We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome as always”
62 Granite Close Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
62 Granite Close Exterior
Deluxe Studio Bedroom Deluxe Studio X/L Double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
186 reviews
62 Granite Close Exterior
Deluxe Studio Bedroom
Deluxe Studio X/L Double bed
Deluxe Studio Kitchenette
Deluxe Studio her Bathroom
Deluxe Studio his Bathroom
Deluxe Studio Patio with sea views
Superior Apartment open plan Lounge
Superior Apartment Kitchen
Superior Apartment Bedroom
Superior Apartment Bathroom
Superior Apartment 2nd Bedroom
Superior Apartment 2nd Bathroom
Superior Patio view
Studio Apartment open plan room
Studio Apartment Bed
Studio Apartment Kitchen
Studio Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment Lounge
Luxury Apartment kitchen & open plan lounge
Luxury Apartment Kitchen
Luxury Apartment Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment complete Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment patio
Luxury Apartment lounge & patio area
2016 HotelsCombined Recognition of Excellence Award
View March 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 186 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gorgonzil...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome as always”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was our second visit to Vrede and it was just as good, if not better, than the first time. Maggie is a wonderful host and goes out of her way to make one feel welcome and comfortable. The Superior Unit is immaculate - from the beds to the linen to the amenities to the amazing view. What we enjoyed most was the serenity and tranquility. We will certainly be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannetjie...
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Vrede Self Catering's accommodation was once again a Winner. Luxury one does not find everywhere at very affordable prices. Maggie, the owner, is nothing but praise worthy. Her friendly disposition lets any stranger feel welcome the moment you meet her. She is helpful and goes out of her way to assure that her guests have the best there is to offer. We cannot praise her and her accommodation enough.

A big thank you to Vrede Self Catering for once again a most pleasant stay in a peaceful. quiet and safe place. The View is marvellous. The sunrise and sunsets unforgettable. If ever we visit the Somerset West area again, this is where we will go. Love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The excellence of the service offered by Maggie, the owner.
Liked least: Liked Everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W
Riyadh
1 review
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I really loved my stay at Vrede. We were warmly welcomed by Maggie and she was very helpful throughout our stay .The well equipped apartment lived up to my expectations and more.The location and views were spectacular.I was sorry to move on.Jenny Cape Town

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loren W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Fantastic experience. Definately worth 5 stars. Thanks Maggie for the excellent service and gorgeous duplex! We really enjoyed the spa bath :) coupled with views that one only dreams of. Hopefully we will return soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MThomas20...
Cambridge, Uk
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a fantastic time at Vrede and the owners went out of their way to make our holiday the best one ever. The accommodation is top class and the view breathtaking. We could not recommend Vrede more to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, secure, spacious yet five star self-catering accommodation. We will definitely ONLY stay here every time we visit Cape Town. Thank you Maggie and Charles and well done. The Thomas Family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff85
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Vrede Self Catering”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

What a fantastic experience!!!!!!!! The House itself looks like a five star hotel, way better gadgets than i have at home.... The view from the balcony, the ocean in front and these mansion all around you, felt like a movie star!!! Maggie, the owner what a lovely and friendly person and all she wants is for her customers to have a lovely experience, i would go back any day and are already planning my next holiday there.......

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Cannot recommend this property enough the facilities were excellent and the attentiveness of the owner exemplary, although no meals are available there were many restaurants and vineyards relatively close to the property. Only down side was that we did not stay long enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing