We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zuurberg Mountain Village(Addo Elephant National Park)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Kuzuko Lodge(Addo Elephant National Park)
US$275
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorah Elephant Camp(Addo Elephant National Park)
US$840
US$682
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Osner(East London)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
US$132
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Addo Elephant Country Estate(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
406
61
18
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
61
18
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong hope villahoneymoon suitegame drivesprivate concessionwine tastingblack rhinopublic parkprivate reservesouth africafield guidehis knowledgehot chocolateoutdoor showerclose quartersgame driverherd of elephantsaddo park
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 497 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2017

For everyone travelling the garden route Addo Elephant Park is a "must do". We decided to stay at River Bend lodge and we were very happy about our choice. Perfect rooms (or "houses";-)) with a georgious view to the park and some animals, great game drives (despite some rain - in summer in africa!!:-D) with our guide Elias and last not least BRILLIANT Food!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolink800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene W, Guest Relations Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Carolink800

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely review of River Bend Lodge. We are absolutely deligthed that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards
The River Bend Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017

A kind of paradise. In two days we have seen so many animals in the park (all except the rinos ;-( . Our stay at this lodge was definitely too short, we had a great time with delicious food and and and...
Negative: Please tell the animals to sleep a bit longer! So the next time we do not have to get up so early ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcj875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

We had a a fab stay here but be aware of what you're booking. Firstly the lodge. It's a series of small buildings built around a central lawn in a very colonial style. We loved it and while the rooms are not the most luxurious of all safari lodges, they're huge and very well appointed. The dining room is very traditional - white linen table cloths and four course dinners with fine cuisine. The service was really warm and welcoming. There are only 8 rooms so the staff know your names, introduce themselves and really look after you. The pool is small and not that pleasant an environment. But you don't come here for that. You come for the animals. And this is where you need to be aware of the park. Addo is a national park not a private game reserve. So it's open to the public who drive around in private cars. There are mainly elephants here with only 10 lions, some rhino and buffalo. The park is huge - 40k hectares - so it can be hard to find the animals unless it's very hot and they're all at a watering hole. We went on two game drives from River Bend and the first was very disappointing, not because we didn't see many animals (we only saw four elephants and zebras - there are ostrich and water hogs aplenty but you don't come for them). The issue was that it was poorly organised - there's only one key to the park shared between all the lodge's rangers, so if yours doesn't have the key you spend 45 mins driving around the outside of the park and through the main gate. And 45 mins back. Which takes up the bulk of the game drive. Our second drive was amazing as we had the back gate key so made the most of our nearly four hours. Freddie really tried hard to make our experience amazing. We would go back but if you want a classic safari near Port Elizabeth then maybe choose somewhere else. But if you want elephants then this is amazing.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Rooms are old and the price is high. Ranger vehicle are old. The ranger woke us up late and forgot to bring coffee to the morning ride. At dinner we stayed hungry, yet the kitchen was not flexible to supply us with pasta or pizza - saying they had to prepare it prior the meal...
Will not return and will not recommend others to visit there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ornaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, Executive Director at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/OwnerResponse-d628151-a_nuid.CA1803810CFAFBC0D0EC8D78A7769FC8-a_m.32964

Sadly we cannot be everything to everyone.

5 Star Cuisine takes time and effort to prepare and we don't want to compete in the fast food business, certainly we don't do pizza. Our style of cuisine is clearly stated, and nowhere do we describe it as Italian.

It's interesting how 'starkly' your review contrasts with 99% of our other Guests.


We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2016

Everything really perfect! Safari was top, very small groups, enthusiastic Safari-Guide with high knowledge and soooooo friendly!!!
Service top!! Dinner was one of the best in our life! We hope to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z8407DGninal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews