We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural fusion”

Kitima at The Kronendal
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Between 1835 and 1849 the Kronendal Farm was owned by Sir William Josias Cloete. Legend has it that the homestead is haunted by his daughter Elsa Cloete who died of a broken heart after being forbidden to marry her soldier lover. Kitima still sets and serves a table for Elsa with samples from the menu to appease Elsa's spirit. Welcome to Kitima restaurant where oriental elegance and hospitality meet the unpretentious grace and charm of Africa. Our authentic Thai and Asian Fusion cuisine, prepared by our Thai chefs will carry you to a world of exotic spices, perfumes and all that's precious and exotic. Various dining option are available from our private lover's room seating 2-6 persons, our VIP room seating up to 12 persons, our Temple and Bangkok rooms as well as the Raya lounge for cocktails, drinks, snacks or even dinner to share. Kitima exudes all the splendour of a traditional Cape Dutch homestead with yellowwood ceilings, wooden floors combined with modern Asian artefacts and cuisine. Our cocktail list is extensive and features a number of award winners that are both stunning in taste and appeal. The restaurant has the addition of the garden and the Raya Terrace which are unique covered areas that are available,however these are weather permitting. We invite you to have a taste of true Thai cuisine in a traditional and modernised South African homestead.
Reviewed 26 March 2017

The old Homestead ensures a warm classy atmosphere and the eastern cusine complemented it well

Service friendly attentive and efficient
Quality of food and preparation of the different buffet's as good as it;s appearnce
The steamed "dumplings" the best ever !!
We found the duck salad bland, unattractive and dry.. Roast duck was done to perfection
The dessert table disappointing - chocolate mouse ... some tasteless imitation and for the waitress to keep telling everyone the small casings are pavlova when indeed it is a meringue casing not on - please train staff there is a vast difference between pavlova and meringue. Have been 2 x before and desert table was the cherry on the meal. A pleasant treat would have been a coffee as part of menu - not special coffees but either an asian tea or ??? coffee. Those little bonuses goes a long way
Thank you to staff and parking attended for respectful way they carried out their duties

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tiny263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for your positive review of Kitima at the Kronendal post your Sunday luncheon with us. I am pleased to note your enjoyment of our food, service and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant.
The comments regarding the duck salad and the overall presentation and poor quality of the desserts offered has been noted and communicated to the people responsible and an improvement requested. Indeed the meringue cases also known as vacherins should not have been called pavlova at all and this will be rectified throughout.
The small touches re coffees or infused teas are certainly food for thought and I will ensure our parking attendants are given praise for their actions and attentiveness.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Kitima at The Kronendal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

The 17th Century Kronendal Estate is impressive and only topped by "Kitima's" art in celebrating the Asian cuisine. The choice and quality of food is simply breathtaking, so is the service.
The large lounge bar and its professional barmen must serve the best drinks Cape Town has to offer - there is virtually no drink they cannot serve you to absolute perfection.
Food is served in 3 cosy dining rooms, a large lounge area, on a terrace outside and at a smoking lounge "al fresco".
And the 20 minute drive along the coast from Cape Town to Hout Bay is rated as one of the world's nicest roads - don't miss it.
Despite its exceptional setting and quality Kitima's prices are absolutely in line with Cape Town's restaurant which is a pleasant surprise - yes, also for the excellent drinks!

Thank Waxmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Waxmaker,
From all the management and staff at Kitima at the Kronendal a very big thank you for your observations made and posted on to Trip Advisor.
We are all greatly encouraged to learn of your satisfaction from the Barmen and the wonderful cocktails they make to the kitchen team and front of house team that looked after you, as, well as our superb location from Cape Town along Victoria Road.
Thank you kindly and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Just brilliant.... such a good vibe, big venue with different areas to enjoy. Excellent food and priced accordingly. Never disappointing !

Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Bradley,
Thank you for your comments posted to Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the food and service with us as well as the unique ambiance created by our little piece of Cape Dutch history.
I hope to be able to see you again soon at Kitima.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This place was recommended to us and certainly did not disappoint.

We had Jane as a waitress who was absolutely wonderful and had a great sense of humour - laughing at how much we ordered (with us!)
Duck to start was lovely, followed by pad Thai, green curry, the BEST sweet and sour and beef stir fry. All lovely and fresh and we even took some home.

Definitely worth a visit!

Thank rlhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Guest,
On behalf of us all at Kitima at the Kronendal I would like to thank you for the comments on Trip Advisor following your recent dining experience with us.
I note you have made a comment regarding Jane and I will be sure to thank her personally myself for a job well done.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kitima again soon.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

At Kitima something happened i had never experienced before.

The food is unquestioning amazing, the building stunning, the interior and setting perfect, the staff professionell...so from that point of view it is the way it is supposed to be.

BUT:
We felt like in another time and as if it was a "Hout-Bay-Local-Celebrations-night" where see and be-seen is the motto. The people sitting there, with only little exception, behaved like colonialists from another time...treating the waiters and waitresses (all black) respectless and looking at others as from a higher level.

We (gay couple around 30) found this kind of funny, but when the management AND the hostess got into our dining room (i think they have three), asked every table EXCEPT for us how the dinner is, started "long time-no see"-chats and obviously ignored us...it started to feel in some way weird...

So overall: Satisfying and disappointing at the same time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank victordelta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitimaGM, General Manager at Kitima at The Kronendal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for your positive comments relating to the food, our historic building as well as the service and the professionalism of our staff, this is greatly appreciated.
Under the heading of “ BUT” I am not sure I quite understand you when you say it was a “Hout Bay Local Celebrations night”. Our restaurant provides the venue for many a celebration from birthdays, anniversaries and family get togethers and we all relish these events and try to add as much of a “sense of occasion” where we can, in fact all restaurants encourage this aspect of service and recognition.
Most certainly, Kitima at the Kronendal is a restaurant that is favoured as a “where see and be seen” has been developed around the atmosphere, food, beverage and service coupled with the historic building and the public generally hold that view as well, although we are always discreet with all our local and famous patrons that visit us.
I am not sure that the locals will view the term “colonialists” to well and simply don’t understand this viewpoint and strongly deny any such accusation or encouragement in this regard. I will not delve into South Africa’s history but would like to say that I believe you have a very subjective and poor opinion of our clientele, as for the respect less treatment of our service staff as looking “down from a higher level” I would suggest that you educate yourself a little more and learn about the socio cohesion that is mostly prevalent in the industry, the local community and most certainly at Kitima.
We hold no such opinions regarding gay diners and guy couples, we regularly host tables and functions with all types of LGBT in attendance and we hope to continue so with the same levels of attentiveness and detail. It may well have been that we felt you did not want to be disturbed or that you were busy conversing or eating for us to make an approach to your table.
We are thankful for your “satisfying” comments but fail to understand and accept the disappointment!!
Regards,
Jeremy Flowerday



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitima at The Kronendal also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Kitima at The Kronendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing