We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is a work of art.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kronendal Heritage Estate
Ranked #11 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Accommodation 5 Star. Wonderful location. Away from the madding crowd but near enough to be in it. Great hosts (thank you Maggi and Uli). Fab pool (proper one for lengths) & unbelievable restaurants in the nr vicinity. 15 mins to central Cape Town via the scenic coast road. Perfect. All rooms are comfortable, large and with ūber comfortable beds, great decor. We will be back.
Ps... Book in for an holistic massage.

Room Tip: Cottage Suite. (Actually, any of them!)
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

So appreciated the amazing customer service. Everything was so clean and neat, we didn't want for anything.The girls that worked there were so helpful and the breakfasts were out of this world wonderful!
Thank you for making us feel as if it was our home.
I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank darrish2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Kronendal Heritage Estate is a 5 star, super lodge in Hout Bay, run by Maggie and Uli, lovely people and fantastic hosts.
The 6 lodges all differ from each other, but what they all have in common is the ultimate luxury feeling you get, they are in one word stunning!
Staff is helpfull, polite and always there to make you feel at home.

If you go to Cape Town, Kronendal Heritage is THE place to stay!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markdD4712RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Magnificent Houtbay Lodge, that summarizes the stay where the passion for Great hospitality is eminent!
Great Host Maggi, Great staff, best breakfast around, rooms are “as If you want to live there” and power and water always at Hand (technology is Great )
Kronendal is really the best kept secret for seasoned travellers demanding Total relaxation and invisible perfection

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sennacohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

This is by far my favorite B&B when I’m in Cape Town. It’s actually located in Hout Bay, which is much more relaxed then the busy center op CPT. The rooms are just splendid! Spacious, comfortable and cozy.
The owners are probably the must lovely and caring people in the world..!
The do have their own power and water supply which is a huge advantage, specifically during summer when there is big shortage of water in Cape Town. Don’t look any further, just book this place!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I booked on-line for two rooms to stay for 10 days, clarified with management that I needed a suite with a bath accessible by a frail 80 year old lady (my mother) and to confirm there were no steps. This was confirmed by email. Payment in full had been taken from my credit card by the commencement date on the booking. On arrival, the room was found to have multiple internal steps within the suite, and a bath that was so large and high, that my Mum could not climb into it. The management offered an alternative suite that didn’t have steps but did not have a bath. To obtain a room without steps and with a bath we had to leave and move to another guest house. The management accept that the room they sold me was not suitable for mother, nor what I had booked and paid for. Despite this, the management have refused to credit me for the room rental for the 8 days that the rooms were subsequently vacant after we left claiming that their cancellation policy as stated on their website is that they will give no credit for cancellation less than 7 days before the booking commences. These are the facts, I leave you to draw your own conclusions.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeMeg1, Inhaber at Kronendal Heritage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Simply not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed here for four nights. It is well reviewed and accurately; it's simply very beautiful and almost without fault. Upon arrival, late morning, we were met at the electric gate by Cecilia who greeted us and immediately showed us to two rooms from which we could choose. They were different - the first around the rear of the building - very traditional looking, slightly dark and the one we chose, up a winding stair to the upper floor to a recently renovated room. It became clear that we were the only guests and even with the security, it did feel isolated being alone. As the estate was empty, from our second night, Cecelia let us move downstairs to a beautiful room where we then stayed for the duration. It was spacious, spotless and really lovely in every way. Cecelia and Priscilla cooked and served breakfast each morning on the porch way in the early morning sunshine. The pool area is to the rear of the building away from the busy (and noisy) main road. A real sun-trap with the pet Emu gently grunting in the background. A great location to visit the Southern peninsula. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps to the rear. Traffic noise and barking dogs from nearby otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.6 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
4.8 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
545 reviews
2.7 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
0.2 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
588 reviews
1 km away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#3 of 59 in Hout Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronendal Heritage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronendal Heritage Estate

Address: Southern Cross | Valley Road 27, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: $200 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kronendal Heritage Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem is nestled in the lush vegetation of a romantic park-like garden with breathtaking views of the Cape mountains. At Kronendal Heritage, you can indulge in daydreams next to the pool, smell the passionate fragrances of lavender, hibiscus and frangipani in the lovingly kept garden or watch the local Emus strut around the Country Estate.Each of Kronendal's five luxurious suites are - depending on size - equipped with separate lounge and bedroom and a spacious private terrace, furnished with antiques, original art and carefully selected accessories. Enjoy the untouchable privacy the lush interiors of the roomy suites have to offer. Kronendal Heritage is the perfect place for discerning guests looking for exclusive privacy. It is far enough from the tourist mass attractions to offer complete relaxation, yet near enough to all the local hot spots such as the beach, the Hout Bay harbour, the village with its shops and restaurants, and of course the scenic Chapman's Peak Drive. You won't believe you're only 20 minutes from Cape Town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kronendal Heritage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing