We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
205
149
61
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
149
61
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla vignagarden terracemy wifeconference venuetennis courtscape townsunday lunchbreakfast buffet isweekend breakawaysoy milksparkling winecomfortable hotelconference facilitiespublic areastop classsouth africafalse bay
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 446 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles is an excellent stay with great service! The rooms were quite spacious with very comfortable beds.

The facilities on the premises are also very good, from a restaurant, pub and inviting swimming pool to laze around.

It was very good and highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RalphMHoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear RalphMHoppe

Thank you for the lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles. Thank you for mentioning the excellent service, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. I am glad that you could relax at our swimming pool, pub and restaurant.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel for another excellent stay!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

The hotel is quite convenient though a bit far from the city centre. I stayed in a standard king room - the hotel facilities are ok but quite basic. No bath tubs in the rooms and no shuttle to the city centre. The restaurant's menu does not cater for the needs of non-meat eaters.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Chaser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear Chaser8

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have removed all our bath plugs to save water as we are in an extreme water crisis at the moment in Cape Town. We have a concierge desk that offers shuttles to City Centre upon making a booking. Thank you for also mentioning your concerns about our restaurant, we have recently launched our new menu in La Vigna Restaurant with various vegetarian options, please come visit us again soon to try them out.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for a true NH stay!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2017

Beautiful hotel, very nice room, friendly staff and a nice variety was served at breakfast.
Nice little Irish Pub and I enjoyed relaxing at the poolside. There was a gym also although I didn't go into the gym room.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a sliding door with a little table and chairs outside. The rooms above us had no balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SA-Alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear SA-Alicia

Thank you for sharing your good experience that you had while staying at NH the Lord Charles Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our nice rooms, friendly staff, big variety at breakfast, St.Andrews pub and the pool.

We hope that you will be back soon for another visit at our establishment.

Warm Regards
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017

This was our 2nd time visiting the hotel. As the 1st time around was so great, we had high expectations. We were not at all disappointed!! Will go back again. Had drinks at the pool lying in the lazy chairs. Watched rugby in the pub and just enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 457suzaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear 457suzaans
I am so glad that you came to visit us again and that you had another good time at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am happy that you have enjoyed lying by the pool and watching rugby in our pup.

I cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel for another wonderful stay.

Warmest Regards,
Daniel Méndez,
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Although I stayed here with a group I found it extremely strenuous and difficult to get from my room to reception and vice versa. 46 rooms from point A to point B is a long way for aged people exsecially if one should trolley a suitcase or other luggage

Room Tip: As close as possible from reception as the corridors are extremely long
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Robbie R

Thank you for taking the valuable time to voice your concerns. The hotel was build lots of years ago and thus the long corridors, but we always try to assist with elderly people to be close to reception. We will reiterate to relevant departments to be more alert about this matter.

We hope to welcome you back again to our hotel to experience true NH hospitality!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews