We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic accommodation, good location.”
Review of Reeden Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reeden Lodge
Reviewed 10 January 2016

A bit disappointed on arrival as Willow Tree cottage is a bit run down. But after a while we got over this as the open yard plus big pool proved a winner in the hot Dec weather. Henry the owner is very helpful and installed a new fridge overnight when we had problems. The cottage is serviced on a daily basis. Security is OK but not at a high level - we had no security issues during our 10 day stay.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool area looked in better condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2015

Having stayed in several very nice guest houses and hotels during our month in Southern Africa we were mildly disappointed with our first impression of our cottage; that said this was a very different price to what we had been paying so not a fair comparison. We only stayed two nights and by the time we left (two couples) we were much happier and would have stayed longer given the chance; sadly this was the end of our holiday. Upon reflection Reeden Lodge is a perfect base to explore Franschhoek as it's a short stroll into town and yet beautifully quiet away from the main street. Polly and Henry are delightful hosts, the bedding was pristine, the water hot and everything worked perfectly. The views of mountains surrounding the area are spectacular, we felt the grounds could do with a tiny bit more care but the grass was cut and without too close an inspection it all looked tidy and certainly not unkempt as some previous reviews stated. We were two couples and all agreed it was extremely good value but also that it would be perfect to stay with children, in fact heaven for them to run around safely; animals to see and a pool to swim in. If we returned to the area and wanted somewhere to stay I wouldn't hesitate to book this again, you just have to be aware it's not 5* and it doesn't profess to be either.

Room Tip: Pepper Tree Cottage was perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed at Reeden Lodge in late February at a so called Riverside Cottage. On this website ( http://www.franschhoek.co.za/reedenlodge/ ) it said that the cottage had "A lovely verandah overlooking vineyards and small dam, on the riverside of the property." When I contacted the owner on the phone before booking the cottage, he said that the cottage had been recently renovated and that it did have nice views. I asked for pictures, since the one on the website was so small that you can't see any of the things they advertised, but the owners never sent the pics, wonder why!. We arrived and the place was just TERRIBLE. The cottage was stuck way back in the property, separated from all the other nice cottages they advertise. It is behind the owner's own house, NO PRETTY VIEWS whatsoever, unkept surroundings, dirty verandah, old chairs and table, overlooking a chicken fence and a big puddle of water that does not deserve to be called a dam, and the riverside of the property, well that's the more untidy looking side of the property with garbage, grown brush and crooked fence. The untidiness of the property reached funny dimensions when we couldn't sleep at night because the branches of a tree would scratch the ceiling on top of our room, all night!. And it wasn't birds that would wake you in the morning, it would be the constant barking of the owner's dogs. It wouldn't have hurt so much if I had not felt deceived. If they had sold the cottage for what it was, and not for something else. The owner's were dishonest to us, they engaged in plain FALSE ADVERTISEMENT and I don't appreciate that. PLEASE NOTE: The rest of the cottages at Reeden Lodge are located in an area of the property that does look pretty, it is well kept, and has views of mountains and gardens. Those are the happy campers, the happy reviewers, but definitely NOT those being dealt the false Riverside illusion!

Room Tip: Avoid the Riverside Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sverige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

The view of the mountains from here are superb and a good base to explore the Franshhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosch areas.
We stayed in Holly Tree Cottage, one double and twin en-suite rooms.
The self catering semi-detached house was clean and spacious with comfortable beds. A good size dinning table and and adequate kitchen area.
The double bedroom's en-suite was dark (no outside window) and in need of a lot of TLC.
The hosts are friendly and helpful providing some of the lowest rents in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peyroutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Great place to use as a base to explore the fabulous food and wine in Franschhoek Valley. The cottages are in a beautiful setting with fabulous views, safe for children to run free. Hosts friendly and helpful

Room Tip: All the cottages have individual qualities depending on number of people sharing all have great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here. Stayed this time in Holly Tree Cottage. Glad to see thy have upgraded to a DSTV in the house. The self catering houses are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Lovely place for children to run wild and plenty for them to explore. Happy kids = happy parents. Easy 10 minute walk onto the main road through Franschoek. Owner was kind enough to let us have the house for the whole of the next day as no one was moving in. Can recommend it to anyone looking for a break from the Rush of the city.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Nelsonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Reeden Lodge for a week. It is about 10 minutes walk from the main street where the restaurants and shops are located. The view of the mountains from here is wonderful.
The cottage we had was adequate but could have done with air conditioning, a larger bed and fridge as it is a self catering experience.
The kitchen equipment is rather dated but adequate for a short stay.
We spoke to other guests and it appears that several have been returning at that time of year - to escape the winter of the northern hemisphere I expect - for many years (one told us that they had been coming back for 8 years). I think these guests probably book the best cottages.
However the rental is amongst the lowest in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.1 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
0.8 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1.4 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.3 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reeden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reeden Lodge

Address: Cabriere Street | PO Box 203, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing