We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kuzuko Lodge(Addo Elephant National Park)
US$263
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuurberg Mountain Village(Addo Elephant National Park)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gorah Elephant Camp(Addo Elephant National Park)
US$1,042
US$856
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Addo Elephant Country Estate(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
410
61
18
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
61
18
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong hope villahoneymoon suitegame drivesprivate concessionwine tastingblack rhinopublic parkprivate reservesouth africahot chocolatehis knowledgefield guideoutdoor showerclose quartersgame driveraddo parkwonderful guide
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 501 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2017

We had a wonderfull one night stay with our family at River Bend. Enjoying the excellent food and luxurious rooms (honeymoon suite with pool) at this place, we really could relay. In the lodge a lot of birds were feeding on the flowers and at the waterhol by the dining hall we enjoyed the drinking wildlife. On our gamedrive at sunset we had nice encounters with a lot of Elephants and other animals.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tmulle_799352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leilani S, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear TMulle

It brings us great joy to hear that you had such a fantastic experience here at River Bend Lodge, we do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Leilani Serfontein
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This place is lovely, everything was perfect, the staff the food the game drive. We were there with our little baby of 2 years old and we all enjoyed the stay.
Food was absolutely great and also the ranger Darlington was the best ever, We saw a lot of animal and the private reserve is very nice and peaceful. Absolutely I recommed this place if you want to visit Addo National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cookella1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leilani S, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear Cookella

Thank you so much for your kind words, the team appreciates them greatly.

We love having the little ones here and love being part of such wonderful memories. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Leilani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We were not sure about staying at River Bend Lodge because of the location and price. Are we ever glad we decided to stay there. Without a doubt, if you are going to Addo Elephant National Park this is the best value and the best experience in every respect! The rooms, the meals, and the game drives are all excellent and outstanding. We say lions, elephants, and too many animals to remember. The meals were gourmet. We are so glad we decided to stay at River Bend Lodge and value excited the cost. You will be lucky if you make the same decision we made and are able to get a reservation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind words Leon, It is a pleasure sharing this great location with our guests and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Leilani
General Manager
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

The facility was not as expected and did not provide value for money as compared to other 5 star lodges in this price category like The Outpost or Thanda.

Service was non consistent: No welcome drinks on arrival but another party that arrived soon after us were given welcome drinks. return drinks/warm towels not offered on both nights after return from late afternoon game drive.

The food quality was fantastic, however the kitchen was understaffed and we had to wait very long for meals to arrive. For lunch we waited over an hour for it.

The facility upkeep is also disappointing: on arrival the heater in room was not functional, and the room itself was not cleaned properly in particular the floors. Sisal carpet floors that I do not believe get vacuumed !

Room turndowns were also poor with no treats being left behind.

The accommodation itself was not worth the premium for the honeymoon suite as the only difference was the pool, which in winter is icy cold and cannot be utilized.

The game drive guide was very helpful and knowledgable and personal service was given, although the animals sightings were very poor at River Bend itself

In essence this facility did disappoint and should be recommended with reservations in particular for the high rates being charged.

Room Tip: Don't select the honeymoon suite in Winter as the pool is not heated and too cold to swim in (Key difference between them)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaniefK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Dear Hanief K

Thank you for your response.

Its with great regret to hear that you have not experienced River Bend Lodge as our Guest usually do.

We do enjoy the company off all our guest and do take great pride in having a boutique experience. I do apologise that the waiting time for your lunch was not up to our high standards, unfortunately we had a bizarre case of multiple staff members being sick that day and dealt with the situation at hand as soon as we possible could.

I do remember changing the heater for you, we do use the aircons to regulate the rooms to a comfortable temperature and as such the heater was overseen. I do believe a working heater was placed in your room for your return from your Game Drive. Please inform me if this was not the case.

Thank you for your response, and I do hope we get the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Regards,
Leilani
General Manager
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

Superb stay in the middle of a combination of private gamereserve and national park. The place to go for seeing elephants and meanwhile enjoying a stay in an exellent hotel.
Very nice staff (it was nice getting to know you and learning about life in south africa), lovely food and a super location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 375antonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_RBL12345, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Dear Antonv

Thank you for your kind words.

It is such a pleasure to hear how much you have enjoyed getting to know our staff, we hope it is as much as we enjoyed hosting you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Leilani
General Manager
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews