We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
506
57
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
57
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool suite mini desserts creme brulees small hotel the main street free bar boutique hotel our honeymoon attention to detail each evening turn down service within walking distance his team rooms are huge underfloor heating sparkling wine lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gracious and well informed hosts, lovely rooms with litlle extra's to make you feel welcome, very private and secure, although on the main road, no noise. One can walk and explore everywhere from this establishment. We wereserved a friendly breakfast with good coffee. The interior may need an update soon as it is becoming dated and showing some use? (just a friendly hint) especially when compared to other newer guest houses. Otherwise, go for it and have a great stay in our "international part" of South-Africa. Lots of wonderful art galleries to visit and plenty of wonderful restaurants!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KARIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Karin W,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your time with us in Franschhoek, including your friendly hint (duly noted).

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Brilliant stay in a luxury environment. Location in Franschhoek is ideal, close to everything yet feels secluded and private. Attention to detail and service is superb. Rooms are luxury and ours even had a private pool.

Room tip: Room 3 is amazing.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jet20305872307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear Jet20305872307,

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2018

My girlfriend & I decided to spend a weekend exploring the wonderful attractions of Franschhoek. We couldn't have chosen a more convenient address. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. When we wanted to explore a few wine estates, the tram stop was also a few minutes walk away. The comfort, attention & tasteful furnishing & décor made our stay just that more special. Well done to Conrad & Franklin for excellent service.

Room tip: We had a room with a private swimming pool. What a treat..
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timthescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear timthescorpio,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your time at The Last Word Franschhoek. I am thrilled to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful town.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight for our wedding anniversary, and what a special treat it was. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive, with a welcome of a bottle of champagne and a beautiful bunch of red roses was an extra special touch! Nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to Franklin and team!
The room was extremely lush with air con and our own private pool.... This was particularly welcome on one of the hottest weekends of the year.
To top it all off, the breakfast was delicious and we left feeling extremely well looked after and relaxed. It really is an oasis in the middle of the town (perfectly positioned for wonderful strolls to all the art galleries and restaurants that franschhoek has to offer).
Can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JenniferF291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Dear Jennifer F,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your time with us in Franschhoek! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite and private pool, it has been rather hot this weekend!

Wishing you safe travels, and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

We visited 6 hotels as part of our South Africa/Seychelles honeymoon and this one really stood out & was in our top two (even though it was probably in bottom two for cost). Our room was beautiful and the location is fantastic (within walking distance of lots of lovely Franschhoek restaurants). Breakfast was excellent & the knowledge of the manager about the surrounding areas really helped us to plan our stay. The reception area is really homely - beautiful furnishings & free bar. However it was the little touches that made this place stand out - the desserts on our bed at turn down & returning after a day out to be offered a pot of tea brought to our room with biscuits even though there are tea making facilities in the room (they know the route to my heart!) We also had lots of special treats as honeymooners but coming home on our last night to a room full of lit candles with a bottle of local sparkling wine on ice and the standard nightly desserts was our fave - Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank nsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear nsee,

Thank you for this fantastic feedback from your time with us at The Last Word Franschhoek. We were thrilled to be a part of your honeymoon and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recommendations. Franschhoek is a truly beautiful town and has plenty to explore.

We hope to see you again soon for more special occasions!

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews