We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent service, poor cleanliness and poor value for money.. but great food.”
Review of River Bend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Bend Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The facility was not as expected and did not provide value for money as compared to other 5 star lodges in this price category like The Outpost or Thanda.

Service was non consistent: No welcome drinks on arrival but another party that arrived soon after us were given welcome drinks. return drinks/warm towels not offered on both nights after return from late afternoon game drive.

The food quality was fantastic, however the kitchen was understaffed and we had to wait very long for meals to arrive. For lunch we waited over an hour for it.

The facility upkeep is also disappointing: on arrival the heater in room was not functional, and the room itself was not cleaned properly in particular the floors. Sisal carpet floors that I do not believe get vacuumed !

Room turndowns were also poor with no treats being left behind.

The accommodation itself was not worth the premium for the honeymoon suite as the only difference was the pool, which in winter is icy cold and cannot be utilized.

The game drive guide was very helpful and knowledgable and personal service was given, although the animals sightings were very poor at River Bend itself

In essence this facility did disappoint and should be recommended with reservations in particular for the high rates being charged.

Room Tip: Don't select the honeymoon suite in Winter as the pool is not heated and too cold to swim in (Ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaniefK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Hanief K

Thank you for your response.

Its with great regret to hear that you have not experienced River Bend Lodge as our Guest usually do.

We do enjoy the company off all our guest and do take great pride in having a boutique experience. I do apologise that the waiting time for your lunch was not up to our high standards, unfortunately we had a bizarre case of multiple staff members being sick that day and dealt with the situation at hand as soon as we possible could.

I do remember changing the heater for you, we do use the aircons to regulate the rooms to a comfortable temperature and as such the heater was overseen. I do believe a working heater was placed in your room for your return from your Game Drive. Please inform me if this was not the case.

Thank you for your response, and I do hope we get the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Regards,
Leilani
General Manager
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Superb stay in the middle of a combination of private gamereserve and national park. The place to go for seeing elephants and meanwhile enjoying a stay in an exellent hotel.
Very nice staff (it was nice getting to know you and learning about life in south africa), lovely food and a super location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 375antonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Antonv

Thank you for your kind words.

It is such a pleasure to hear how much you have enjoyed getting to know our staff, we hope it is as much as we enjoyed hosting you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Leilani
General Manager
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for 4 nights.
The Lodge was set in lovely gardens, and our Suite was a well designed room with a view of the bush and its own small swimming pool. Very comfortable lodge style accommodation.
The restaurant was beautiful with outdoor seating and varied, delicious meals.
The staff were extremely friendly.
We did not use the Lodge's game drives but self drove to the adjoining Addo Park (the Lodge itself is not within the publicly accessible parts of the Park - to self drive you need to exit the Lodge and drive on the main road to the public entrance). However we noticed a lot of game on the road leading from the Lodge to its entrance.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Beautiful setting. Very quiet and undisturbed. All staff are very friendly and accomodating.
Rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable with perfect interleading room for children.
Game drives at your leisure with an entire vehicle and guide dedicated to our family.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TessaFBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

From the drive into the property wildlife roaming everywhere, the warm welcome by management the hotel grounds is stunning small and intimate. There is a pool if you can tear yourself away from watching the animals down by the waterhole. The guest lounge/bar area was perfect afternoon tea is served complimentary. The meals were outstanding. Breakfast on the decking watching the animals come down to the waterhole was a highlight as was listening to the lions roaring at night and hearing elephants wander by your room. The rooms are amazing huge and comfortable even have an outdoor shower if your brace enough to shower outside with the animals. They offer safaris morning and night we did the evening safari saw elephants, rhino and many other animals we didn't see the lions but the early morning safari group did but we were not disappointed. Love loved our stay and wish we had stayed 2 nights

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

This is a wonderful lodge with excellent rooms and restaurant. The guide I had , Darlington, was excellent. He went to extra lengths to find game and birds, and he was eager to share his knowledge. All correspondence with reservations was also very good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susansW5392YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Susan. S

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely having you back at the lodge and we do hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,
River Bend Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Had a terrific time at this lodge. The service was excellent, the food out of this world and the atmosphere truly amazing. Our Safari Guide was informative and got us up close and personal with the elephants. The rooms are outstanding and the bed is massive! Certainly left a great impression on all of us. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Asjas1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
River Bend Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
37.1 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
381 reviews
0 km away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
46 reviews
10.2 km away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
349 reviews
7.5 km away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
484 reviews
6.5 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Lodge

Address: Zuurberg Road,, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $503 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Bend Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 14,000ha private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park, RiverBend is a mere 45 minute drive from Port Elizabeth. Home to an abundance of wildlife including elephant, lion, hyena, buffalo, black rhino and a variety of antelope and over 300 bird species, RiverBend is an ideal malaria-free safari addition to a Garden Route holiday. Children of all ages welcome. Pampering treatments are available in the Vitality Studio. Personalized game drives are led by enthusiastic and experienced guides, who will ensure you have a truly memorable safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bend Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing