We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mont Rochelle
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)
US$161
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maison Chablis Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$84
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lekkerwijn(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Corner House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$290
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondrood Guest House(Franschhoek)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
487
111
34
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
111
34
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry kitchenmerlot roomrichard bransonwine tastingour honeymooncap classiquewelcome drinkcomplimentary mini barhotel restaurantmain restaurantstunning hotelstunning viewshotel guestscape townoverlooking the valleycomplimentary shuttlebreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 658 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Mont Rochelle offer a range of tasting experiences from 3 to 7 wines. We went for 5 and chose to have a light bite of cheese and ham to accompany the wines. The tasting room itself is bright and airy and the hosting staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the wines offered. There are many vineyards in the Franschhoek valley but few in my opinion to compare with Mont Rochelle

Room Tip: The wine tasting area is separate from the hotel. The wine tasting is very reasonably priced
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear Douglas C,

We really enjoyed welcoming you to Mont Rochelle for a wine tasting and the whole team were delighted to read your review, thank you. We all really enjoyed hearing how much you appreciated the setting and service, but our favourite part was hearing that you thought Mont Rochelle was one of the best in the valley! I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment and really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

What an amazing place! We spent 5 nights here with our 2 children, on arrival Peter greeted us and said he wanted to make us feel at home. He certainly did everything he could to do so! From the arrival drinks and lunch through to the dinner at Miko, the superb accommodation, the excursion recommendations and transport everything was just amazing! We made the most of the wine tasting in the Country kitchen but also tried out the wine tram as well as the private tour that they arranged for us. The shuttle service into town was really handy and the walk back was quick and easy too....

Thanks to everyone who made our stay so special, with extra special thanks to Peter for his enthusiasm and fabulous customer service! Until next time..........

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank j0anley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear j0anley,

Reading your ‘absolutely fabulous’ review truly made our day so we wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing it with us! It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Mont Rochelle and we couldn’t have been happier to hear that you had a special stay with us. Peter in particular was beaming from ear to ear when he heard your kind feedback, thank you. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and just hope that we won’t have to wait too long… we miss you already!

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

As part of our Franschoek Wine Tram experience, our first stop was the Mont Rochelle tasting room. At R75/person for 5 wines, it is relatively good value. The smells that were coming from the restaurant kitchen were scrumptious and the views we saw of the picnic baskets looked delectable.

Good wines too. The tasting room also has a small little shop with some home made products for sale.

All in all, worth a visit.

BTW, Richard Branson owns this wine farm, so you might just get lucky.....

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SOVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear SOVCAT,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle, we were so pleased to welcome you for a wine tasting. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day in the not too distant future, and maybe we can tempt you to stay a little longer next time? After all, you never know who you might bump into!

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
134
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights and this place is just heaven! We were in a suite with our 2 kids and weren't expecting a separate living space but our room had this and more! The room, especially the bathroom is incredible. Very well styled and great location. It was the pinotage suite.

Breakfast was beautiful with great pancakes and French toast in particular. Country Kitchen was also great with the ribs a winner. Miko restaurant was lovey with the Pork Belly being the standout dish!

Staff were all fantastic and so great with the kids. In particular Peter was so friendly and full of energy!

Would highly recommend this place for families, pool area is great along with lots of grass areas to explore.

Will be back!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thank you for sharing your heavenly review! We were delighted to welcome your family to Mont Rochelle and were so pleased to hear that you and the kids had a great time with us. The Pinotage Suite is one of our personal favourites for the family, so it was such a treat to hear that you enjoyed the interiors and location of your ‘home away from home’. We have to say we very much like your style, surely there’s no better way to start the day than with a plateful of pancakes? Our favourite part of your review was hearing that you’ll be back, we are already looking forward to seeing you all again next time.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights for our 3 day win trip around Franshhoek. We wished we'd booked a week ! The hotel is beautiful and charming and set in delightful grounds with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and valley.
The grounds have lawns, a herb garden, other gardens, a pool and tennis courts - yet all so well laid out you don't notice them until you're upon them and they don't impact on the charm at all.
The rooms are simply gorgeous and well presented and the staff courteous and helpful. The restaurant is fabulous.
They vineyard connected with the hotel is a short walk away or there's complimentary transportation if you don't feel like walking.
Just the best.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DiverHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Dear DiverHP,

What a stunning review, thank you so much! We were delighted to welcome you to Mont Rochelle as part of your wine trip, and it was such a treat to read your kind words about the setting. We do feel very lucky to be located in such a beautiful area so couldn’t have been happier to hear that you think the layout of the grounds complemented this. We were all so pleased to hear that you think Mont Rochelle is ‘just the best’, and only wish that you could have stayed longer too! Hopefully this means you might visit us again one day, as we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews