We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Love the setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is far from the airport.The hotel surrounding is great and the hotel setting amazing.It is located in very wider area which makes is preferable for along walk and other sport activities.I have seen tennis court.There are restaurant in the reception by the pool area.La Vigna serving cuisine from an innovative menu.The a La Carte menu is serves feom 12.00 to 22.30.And Garden Terrace a restaurant where you get your complimentary breakfast.StAndrew's Bar,The 19th Hole Pub Scottish pub.They serve the selection of finest Scottish Whiskey.Happy hour from 17.00 to 18.00.Opening hours are from 16.00 every evening.The bar is non smoking area.Internet is complimentary in the lobby lounge,room."NH Lobby or NH Rooms"The Mini Bar in your room can be stocked on request.You have to deposit 500.00 Rand which will be charge to the room account for the Mini Bar and the items used will be charged on consumption.There is shuttle bus service from and to the hotel which you have to book in advance and pay as well.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Martha M

Thank you for taking the time to give us such an amazing review. Thank you for mentioning all our facilities that makes this hotel special. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with dinner in La Vigna, a whiskey in St. Andrews, using the free WiFi and making use of the minibar and shuttle.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay soon!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles is an excellent stay with great service! The rooms were quite spacious with very comfortable beds.

The facilities on the premises are also very good, from a restaurant, pub and inviting swimming pool to laze around.

It was very good and highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RalphMHoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear RalphMHoppe

Thank you for the lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles. Thank you for mentioning the excellent service, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. I am glad that you could relax at our swimming pool, pub and restaurant.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel for another excellent stay!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The hotel is quite convenient though a bit far from the city centre. I stayed in a standard king room - the hotel facilities are ok but quite basic. No bath tubs in the rooms and no shuttle to the city centre. The restaurant's menu does not cater for the needs of non-meat eaters.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Chaser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Chaser8

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have removed all our bath plugs to save water as we are in an extreme water crisis at the moment in Cape Town. We have a concierge desk that offers shuttles to City Centre upon making a booking. Thank you for also mentioning your concerns about our restaurant, we have recently launched our new menu in La Vigna Restaurant with various vegetarian options, please come visit us again soon to try them out.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for a true NH stay!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Beautiful hotel, very nice room, friendly staff and a nice variety was served at breakfast.
Nice little Irish Pub and I enjoyed relaxing at the poolside. There was a gym also although I didn't go into the gym room.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a sliding door with a little table and chairs outside. The rooms above us ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SA-Alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear SA-Alicia

Thank you for sharing your good experience that you had while staying at NH the Lord Charles Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our nice rooms, friendly staff, big variety at breakfast, St.Andrews pub and the pool.

We hope that you will be back soon for another visit at our establishment.

Warm Regards
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This was our 2nd time visiting the hotel. As the 1st time around was so great, we had high expectations. We were not at all disappointed!! Will go back again. Had drinks at the pool lying in the lazy chairs. Watched rugby in the pub and just enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 457suzaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear 457suzaans
I am so glad that you came to visit us again and that you had another good time at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am happy that you have enjoyed lying by the pool and watching rugby in our pup.

I cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel for another wonderful stay.

Warmest Regards,
Daniel Méndez,
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Although I stayed here with a group I found it extremely strenuous and difficult to get from my room to reception and vice versa. 46 rooms from point A to point B is a long way for aged people exsecially if one should trolley a suitcase or other luggage

Room Tip: As close as possible from reception as the corridors are extremely long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Robbie R

Thank you for taking the valuable time to voice your concerns. The hotel was build lots of years ago and thus the long corridors, but we always try to assist with elderly people to be close to reception. We will reiterate to relevant departments to be more alert about this matter.

We hope to welcome you back again to our hotel to experience true NH hospitality!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Friendly and helpfull staff, very good kept hotel. Food excellent all round good experience. Grounds well kept and beautifully kept gardens. Would go there again any day. Secure parking and security really very good. Thanks NH.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pgarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Pgarn

Thank you for the lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our friendly and helpfull staff, well kept grounds and beautiful garden. Thank you for also mentioning our secure parking an good security.

We hope to welcome you back for another good stay soon!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.9 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
358 reviews
37 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
10.9 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
2 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
5.1 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Cape Town The Lord Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road & Broadway Boulevard, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range: $120 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles hotel in Cape Town is nestled between the wine country of the Cape, the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Cape Town The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing