We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stoked vibes at the backpackers”
Review of Ubuntu Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ubuntu Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The place has such a cool vibe going arround ..The staff are really amazing people ,I had such an amazing time and i would definitely want to go back .I'm stoked for the next Ubuntu adventure..The shops are close and SuperTube is rigt arround the corner ..!!!

Room Tip: Bottom side is very nice and quite with a view of the garden G1g
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunkin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Look forward to seeing you again soon!!!!! the vibe is always here!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2016

I stayed nearly 3 days with the backpacks. The place is really splendid, you can see the sea of the two terraces. The place is clean and the people of staff are adorable. Perfect to go to surf (5 min of the beach on foot). You can even try famous Braai (Afrikaners barbecue). It's definitively my best experiment in South Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

We loved having you!!!!! come back any time!!!! family Ubuntu is always here!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks and it was amazing. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The owner is always around and a cool guy. The price is more than fair and it is a well run establishment. I went to the other backpackers in J bay and it was like a bar with a hostel attached, ubuntu was one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: It is a hostel so the more people in your room the more likely it is someone snores or wakes up at 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gottfried_Steinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Owner at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Was epic having you! Thank you for the kind words!!! safe travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I stayed for a week at Ubuntu. The staff are great and owner and manager make a good team! Perfect location to the surf and really nice friendly atmosphere. Every time I come to JBay I stay at Ubuntu!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TristanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Awesome Having you!!! glad you recognise genius teammanship when you see it :)
All the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This place has an epic, epic thing going on. Sick location with access to surf breaks for all surfing levels (important with the people we were travelling with), simple and light breakfast provided every morning, coffee, tea and wifi up for grabs all day, housekeeper Nommie who has awesome banter and the top balcony... WHAT A VIEW. Where else would you want to have breakfast but at that breakfast bar? Fully equipped kitchen to make a massive cook or sometimes the staff cater for you at a low cost! Double room was perfect size for us and our friends enjoyed the dorm. Stoked on the prices, staff friendliness and ease of organising activities nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Was a pleasure having you, thank you for joining the Ubuntu family!!!!! Safe travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Ubuntu is amazing, offering free breakfast, ocean views, two of the best back packer dogs you will find just about anywhere, an amazing garden, walking distance from the beach and amazing restaurants, some great activities and shuttles offered which really helps when you are traveling without a car, however above all of these benefits we had an instant sense of friendship, community and family that formed with staff and other guests and we felt right at home from the very beginning.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 937carenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Owner at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

We are so glad you joined the family!!! ubuntu is where the good vibes make you feel the love!!! YAHOOOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in 2016 for a few days on the 'camping'. Let's start with the positive: the hostel looks really cosy, everything is clean,... Unfortunately we had some problems with the 'staff'. The people who are supposed to run the place, are some of the most selfish people i've ever seen. They weren't friendly at all and only looked after themselves. The (not so) free breakfast was their breakfast, they ate first and then came the guests. At night and early in the morning, they were so noisy, waking people up either if they wanted it or not. There is music only when they want music,...This place doesn't feel like a hostel, it feels like you're in a student-house. You won't feel like a guest. I definitely won't go there again, which is unfortunate because the place looks really nice.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nathanv272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Owner at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Hi Nathan and Charlotte,
We always appreciate negative feed back as we are constantly working to better our backpacker. but this kind of review is just unfair and hope the other travelers see this.
The person you argued with in the kitchen the day before you left was not one of our staff members. She had been with us for a couple weeks, befriended the staff and was hanging out with them. We have managed to speak about this...
We are really known for our friendliness and i find this hard to believe as i am there every day making sure our volunteers are on top form. Nathan, Antonio(our Manager) was giving you information on the restaurants, shops and activities in town and gave you ideas where you stay on your way down the garden route. (i see you took our advise on a couple backpackers...)
You two were in a tent and unfortunately it can be noisy as it is in the garden where people chill out. Thats why camping is so much cheaper than our comfy quiet doubles and dorm rooms.
The breakfast is free. We have a sign on the breakfast table that says the breakfast is not all you can eat. And if you would like to have a few bowls of cerial, a loaf of bread and 10 litres of coffee or tea to please donate some money into the jar. Never have we asked any one ever to pay more money when having breakfast.
The girl you had the argument with has gone and we would love you to come back and stay in a proper room and see we are actually a very friendly and helpful backpacker.
I am sorry you had a bad experience. every one is different and you should be having fun where ever you are traveling. I can guarantee we will make sure our staff reviews stay 4 and higher as they always have.
Kind regards
Daryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
2.8 km away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
523 reviews
2 km away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#21 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
51 reviews
1.9 km away
FunkyTown
FunkyTown
#2 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
#21 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
85 reviews
7.9 km away
Surf Lodge South Africa
Surf Lodge South Africa
#7 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
50 reviews
0.6 km away
Aloe Again Beach Accommodation
Aloe Again Beach Accommodation
#4 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Backpackers

Address: 8 Cherry Street | Wavecrest Eastern Cape, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $31 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Ubuntu is situated in the heart of South African surf-country, Jeffrey's Bay, and caters to fun-loving people looking for an epic yet affordable base. Its a mere 100m to the beach & magical Supertubes, and there are great wave-views from around the house. Whether your dream be flying down the line in perrrfect surf at the point, watching lions on a game drive, or simply collecting seashells on our dolphin-rich coast, we aim to turn your dreams into treasured memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ubuntu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing