We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We loved this hotel. Des and Wilma were very welcoming hosts to their small but beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town with easy access to the sites, restaurants and shopping.
The building is in the style of an old Cape building. It is set back from the road and is very quiet with extensive grounds and a swimming pool.
We stayed in a suite - Pharaoh, at the top of the house. The room was magnificent and decorated in a classic Victorian style with large heavy furniture. But it all worked and was very welcoming. Most importantly, it was air conditioned and had a magnificently comfortable bed.The bathroom was also huge and sympathetically modern.
There was a delicious provided full English breakfast expertly cooked by Des!
We had a lovely stay here and would thoroughly recommend it. Indeed we preferred it over de Kloof, as excellent as that was, where we stayed on our outward journey.

Room Tip: Pharaoh. One of the suits at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Amazing experience from the moment we arrived. A very warm welcome from our hosts Desmond and Wilma.
Delicious breakfast, the room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and well appointed with everything one could possibly need!
Especially a proper hairdryer!
Well done!
Thanks, Desmond and Wilma for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susanlC6721JU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The hosts came out and met us at the car. The room was well equipped, they thought of everything. Beautiful surroundings. Wilma and Desmond are fairly new to the B&B thing, but they are naturals. We enjoyed talking to them so much over a glass of wine that we invited them to o our house if they where ever in the area.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Warm welcome and quite interested where we came from. Would advise Wilma not to get too personal from the beginning as I was here with girlfriend as my wife passed away last year.for the rest very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 485gerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Desmond and Wilma overtook the guesthouse couple of month ago and they hosted us perfect and very friendly warm and kind. They made us feel like at home in this wonderful house and the wonderful room. We stayed one night and they gave us a perfect recommendation für dinner and organized also the table just 2 min. walkway away. Awesome! We realized that they love to be be Hosts and we would come back if we would be near Swellendam once again. breakfast was also fresh individual and coffee was great. Swellendam ist very sweet.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drjensb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The guesthouse is very well maintained by the new owners.
Extremly friendly, very clean, the breakfast was fantastic.
This historic home gives everything you can think of.
Rooms are big enough and very clean
The good Night port was very nice
Thank you

Room Tip: Not a room just with a bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulrich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lovely spot, 1/2 way from CT ro E L, super people great staff, will stay longer next time.great place and lovely management and owners. great variety of accommodation available.also they know the right places to go to get whatyouneed.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianlP6009XF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.4 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.6 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Swellendam
571 reviews
1.2 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
401 reviews
1.6 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
404 reviews
1.8 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#10 of 40 in Swellendam
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Address: 101 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $138 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the Langeberg Mountains, 220 km from Cape Town along the N2 Garden Route, in the beautiful town of Swellendam in the Overberg region, this magnificent Victorian guesthouse (a parsonage from 1904 until 1974) has welcomed many visitors from all corners of the world. The peaceful settings of the gardens, to the warmth of the splendid decor, and comfort and service to the visitor, guarantee their return. Enjoy the elegance in a stately historic manor house, or in the garden cottage rooms each with a private entrance. Relax in the magnificent landscaped garden, or enjoy the African sun at the large salt-based swimming pool. A scrumptious breakfast is personally prepared by the owners using fresh local produce and from their garden. Dutch, German, English and Afrikaans are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing