We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
13
21
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
21
4
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 43 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2015

Having stayed in several very nice guest houses and hotels during our month in Southern Africa we were mildly disappointed with our first impression of our cottage; that said this was a very different price to what we had been paying so not a fair comparison. We only stayed two nights and by the time we left (two couples) we were much happier and would have stayed longer given the chance; sadly this was the end of our holiday. Upon reflection Reeden Lodge is a perfect base to explore Franschhoek as it's a short stroll into town and yet beautifully quiet away from the main street. Polly and Henry are delightful hosts, the bedding was pristine, the water hot and everything worked perfectly. The views of mountains surrounding the area are spectacular, we felt the grounds could do with a tiny bit more care but the grass was cut and without too close an inspection it all looked tidy and certainly not unkempt as some previous reviews stated. We were two couples and all agreed it was extremely good value but also that it would be perfect to stay with children, in fact heaven for them to run around safely; animals to see and a pool to swim in. If we returned to the area and wanted somewhere to stay I wouldn't hesitate to book this again, you just have to be aware it's not 5* and it doesn't profess to be either.

Room Tip: Pepper Tree Cottage was perfectly adequate
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed at Reeden Lodge in late February at a so called Riverside Cottage. On this website ( http://www.franschhoek.co.za/reedenlodge/ ) it said that the cottage had "A lovely verandah overlooking vineyards and small dam, on the riverside of the property." When I contacted the owner on the phone before booking the cottage, he said that the cottage had been recently renovated and that it did have nice views. I asked for pictures, since the one on the website was so small that you can't see any of the things they advertised, but the owners never sent the pics, wonder why!. We arrived and the place was just TERRIBLE. The cottage was stuck way back in the property, separated from all the other nice cottages they advertise. It is behind the owner's own house, NO PRETTY VIEWS whatsoever, unkept surroundings, dirty verandah, old chairs and table, overlooking a chicken fence and a big puddle of water that does not deserve to be called a dam, and the riverside of the property, well that's the more untidy looking side of the property with garbage, grown brush and crooked fence. The untidiness of the property reached funny dimensions when we couldn't sleep at night because the branches of a tree would scratch the ceiling on top of our room, all night!. And it wasn't birds that would wake you in the morning, it would be the constant barking of the owner's dogs. It wouldn't have hurt so much if I had not felt deceived. If they had sold the cottage for what it was, and not for something else. The owner's were dishonest to us, they engaged in plain FALSE ADVERTISEMENT and I don't appreciate that. PLEASE NOTE: The rest of the cottages at Reeden Lodge are located in an area of the property that does look pretty, it is well kept, and has views of mountains and gardens. Those are the happy campers, the happy reviewers, but definitely NOT those being dealt the false Riverside illusion!

Room Tip: Avoid the Riverside Cottage!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sverige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2015

The view of the mountains from here are superb and a good base to explore the Franshhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosch areas.
We stayed in Holly Tree Cottage, one double and twin en-suite rooms.
The self catering semi-detached house was clean and spacious with comfortable beds. A good size dinning table and and adequate kitchen area.
The double bedroom's en-suite was dark (no outside window) and in need of a lot of TLC.
The hosts are friendly and helpful providing some of the lowest rents in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peyroutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2014

Great place to use as a base to explore the fabulous food and wine in Franschhoek Valley. The cottages are in a beautiful setting with fabulous views, safe for children to run free. Hosts friendly and helpful

Room Tip: All the cottages have individual qualities depending on number of people sharing all have great views
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here. Stayed this time in Holly Tree Cottage. Glad to see thy have upgraded to a DSTV in the house. The self catering houses are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Lovely place for children to run wild and plenty for them to explore. Happy kids = happy parents. Easy 10 minute walk onto the main road through Franschoek. Owner was kind enough to let us have the house for the whole of the next day as no one was moving in. Can recommend it to anyone looking for a break from the Rush of the city.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Nelsonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews