We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
53
27
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
27
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hussar grill secure car park loved this hotel spg points locked gate included in our rate central courtyard boutique feel wine tram delightful hotel saturday market the ground floor would highly recommend this hotel the main street in easy walking distance restaurants and bars rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm unclear why there are some bad reviews about this hotel. They do not reflect my experience. I stayed in Room 17 maybe there is some difference. Hotel immaculate. Room, pool and staff excellent. Wonderful breakfast each morning. Definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Franschhoek. I did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnyl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear adnyl444

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with
the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service
to guests like you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose to create more memories with
us whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pool too small to swim in, but ok for a quick splash. Gin range was good in the bar, lounfmgers by the pool were a bit busy at the weekend, but fine in the week. Reception, bar & car park staff friendly

Room tip: I think the courtyard rooms probably have a better aspect, but may be smaller
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank traceycox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear traceycox99

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek.

We appreciate your valued feedback and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, please note that your comments have been shared with the Hotel TEAM as this is integral to our ability to improve and also as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Protea Hotel in Franschhoek is small and cozy hotel with modern styled rooms and a good standard. Everything feels well maintained and updated. Definitely a hotel for a stay more than one night. The have also a pool area but this is more for sun bathing and remixing than swimming. All attractions of Franschhoek as well as shopping, dinning, drinking, ... places can be reached by a short walk along the Main Street. And even if this too much in the evening you can go in the Hussar grill that is integrated in the Hotel and have there a great dinner or lunch.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MenziD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MenziD

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Franschhoek.


Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful welcome, even though we arrived in the morning our room was ready, a plaque to welcome us on reception and a bottle of local sparkling chilling in our room as we were on holiday to celebrate 50 years of marriage. Our room was perfect, a huge double bed, we were on the ground floor and all rooms are round the delightful garden and pool with loungers, chairs and tables. The view from our room was stunning. The breakfast was super, be warned the omelette is huge! All the staff were most helpful and polite and friendly. The hotel is very well situated, a short walk to the restaurants but we ate in both nights at the Hussar Grill. Think you might have gathered that we loved this hotel, could have stayed much longer than the 2 nights we were there. We could not fault a thing, thank you to everyone who made our stay somspecial.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joan W

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek.

On behalf of the entire Hotel TEAM, thank you for your wonderful review, its always encouraging to hear positive feedback especially when it comes from our valued guests like you!

Your feedback has been shared with the TEAM and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and glad that we were part of making your 50th wedding anniversary special and memorable .

As it was a pleasure having you here as our guests,we hope to receive the opportunity to welcome you BACK.

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property had the feeling of a quaint Inn. Small, with a lovely garden and pool. Centrally located in town - easy walk to all the shops and restaurants. The restaurant on-site was also excellent. I found the staff to be very genuinely friendly and service oriented. Excellent security for parking as well!

Room tip: Second floor room towards the end of the hall - overlooks the garden and pool and more private.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Departure33349567457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Departure33349567457

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek with us.

Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Kind Regards
Management and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews