We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, luxurious and sophisticated hotel”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2016

This hotel is magnificent. The eggs benedict I had for breakfast was the best that I have ever eaten. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The products in the bathroom were fabulous. The element of surprise was the fully stocked bar with mamongst other beverages ,two bottles of Richard Branson's excellent wine...which was complimentary

Thank Zalda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

The wow factor is largely in the location. It's amazing with 180 degree valley and mountain views. Nice, comfortable rooms, well serviced, with some good touches (excellent bath and shower stuff). Beautiful tennis court and good pool. Furniture and decor are modern chic. Breakfast excellent, but dinner disappointing (apparently the restaurant has had a succession of chefs) given the gastronomic reputation of the area. Hotel has recently been taken over by Virgin and needs a bit more "running in" in a few areas, especially with the friendly, though occasionally amateur, restaurant, pool and bar service.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear sbwlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay at Mont Rochelle. We were delighted to hear that you thought the location and views gave you the ‘wow factor’ and that you enjoyed your room, the tennis court and pool. Whilst it was wonderful to hear you thought the breakfast was excellent we were saddened to hear that you found dinner disappointing. We’re so pleased to hear you found the service friendly, but were disappointed to hear your felt at times there was room for improvement and your valued feedback has been shared with the team to help us improve in the future.

We very much hope we are able to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle again soon and hopefully next time it won’t just be the view that gives you the wow factor!

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

My family and I only spent 2 nights at Mont Rochelle and, given the choice, we would all have stayed indefinitely!

We each had a Cabernet room. Built into the hill, these rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and filled with every desired amenity, including a fully-stocked complementary mini bar. The bathrooms were nearly as big as the bedrooms and stunningly furnished with oval baths, twin sinks and a wonderful separate shower.

Outside each of our own private terraces enjoyed sweeping, peaceful views over the surrounding vineyards.

We ate in both the vineyard's Country Kitchen, situated within the vineyard, and in the main restaurant. Both offered fantastic food and great service. In fact, the level of service from all the staff was the icing on the cake. The duty manager, Marinus, was an amazing host who made us feel so welcome: nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you to everyone for making our 2015 Christmas so memorable.

Room Tip: The Cabernet rooms were exceptional in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Tiny60,

Wow, what a review! I think the best place to start is by thanking YOU for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your family to Mont Rochelle and we are so delighted that you felt it made your Christmas so memorable. The entire team were thrilled to hear your kind words about the service you received during your stay and how much you enjoyed our Cabernet rooms. Marinus in particular was so touched to receive a personal mention and was so pleased he was able to make you feel so welcome.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon to make more memories and hopefully next time you can stay a little longer!

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 2 nights at the end of December with our 2 young daughters. We enjoyed a suite with a plunge pool which was very well appointed, elegant and spacious. We all really loved the room, although upon a closer look the carpets could do with being replaced, however the beds are super comfy!
The staff are amazing in every sense. Smiling, helpful and charming. It is a little slow at lunch, however the view soon makes you forget there is any hurry.
The grounds are beautifully kept and the swimming pool area is elegant, however I was very conscious of my children making a noise and therefore not disturbing other guests.
All in all a wonderful stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Piggies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Piggies4,

What a treat it was for us to read your wonderful review of Mont Rochelle. It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family before Christmas and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Though we were pleased to hear you all loved the room and thought the beds were super comfy we were sorry to hear you thought the carpets could do with being replaced and your valued feedback has been taken on board to help us improve in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words with us, and for highly recommending us. We hope that means we will be able to welcome you and your lovely family back to Mont Rochelle again soon.

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

For our "Art of Living ad Yoga Retreat Event" we had chosen five different regions in SA and five different wonderful hotels, to stay with our ten guests. Mont Rochelle was due to all of us the winner, where everybody would love to go back in a heartbeat.
The locations is marvelous, breakfast served in or outside with a phenomenal view, is delicious, the staff and management attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, equipped with contemporary amenities, the provided toiletries are exquisite. On top the content of the minibar is free, including a bottle of red wine from the own vineyard.

Room Tip: We had booked eight rooms for our groups. Everybody was very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear RGerman,

WOW – thank you for your incredible review of Mont Rochelle. We’re delighted that you chose us as part of your Art of Living and Yoga Retreat and it’s such a pleasure to hear that you would all love to come back in a heartbeat. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience, especially the complimentary wine, we’re all about the special touches!

We hope that you’ll all be back again soon, perhaps there will be another Art of Living and Yoga Retreat Event next year?

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Having stayed at Mont Rochelle several times we were really looking forward to seeing the new look and feel after virgin took over. I must say it was really disappointing that not much has been improved on. It looks like a few new coats of paint and some new bits of furniture have been added and that's about it.

Having said that, the setting is fantastic on top of the mountain with the panoramic view.

The whole reason for our visit which was lunch was very disappointing. The patio was baking hot and the food took an hour and 15 minutes to arrive. The pizza we ordered for our kids was raw. My fish was absolutely tasteless and the chips where raw. The one meat dish we ordered was very good. The pasta mushroom dish was very average. The penne dish tasted like something u would get at a supermarket.

I must say the manager was very pleasant after we complainted and took the wine and one of the dishes off the bill.

Regardless of that, a so-called 5-star establishment should not have such a poor level of dining. The service was fine but the food is very poor.

I am not sure if this is a cost cutting exercise but if it reflects the whole hotel, it should be avoided....

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear NATO-SA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the food and for the delay in getting your dishes to you, I have shared your comments with the entire team to help us improve where we fell down.

I do hope you’ll reconsider visiting Mont Rochelle again in the near future so we have an opportunity to redeem ourselves, and should you choose to do so, please feel free to contact me so I can personally make the reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed an incredible picnic basket at their little dam. Just book the basket a day in advance, they even have a kiddies basket. Richard Branson has done well over here, the restaurant and wine tasting area looks amazing as well a massive improvement from when last I was here. Enjoy.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Mark P,

What a great choice - we love the picnic baskets and we’re so glad you did too! We hope you’ll be back again soon to try out the wine tasting and perhaps we can tempt you to stay a little longer next time?

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
1.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
732 reviews
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
2.1 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 km away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 12 in Franschhoek
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: C$486 - C$1,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing