My family has been coming here off and on since the 60's..stopped going here a couple of years ago. We are a large family that rent 6+ rooms. We naturally wanted to eat, swim, conversate with each other. It was obvious that it was frowned upon when we did these things together. I know a lot of families who rent from other motels and were never treated this way. So... we found another establishment that appreciates our business and never complains when we are all together.

Room Tip: If your a large group with many rooms...find another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginerikadex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Commander-By-The Sea Motel in Wildwood Crest, NJ for the very first time (July, 2011) for six nights. We were so happy with our choice to stay here, the room was immaculately clean and spacious and we had a fabulous view overlooking the pool and the ocean. The owners and cleaning staff are extremely attentive. We enjoyed having the efficiency kitchen in the room which we utilized a few times for making breakfasts and lunches. It was nice to have a full sized refrigerator also.

This place is top notch and not to be missed!!! The owners make you feel comfortable and their interaction with the guests is really great and sets them many levels above many other local establishments. The attention to detail here is well noticed....we enjoyed the recordings of the calypso steel drum music played by the pool and thought it was really great when they would throw change into the pool for the kids to find. We also enjoyed the free coffee outdoors every morning and the newspapers left by our door each morning. The beds are also very comfortable and the bathrooms immaculately clean!

We cannot thank the owner's enough for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. You know it's a great place when you talk about coming back and you have just begun your vacation!!

Thank you again! Commander-By-The-Sea is truly a gem by the sea! You hold a special place in our hearts! <3 <3

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NjTravelGal043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We just got back from spending 3 days/nights at the Commander and it never disappoints. Suzanne and her mother are always so friendly and accommodating and her staff is top notch. The place is spotless and comfortable. The motel is a good 16 blocks from the boardwalk but there is a trolley service if you don't want to walk or drive and the distance makes for a quiet enjoyable stay. I love the Commander and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiezpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went to the Commander last year for the first time and it felt like visiting old friends. When we went in to check in and the ladies were so nice telling us different places to eat and all the different activities around the hotel without us having to ask. The room was very clean and even though our room wasn't ocean front we could still see the ocean and they had a great ocean front pool deck. Everyone that worked at the hotel was very nice and great to talk to. Many people who stay there have been there for years and come back again and again. I'd definity recommend staying here! Its like visitng you're family ! (:

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella87912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is very clean, the owner and the people working there very nice. We had a room with a view of the ocean ''super''. It's not a super chic hotel but it very nice and homy. Will come back next year

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coockiecalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.2 km away
El Coronado Resort
El Coronado Resort
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 km away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
#49 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#30 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#35 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel

Property: Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel
Address: 8803 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3401
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commander-By-The-Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing