We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Akademie Street is exceptional in many ways. Not only is it exquisitely decorated, the attention to detail to ensure the most comfortable stay is second to none. It is hands down the most beautiful place you can stay. From the rooms to the service, to the gorgeous breakfast- you are guaranteed to feel special and spoiled. Can’t recommend enough. A real treat!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Abbe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hi Abbe L, thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you loved time with us and hopefully we will see you back again soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018

It's no coincidence that this is one of the best boutique hotels in the world. The place itself is spectacular; with the piano room, the roaring open fire in the evening, lovely pool area and rooms that literally have everything covered. However, it is the staff that make this place really special; Declan has boundless enthusiasm and his team are warm, helpful and welcoming. The attention to detail is also unrivalled - there is complimentary port and brandy in the piano room, a selection of pre-dinner cocktails laid out, sun cream, hats and every breakfast option you could want. If you're visiting this town, trust me, there is no other place that will look after you like Akademie Street.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Hi Samit D, thank you so much for such a generous review. It is so great to receive such kind words and gives us all such a boost -thank you. More importantly, it's just great to know that you loved Akademie & your time spent here! Until next time!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Akademie can only be described as outstanding. Its the attention to detail that makes it so special. The unique atmospheric guest house is full of works of art, comfy armchairs to pause and reflect in, complementary drinks are served early evening by the crackling fire. Then there's the bedrooms.. we had TWO baths (Not that we used them) one inside, one outside. Amazing views, underfloor heating, our own woodburner, Outside we had a wood fired hot tub and a plunge pool. All the in-room snacks and mini bar are complimentary. There's rugs and throws and blankets and books everywhere. Not to mention complimentary sun hats and sun lotion. There's complimentary bikes to use and the breakfast.. Truly amazing. If there's one thing I'd say.. The website doesn't do it justice. Its even better than the pictures! It massively exceeded our expectations. I'd give the whole place 11/10.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocket4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi rocket4556, thank you so much for such a fabulous review - you are so generous to us! Most importantly, we are delighted that you really enjoyed the 'Akademie experience'! This makes it all so worthwhile for us! Hopefully, we will see you both back again soon. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in the Vreugde suite (really more like a cottage unto itself complete with separate entrance, kitchenette, and a beautiful patio and private plunge pool set in a walled garden!) and we could not have been more comfortable, relaxed, and impressed by the entire operation at Akademie Street. Declan and his team have done a terrific job with the the decor, vibe, and creating an intimate, yet unobtrusive atmosphere throughout. The abundance of praise from other reviewers is no fluke - this place is the real deal. I suggest everyone visiting Franschoek stay here if they are looking for the laid back feel of a B&B with significantly more style and simple luxury than is typical for the category.

Room Tip: Spring for the Vreugde cottage and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmclhillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi folks, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind & generous review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully, we will see you again soon some day. Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We had the most wonderful stay at Akademie Street Hotel and only wished we could stay longer. The management team were very welcoming and informative of Franschhoek and what to do/where to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our complimentary drinks and mini bar, also the hot tub. The breakfast was a highlight and outstanding in the Orangery. We would highly recommend to anyone visiting and look forward to coming back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi Rosanna C, thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Akademie Street. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we'll see you back again for a longer stay! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

A warm welcome, superb amenities, complimentary everything, a to-die-for breakfast, excellent location. The Akademie was a real highlight of our South Africa trip. I just wish we could have stayed for longer to enjoy the place to the very fullest!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paddyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hi paddyrobinson, thanks for taking the time to write such a kind & generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully, you will stay longer next time!! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We were greeted by Declan, one of the owners of this beautiful boutique hotel and guest house, and what a joy he was! Rightly proud, at every turn, Declan gave us a tour of this stunning property through which we smiled from start to finish as he explained the intricate detail of each room in the common areas which enabled us to feel entirely at home, without having to question anything!

Our own room, which was a private cottage, was a ‘little piece of heaven’ with a walled garden within which there is a private pool, a wood-fire heated outdoor hot tub, an array of beautiful plants and shrubs in borders (all marked up in Latin on tiny blackboards sunk in to the flower beds), perfectly positioned outdoor lighting for the evening, sun loungers with very comfortable mattresses accompanied by fresh towels, straw sun hats weighted by pretty stone to avoid blowing away in the light wind, sun tan lotion, a marble table and upright chairs for drinks, food or even a laptop setup for the workaholic and, hidden behind the bushes, an outside shower, secluded by surrounding shrubs allowing you to take a refreshing shower in your birthday suit! Perfect!

The interior? I’d recommend you book this room (which I think they refer to as the honeymoon suite, albeit I wasn’t on my honeymoon) to find for yourself, the list of perfectly detailed features in this wonderful space.

Would I go again? 100%

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 849simong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hi 849simong, thank you so much for such a detailed & informative review!! We are thrilled that you loved Akademie & your stay with us and really hope to see you again some time soon!Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
733 reviews
0.4 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
78 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $445 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 8 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing