We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reeden Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$192
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$311
US$282
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lekkerwijn(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Clermont(Franschhoek)
US$145
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Corner House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$483
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$745
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
12
20
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
20
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringthe cottagesshort walk into townstayed for one nightpondmountains
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 41 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here. Stayed this time in Holly Tree Cottage. Glad to see thy have upgraded to a DSTV in the house. The self catering houses are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Lovely place for children to run wild and plenty for them to explore. Happy kids = happy parents. Easy 10 minute walk onto the main road through Franschoek. Owner was kind enough to let us have the house for the whole of the next day as no one was moving in. Can recommend it to anyone looking for a break from the Rush of the city.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Nelsonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at Reeden Lodge for a week. It is about 10 minutes walk from the main street where the restaurants and shops are located. The view of the mountains from here is wonderful.
The cottage we had was adequate but could have done with air conditioning, a larger bed and fridge as it is a self catering experience.
The kitchen equipment is rather dated but adequate for a short stay.
We spoke to other guests and it appears that several have been returning at that time of year - to escape the winter of the northern hemisphere I expect - for many years (one told us that they had been coming back for 8 years). I think these guests probably book the best cottages.
However the rental is amongst the lowest in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had Moonrise cottage which is more spacious than it looks on the internet with a well equiped kitchen/lounge and seperate bedroom, set in gardens. I room seemd to be recently decorated with a very comfortable bed. On the down side the bathroom door only half opens due to the position of the sink & there is cat food left around the pool which gives off a nasty odour in the heat.

Room Tip: Moonrise cottage is large for 2 people and in the middle gardens
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHeath42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

It seems that the quality of a stay here is greatly influenced by the cottage you end up in. We stayed in the moonrise cottage and booked into Reeden after reading mainly positive reviews. It appears that the friendly owners had forgotten to actually book a unit for us and consequently we may have been given this cottage without it being fully prepared. In short the cottage was filthy. We needed to clean the bath out ourselves, the fridge was covered in debris of previous visitors, the couches were dirty, stained and threadbare. Luckily the Bedding and towels provided were clean and fresh. The furnishing have seen better days, the towel rack in the bathroom was broken as was the headboard. The tv was functional but not useable, it was a tiny old CRT type with the such poor signal that made it near to impossible to view anything. Possibly the most repulsive aspect of the visit was all the dead, squashed insects everywhere that seem to have been cumulatively built over many successive visits/years - there were markings on walls, doors and ceiling. It was gross and I won't even go into what it looks like under the couches should you drop anything there. The location is ideal, the surroundings very quiet, beautiful and peaceful but with a little bit of maintenance and a thorough cleaning I would recommend this cottage but I couldn't in good conscious, recommend this particular cottage though the other cottages may be of a better, more hygienic standard.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Traveler_Man_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The setting of the cottages at Reeden Lodge is lovely. However since our last visit we got the feeling that little had been done to improve facilities. The bungalow we had this time was in need of redecoration and the upholstery was stained. The shower and bathroom facilities were on a poor standard. There was no WIFI which is surprising in this day and age.
Notwithstanding the above the owners were friendly and helpful and given upgrades to the bungalows I would be very pleased to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews