We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aanhuizen Guest House(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aan de Bergen Guesthouse(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bloomestate(Swellendam)
US$100
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aan de Oever Guesthouse(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Hilltop Country Retreat(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marula Lodge(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquaelberg Place(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
144
35
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
35
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightrich in historyguest housecape townsuper breakfastexcellent stayvery comfortable stayperfect hostsold housenew ownersmoment you arriveovernight staystayed here for two nightsmade us feel at homethe main houseen routeswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 186 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The room was comfortable and clean. Pretty surroundings and conveniently located. Booking was easy and the owner was very friendly. One of the reasons I chose the place was that they seemed to understand what runners need and they made extra allowances for me. On the morning of my race the owner got up extra early (5am) to ensure that I had the pre-race breakfast I needed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesgZ8347LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondvJ, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for the kind words - it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Home from home with hosts that at the end of the visit felt like family. Room had warmth, luxury and character and is a historic building. A beautiful old town surrounded by a mountain range. Good restaurants in close proximity. We will be going there again, and again...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank loreh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondvJ, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

We loved having you at De Oude Pastorie. It is important to us that our guests relax and enjoy themselves. Until the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

You know it is going to be good when the owners are personally involved and this proved to be the case at Oude Pastorie. A very pleasant stay and nothing was too much trouble. My son was participating in a sporting event in the town and it was not a problem for the owners to be up at 5 am on a Sunday to get a snack breakfast for the competitors. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 324pietf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond v, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

We are glad you and your son enjoyed the weekend with us - only a pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

SUPERB !! One of the best I have stayed in!! Very friendly host and hostess.
Rooms very well equipped and comfortable.
Comfortable lounge for guest use.
Close to good restuarants
Will definitely use again and recommend to colleagues

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dennismX240SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond v, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Highly appreciated, we are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

The guest house is set in a very peaceful garden, an easy walk from restaurants and shops. The moment you arrive you feel like you are home. The new owners are really wonderful. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond v, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you for your encouraging words, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews