We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife, 2 teenagers and I spent 2 nights at Akademie in early May. We had a wonderful experience. The property and rooms are charming, and the staff are warm and hospitable. I would highly recommend the property

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
857
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Unfortunately only able to stay one night, but what a pleasure it was!
Hazel, Arthur and their team were incredibly welcoming and made us feel right at home from the outset. We stayed in Gelatenheid and I can't recommend this unit highly enough! Akademie St's location is also very convenient and only a very short walk into the heart of Franschhoek. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrld_traveller_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Well, I am not quite sure where to begin.
Akademie Street is just perfect. From the individual house, to the amazing breakfasts to the highly attentive and personalised service. We were there for 5 nights, but could easily have stayed longer.
From the first e-mail exchange to make our booking, through to the post stay request for feedback, they did not put a foot wrong. Katherine, the owner is a lovely warm and welcoming lady. For Hazel, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
If you are planning to head to Franschoek - which in our opinion is streets ahead of Stellenbosch- you could not do better than to stay at Akademie Street. We will not share with you all of the additional personal touches that made this such a wonderful experience - as we think it would be much nicer for you to make these discoveries for yourself.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gelatenheid and think this was the best ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insteadofkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenzi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you want privacy, excellent service, and a nice decorated and confortable room, this is the place to stay in Franschhoek. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast is superb. Furthermore, it is also well located: just a short walk top reach all main restaurants and shops. We stayed at the Vreugde Cottage, which has a private veranda and small swimming. It was perfect.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, go to the Vreugde cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Highly enjoyable stay with an amazing unparalleled breakfast. The staff could not have been more helpful. For example we mentioned we might like to cycle at breakfast and bikes were arranged immediately. So thoughtful. If I had to make one minor observation I would say that I found the huge painting of the lady hanging next to the bed in our room (Twyfeling) a bit odd and it was somewhat unsettling to sleep under her gaze!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The ambiance, hospitality and comfort of the hosts and facility are extraordinary. Unfortunately the weather did not permit us to enjoy the private pool in our compound but it would have been the icing on the cake. The room is well appointed and bedding, bath and shower are all top drawer. Sitting on the veranda and enjoying the evening was a nice way to end the day after a great meal in the town. The proprietor was helpful in getting reservations, advising on destinations, and making our early morning departure with a nice breakfast possible. I cannot recall a better combination of those things that make a perfect visit than this facility offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHSSantaBarbara_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband, 15 month old son and I spent a week staying here in March and had the most amazing time. We stayed in Gelatenheid, which is a simply stunning 'room'. In fact, it is a detached two storey house with its own garden and a lovely pool. Handily, it has its own front door so we could park right outside the front door and come and go as if it were our own. If only. Of all the places we have stayed since our son was born (surprisingly many, given what a challenge travelling is with a baby), this was by far the most relaxingly baby-friendly. We were looking for somewhere where we could let him roam around reasonably freely, could cook for him when we needed, and could put him to bed and still enjoy an evening without having to tiptoe around in semi-darkness whispering to each other and watching TV with the volume so low that it is inaudible. Gelatenheid was the perfect solution. I would have loved to have come here on my honeymoon, actually. The attention to detail and lovely touches would have been so romantic had we been alone. There is a bath on the balcony upstairs which would have been the perfect spot for an evening soak with a glass of bubbly. There are gorgeous-smelling bath oils and salts provided which I would have loved to try out. Unfortunately, every time I got in the bath I was joined by a toddler, so it wasn't to be. Upstairs is a vast bedroom with a wrap-around balcony with views over the beautiful gardens. There is a spacious seating area with television and the most enormous bed. Downstairs there is another lovely comfy seating area with stacks of magazines to work through and a kitchen which was just perfect for preparing meals for our son. Very thoughtfully, the fridge is stocked with soft and alcoholic drinks and replenished daily, at no charge. The terrace faces the pool and I am sure that if we had stayed here before we had kids we would have spent many happy hours reading and relaxing in the sun here. Location-wise Akademie Street is ideally-placed as it is a quick hop onto the main shopping street yet on a nice quiet road. All that remains is to wax lyrical about the delicious breakfasts and fabulously warm, friendly and supremely attentive welcome we received from our hosts. Breakfasts were yummy. A vast platter of varied fresh fruit plus home-made muesli (and not a raisin in sight - heaven!), yoghourt, and a delicious cooked breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. Hazel and Katherine always had time to chat over breakfast and this was when we would outline our plans for the day(s) ahead and would ask them for advice about where to eat and what to do. Their advice was always spot-on, with the result that we didn't put a foot wrong all week in terms of where we ate. We had conspicuously failed to pre-book any restaurants but they were always able to find us a table somewhere great. Charlene babysat for us one evening. I never usually leave our son with anyone as he isn't a great sleeper and gets upset if he wakes up and sees somebody other than me. However, we thought we would give it a try as we would only be a quick walk away. When we came home, not only had Charlene managed to re-settle him in record time but had tidied the room, washed up and folded our laundry. Amazing! Anyway, I think I read somewhere that this is the best hotel in South Africa. We have travelled fairly extensively and would agree with this endorsement. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Gelatenheid is the largest and is incredibly spacious. Substantially larger than my first flat in Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
646 reviews
1.5 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
1.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing