We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food with haphazard service”

The Rosendal Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Robertson
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Savour the tantalisingly fresh flavours available at our on-site restaurant.With much-lauded Michelin-trained, French chef David Godin at the helm, you are guaranteed a superb gastronomic experience, be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner, all of which are served daily.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Rosendal Guesthouse is situated on a farm adjacent to the Kranskop vineyard and has eight rooms plus a restaurant and spa facilities. As we were staying in the nearby Klaasvoogds Cottage, we decided to give the restaurant a try on a balmy Sunday evening. The outside terrace is certainly a great place to watch the sunset plus herons and ducks doing their thing around the pond. The dinner menu included four dishes each for mains and starters, but the vegetarian option was unavailable. The wine list was limited to Rosendal’s own wines. Our starters of salmon tartare on a disk of soft cheese and a salad with strips of pear with walnuts, rocket and blue cheese were well executed and tasty. Mains of bobote and rice plus chutneys, and kingklip with carrot mash and roasted veg weren't bad either, although the former could have done with more spice, and the roasted veg were cold and barely cooked. Service was friendly, but slow and a little haphazard. In fact, we were offered our starters twice. Overall, we thought the meal was reasonable but service wasn’t up to the standard expected of a four-star establishment.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DGEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 53 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2016

We stayed at Rosendal Boutique Hotel for a night. The decor and views are lovely. The food is attractively presented and tasty.The complimentary wine tasting was very good and the chocs on our bed added to the pleasure of our stay.Fresh flowers,underground heating and gown and slippers made the room so welcoming.
The only negative was a stain on the bed linen on my husbands bed and a chongalola under my pillow ! Staff need to check the rooms before guests arrival.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

Having just returned home I discovered that this business is for sale. Couldn't get a gin and tonic as a pre dinner drink as the manager , who was not there, had locked all the drinks away. The menu on offer was not the same as advertised . We called it a day and ate elsewhere. Hope they get their act together as the venue is really great.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank MERVYNA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

French? Contemporary? In their dreams! The menu consisted of 3 salads, a chicken main and a dessert. Food was only average and certainly not worth anyone to drive there for a meal.There was no management on duty that I was aware of. Breakfast was also very bleak with only a very basic selection.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 247LiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

The menu on the website had me drooling weeks before we were to visit this area, and so with great anticipation, I arrived there for dinner... Disappointment is an understatement!!!
The menu put in front of us comprised 3 starters, 3 mains and one dessert... I was served a bland piece of fish accompanied by a bit of bland and uninteresting veg. Dessert was said to be strawberry mousse but turned out to be pink sago topped with cream.
What a rip-off! Going to Spur and eating a plate of chips and onion rings would've been more satisfying, and at least I would've been able to have a halfway decent pudding...

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank LaaiqahJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rosendal Restaurant also viewed

 
 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to The Rosendal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing