We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$305
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)
US$129
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Auberge Clermont(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lekkerwijn(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Galiniere Guest Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$326
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
492
112
34
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
112
34
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry kitchenmerlot roomrichard bransonwine tastingour honeymooncap classiquestunning hotelcomplimentary mini barhotel restauranthotel guestsstunning viewswelcome drinkcape townmain restaurantcellar touroverlooking the valleycomplimentary shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 664 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

The wow factor is largely in the location. It's amazing with 180 degree valley and mountain views. Nice, comfortable rooms, well serviced, with some good touches (excellent bath and shower stuff). Beautiful tennis court and good pool. Furniture and decor are modern chic. Breakfast excellent, but dinner disappointing (apparently the restaurant has had a succession of chefs) given the gastronomic reputation of the area. Hotel has recently been taken over by Virgin and needs a bit more "running in" in a few areas, especially with the friendly, though occasionally amateur, restaurant, pool and bar service.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear sbwlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay at Mont Rochelle. We were delighted to hear that you thought the location and views gave you the ‘wow factor’ and that you enjoyed your room, the tennis court and pool. Whilst it was wonderful to hear you thought the breakfast was excellent we were saddened to hear that you found dinner disappointing. We’re so pleased to hear you found the service friendly, but were disappointed to hear your felt at times there was room for improvement and your valued feedback has been shared with the team to help us improve in the future.

We very much hope we are able to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle again soon and hopefully next time it won’t just be the view that gives you the wow factor!

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2016

My family and I only spent 2 nights at Mont Rochelle and, given the choice, we would all have stayed indefinitely!

We each had a Cabernet room. Built into the hill, these rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and filled with every desired amenity, including a fully-stocked complementary mini bar. The bathrooms were nearly as big as the bedrooms and stunningly furnished with oval baths, twin sinks and a wonderful separate shower.

Outside each of our own private terraces enjoyed sweeping, peaceful views over the surrounding vineyards.

We ate in both the vineyard's Country Kitchen, situated within the vineyard, and in the main restaurant. Both offered fantastic food and great service. In fact, the level of service from all the staff was the icing on the cake. The duty manager, Marinus, was an amazing host who made us feel so welcome: nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you to everyone for making our 2015 Christmas so memorable.

Room Tip: The Cabernet rooms were exceptional in all ways.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear Tiny60,

Wow, what a review! I think the best place to start is by thanking YOU for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your family to Mont Rochelle and we are so delighted that you felt it made your Christmas so memorable. The entire team were thrilled to hear your kind words about the service you received during your stay and how much you enjoyed our Cabernet rooms. Marinus in particular was so touched to receive a personal mention and was so pleased he was able to make you feel so welcome.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon to make more memories and hopefully next time you can stay a little longer!

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 2 nights at the end of December with our 2 young daughters. We enjoyed a suite with a plunge pool which was very well appointed, elegant and spacious. We all really loved the room, although upon a closer look the carpets could do with being replaced, however the beds are super comfy!
The staff are amazing in every sense. Smiling, helpful and charming. It is a little slow at lunch, however the view soon makes you forget there is any hurry.
The grounds are beautifully kept and the swimming pool area is elegant, however I was very conscious of my children making a noise and therefore not disturbing other guests.
All in all a wonderful stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Piggies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear Piggies4,

What a treat it was for us to read your wonderful review of Mont Rochelle. It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family before Christmas and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Though we were pleased to hear you all loved the room and thought the beds were super comfy we were sorry to hear you thought the carpets could do with being replaced and your valued feedback has been taken on board to help us improve in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words with us, and for highly recommending us. We hope that means we will be able to welcome you and your lovely family back to Mont Rochelle again soon.

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016

For our "Art of Living ad Yoga Retreat Event" we had chosen five different regions in SA and five different wonderful hotels, to stay with our ten guests. Mont Rochelle was due to all of us the winner, where everybody would love to go back in a heartbeat.
The locations is marvelous, breakfast served in or outside with a phenomenal view, is delicious, the staff and management attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, equipped with contemporary amenities, the provided toiletries are exquisite. On top the content of the minibar is free, including a bottle of red wine from the own vineyard.

Room Tip: We had booked eight rooms for our groups. Everybody was very happy.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear RGerman,

WOW – thank you for your incredible review of Mont Rochelle. We’re delighted that you chose us as part of your Art of Living and Yoga Retreat and it’s such a pleasure to hear that you would all love to come back in a heartbeat. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience, especially the complimentary wine, we’re all about the special touches!

We hope that you’ll all be back again soon, perhaps there will be another Art of Living and Yoga Retreat Event next year?

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Having stayed at Mont Rochelle several times we were really looking forward to seeing the new look and feel after virgin took over. I must say it was really disappointing that not much has been improved on. It looks like a few new coats of paint and some new bits of furniture have been added and that's about it.

Having said that, the setting is fantastic on top of the mountain with the panoramic view.

The whole reason for our visit which was lunch was very disappointing. The patio was baking hot and the food took an hour and 15 minutes to arrive. The pizza we ordered for our kids was raw. My fish was absolutely tasteless and the chips where raw. The one meat dish we ordered was very good. The pasta mushroom dish was very average. The penne dish tasted like something u would get at a supermarket.

I must say the manager was very pleasant after we complainted and took the wine and one of the dishes off the bill.

Regardless of that, a so-called 5-star establishment should not have such a poor level of dining. The service was fine but the food is very poor.

I am not sure if this is a cost cutting exercise but if it reflects the whole hotel, it should be avoided....

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NATO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear NATO-SA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the food and for the delay in getting your dishes to you, I have shared your comments with the entire team to help us improve where we fell down.

I do hope you’ll reconsider visiting Mont Rochelle again in the near future so we have an opportunity to redeem ourselves, and should you choose to do so, please feel free to contact me so I can personally make the reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Dalené Claassens
Estate Manager
Dalene.Claassens@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews