We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable lodge within Addo Elephant NP”
Review of River Bend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Bend Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We visited for 2 nights with our 2 year old toddler and enjoyed our stay. On arrival, we were well looked after and taken to our comfortable room. We took up the option of 2 game drives provided by the hotel. These are quite expensive (£100 for 2 people for one drive) given you can drive your own car in Addo, but on reflection offered good value since you can see more from the vehicle and we had a great guide Phillip. After 2 organised drives, we took our own car and saw just as many animals. We ate at the lodge on one night, but it was not that kid friendly, and the food was ok, but perhaps trying to be more than it needs to be. The next day we ate at the restaurant in the park and it was a lot easier for us, cheaper and better for kids. Having said that the breakfasts were excellent. Highlights include the open air shower overlooking the park. Overall it was quite expensive, but the facilities were good, but we could have halved our expenses by staying at another lodge outside the park.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are lovely and located around a semi circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobEberstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017

For everyone travelling the garden route Addo Elephant Park is a "must do". We decided to stay at River Bend lodge and we were very happy about our choice. Perfect rooms (or "houses";-)) with a georgious view to the park and some animals, great game drives (despite some rain - in summer in africa!!:-D) with our guide Elias and last not least BRILLIANT Food!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolink800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene W, Guest Relations Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Carolink800

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely review of River Bend Lodge. We are absolutely deligthed that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards
The River Bend Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

A kind of paradise. In two days we have seen so many animals in the park (all except the rinos ;-( . Our stay at this lodge was definitely too short, we had a great time with delicious food and and and...
Negative: Please tell the animals to sleep a bit longer! So the next time we do not have to get up so early ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcj875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We had a a fab stay here but be aware of what you're booking. Firstly the lodge. It's a series of small buildings built around a central lawn in a very colonial style. We loved it and while the rooms are not the most luxurious of all safari lodges, they're huge and very well appointed. The dining room is very traditional - white linen table cloths and four course dinners with fine cuisine. The service was really warm and welcoming. There are only 8 rooms so the staff know your names, introduce themselves and really look after you. The pool is small and not that pleasant an environment. But you don't come here for that. You come for the animals. And this is where you need to be aware of the park. Addo is a national park not a private game reserve. So it's open to the public who drive around in private cars. There are mainly elephants here with only 10 lions, some rhino and buffalo. The park is huge - 40k hectares - so it can be hard to find the animals unless it's very hot and they're all at a watering hole. We went on two game drives from River Bend and the first was very disappointing, not because we didn't see many animals (we only saw four elephants and zebras - there are ostrich and water hogs aplenty but you don't come for them). The issue was that it was poorly organised - there's only one key to the park shared between all the lodge's rangers, so if yours doesn't have the key you spend 45 mins driving around the outside of the park and through the main gate. And 45 mins back. Which takes up the bulk of the game drive. Our second drive was amazing as we had the back gate key so made the most of our nearly four hours. Freddie really tried hard to make our experience amazing. We would go back but if you want a classic safari near Port Elizabeth then maybe choose somewhere else. But if you want elephants then this is amazing.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Rooms are old and the price is high. Ranger vehicle are old. The ranger woke us up late and forgot to bring coffee to the morning ride. At dinner we stayed hungry, yet the kitchen was not flexible to supply us with pasta or pizza - saying they had to prepare it prior the meal...
Will not return and will not recommend others to visit there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ornaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, Executive Director at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/OwnerResponse-d628151-a_nuid.CA1803810CFAFBC0D0EC8D78A7769FC8-a_m.32964

Sadly we cannot be everything to everyone.

5 Star Cuisine takes time and effort to prepare and we don't want to compete in the fast food business, certainly we don't do pizza. Our style of cuisine is clearly stated, and nowhere do we describe it as Italian.

It's interesting how 'starkly' your review contrasts with 99% of our other Guests.


We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Everything really perfect! Safari was top, very small groups, enthusiastic Safari-Guide with high knowledge and soooooo friendly!!!
Service top!! Dinner was one of the best in our life! We hope to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z8407DGninal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We enjoyed 3 relaxing days at River Bend Lodge.
Staff very friendly and attentive.
Room was comfortable and clean.
The exterior of the buildings and Main Entrance Gate need some attention.
As SA citizens it is quite an expensive lodge in terms of value for money comparing to other 5 star lodges in SA.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefg156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
37.1 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
344 reviews
10.2 km away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
329 reviews
7.4 km away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
438 reviews
10.6 km away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Lodge

Address: Zuurberg Road, | PO Box 249, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $466 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Bend Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 14,000ha private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park, RiverBend is a mere 45 minute drive from Port Elizabeth. Home to an abundance of wildlife including elephant, lion, hyena, buffalo, black rhino and a variety of antelope and over 300 bird species, RiverBend is an ideal malaria-free safari addition to a Garden Route holiday. Children of all ages welcome. Pampering treatments are available in the Vitality Studio. Personalized game drives are led by enthusiastic and experienced guides, who will ensure you have a truly memorable safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bend Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing