We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful calm surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful calm surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed for two nights at the Mont Rochelle and had a great time. Hotel, grounds and rooms all very beautiful. The room was exceptionally comfortable with extra touches such as Molton Brown toiletries and a proper coffee machine.

Franschoek is a great place if you love food. La quarter Francis whilst expensive is an amazing experience and a must whilst you are there. Also Reuben's was a great meal although so do much food!!! The hotel will arrange axis into town and back which cost about 10 pound return but if there are a few of you they will combine you on a minibus if you don't mind making it more economical.

Breakfast at Mont Rochelle was a wonderful leisurely experience and I can imagine dinner in the restaurant would also be great.

Franschoek is far far nicer than Stellenbosch with a laid bak feel, great boutiques and street cafes... Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    77
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
49
281
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We enjoyed two nights last week, friendly welcome with glass of wine, very nice room with nightly turn down etc, great breakfast with as little or as much as you wish, we ate in the restaurant both nights , first had the edge but overall great food, wine and a very comfortable setting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights at Mont Rochelle and it turned out to be a very good start to a 12 day holiday in South Africa. Franschhoek is a delightful one street town full of cafes, restaurants, boutiques and bars. Mont Rochelle is set back from the town and easy to find(well signposted). the staff are keen and attentive with lots of smiles and willingness to help. the room we had came with a lovely view of the Franschhoek valley and the breakfast was very good. A hotel taxi service was available and the evening meal was of a high standard with a pianist playing a wide selection of music. All in all I would reccomend Mont Rochelle for an enjoyable 2 day stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daavid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Just returned from our third stay at Mont Rochelle and probably enjoyed this the most! Service remains excellent, staff are lovely and the views, tranquility and relaxed ambiance really make this a special place to stay. We were even sought out (as usual) by the Hotel cat (Blom) a very pretty tabby!

If you want to be a little off the beaten track (although the town centre is about 3km away) this is the place to stay. The views are wonderful, rooms very comfortable and if you are a gourmet you will probably never eat off site! (we resisted, this time, but we did go to Country Kitchen which is equally oustanding).

Overall, a wonderful hotel, wine farm and restaurant in which to relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had been greeted upon arrival with a glas of excellent white wine from the own wine cellar. Our spacious suite decorated in a lairdy style offered every comfort, had been very clean and surprised by nice touches from the personal, like fresh fruits and sweets. Especially in early spring time like September the underfloor heating made the suite very convenient.
The hotel is located a few minutes outside of Franchhoek, therefore very quiet, surrounded by a beautiful garden and overlooking the valley.
Breakfast buffet offers a great variety of fresh items, like fruits and yoghurt, homemade bread - warm dishes are to be ordered from the kitchen.
One night we tried a restaurant in the town, as we had been informed upfront that the hotel restraurant was closed. Hotel transfer in a comfortable BMW had been arranged on short notice.
The other night we enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Mange Tout (own hotel restaurant).
Additionally, we recommend to take a massage from the spa menu, we had the 90 minutes aroma theraphy treatment........like heaven.
All special requests we had been asked for upfront from home had been fulfilled - like special pillows.
Really a 5 star hotel !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltreisender67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words and wonderful review! We pride ourselves on our offerings and the "little" things we do to make your stay so memorable, building memories to last a life time!

We hope to welcome you back soon, till then, safe travels!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Mont Rochelle is in a lovely spot, overlooking the valley but close to the town. The fire in the bar makes it very appealing. The rooms were very nice - with beautiful views.
The only disappointment was that the two nights we stayed the restaurant was closed but that meant we got to see other places, which was good.
We even tried the bicycles - easy going down to Franschhoek but much harder coming back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMglobaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review! We are happy to hear that your stay was wonderful and pity your visit was during the closure days of our main restautant. We are sure that you would dine in the restaurant upon your next visit!

Till then, safe travels!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Go for lunch - always a good selection of lighter fare (salads, antipasta, etc) and more substantial entrees (risotto, spring bok, tuna)
Go with the recommended wine pairing. Weather permitting, ask for a table on the terrace to enjoy the unsurpassed views of the vineyards and Franschhoek Valley below.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind review in respect to our alternative restaurant on the Estate. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us!

Be sure to stop by again soon!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.1 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing