We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
135
34
7
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
34
7
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastthe ownerpool tablesecret waterfallbraai nightscommunal spacelocal shopsstaff were super friendlyj bayenjoyed my stayhome away from hometraveling alonecool guychilled atmospheregreat atmospherefelt like homesurf lessons
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 184 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2016

I stayed nearly 3 days with the backpacks. The place is really splendid, you can see the sea of the two terraces. The place is clean and the people of staff are adorable. Perfect to go to surf (5 min of the beach on foot). You can even try famous Braai (Afrikaners barbecue). It's definitively my best experiment in South Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganeD241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

We loved having you!!!!! come back any time!!!! family Ubuntu is always here!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks and it was amazing. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The owner is always around and a cool guy. The price is more than fair and it is a well run establishment. I went to the other backpackers in J bay and it was like a bar with a hostel attached, ubuntu was one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: It is a hostel so the more people in your room the more likely it is someone snores or wakes up at 4am to go surf.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gottfried_Steinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Owner at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Was epic having you! Thank you for the kind words!!! safe travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016

I stayed for a week at Ubuntu. The staff are great and owner and manager make a good team! Perfect location to the surf and really nice friendly atmosphere. Every time I come to JBay I stay at Ubuntu!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TristanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Awesome Having you!!! glad you recognise genius teammanship when you see it :)
All the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016

This place has an epic, epic thing going on. Sick location with access to surf breaks for all surfing levels (important with the people we were travelling with), simple and light breakfast provided every morning, coffee, tea and wifi up for grabs all day, housekeeper Nommie who has awesome banter and the top balcony... WHAT A VIEW. Where else would you want to have breakfast but at that breakfast bar? Fully equipped kitchen to make a massive cook or sometimes the staff cater for you at a low cost! Double room was perfect size for us and our friends enjoyed the dorm. Stoked on the prices, staff friendliness and ease of organising activities nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Manager at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Was a pleasure having you, thank you for joining the Ubuntu family!!!!! Safe travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Ubuntu is amazing, offering free breakfast, ocean views, two of the best back packer dogs you will find just about anywhere, an amazing garden, walking distance from the beach and amazing restaurants, some great activities and shuttles offered which really helps when you are traveling without a car, however above all of these benefits we had an instant sense of friendship, community and family that formed with staff and other guests and we felt right at home from the very beginning.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 937carenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryn11, Owner at Ubuntu Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

We are so glad you joined the family!!! ubuntu is where the good vibes make you feel the love!!! YAHOOOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews