We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing Holiday Ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing Holiday Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was our first trip to Bail together with the family (2 adults and 2 kids) and our aim was really unwind and spend as much time together in a relaxing environment. The Bali villas was definitely the right choice in ensuring we unwind. We stayed in a two bedroom villa at The Villas at sunset. The villas are split up in three different locations, two which are nearest to the hustle of bustle of restaurants where the Prana Spa is and one that is about 1.5km away nestled in the residential area along with many other private villas which we much preferred in the end but were just not aware of this other location of sunset and couldn't even find it on google maps when we first arrived. Getting from our villa to the Prana Spa and restaurant was no issue at all as free shuttles were available at any time which we used to visit the Spa for massages, restaurants and shopping in the area. The Sunset location was about a 10 minute walk to the Bingtang Supermarket which has great prices to stock up on drinks & snacks. The villa itself was brilliant, the staff were very friendly and what made the trip for our family were having our own private pool and breakfast made fresh in our villa each day, excellent quality and we could take our time to enjoy it at our own pace. We spent most of 7 days at the villa and enjoying the high quality restaurants Seminyak has to offer. The villa had a proper outdoor stereo system to which we were able to enjoy our favourite music via iPod during the day & night. Highly recommend the villas as it's a place I can't stop thinking of and kids keep begging me to go back.

Room Tip: Request where your villa will be as there are three locations. Sunset is nestled in the residentia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug_Azal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear TravelBug_Azal,
So glad you can’t stop thinking about us – come back as we would love to have you stay again!
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to relax and unwind. Our villas do make for a great location to enjoy each other’s company surrounded by luxury. Our location is ideal and we are only a few moments away from everything wonderful that Seminyak has to offer.
Breakfast is a highlight for many people and there is nothing better than having a beautiful breakfast of your choosing prepared in your own villa. Our pools are large and deep and perfect for relaxing around and cooling off in after shopping and sightseeing! Great news that you enjoyed the stereo using your own Ipod, it just seems to make everything complete knowing that you have all the things that make you comfortable from home with everything else only a phone call away.
Thank you for making special mention of our team – they do make a holiday even more special and are genuinely kind and caring.
Thank you for recommending us to others and for taking the time to share your holiday experience.
We do offer great benefits to return guests so please check our website when you are next planning a holiday to Bali. We all look forward to seeing you again.
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    187
    33
    8
    11
See reviews for
360
351
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in The Villas Sunset for 7 nights in early May in a 2 bedroom villa. It was my husband and I with our 18 month old daughter and my parents joined us when they found out they could vacation with their their only granddaughter. From the get go, The Villa was always
responsive friendly and helpful, emailing back within hours or at least by the next day, and I emailed them quite a bit. Our plane was 2 hours late so we didn't arrive at our Villa until about 2:30 AM and missed our opportunity for the walk-in wow. But the driver greeted us
at the busy airport and was all smiles despite the late pick up. We were out of the airport in minutes unlike those that had to queue for the taxis. Reception at the Villa specifically stayed around just to check us in despite their normal closing time at 11 PM and they were still very cordial despite the wait. They also had some delicious refreshing mixed juice in the full size fridge waiting for us.

Since we didn't get our breakfast order in by the 8 PM deadline we had to go to the restaurant the next morning which was fine but we took advantage of eating in the villa the rest of the time, just more convenient with a toddler not due to anything negative on their part.
We did notice they did use the bottle mineral water to cook like when they boiled the egg for our daughter so that was very nice to see.

Being that it was the first time to Bali, we were initially shocked by the heat and humidity. It's like living in a sauna but after a few days you start to adjust. Having your own personal pool helped to cool off especially for the baby who was having a bit of a hard time staying cool on our outside excursions. The pool is lovely and generous in size. We just wish the change from
the shallow sides to the middle 2 meter deep wasn't so steep but more gradual. But with that said, we still enjoyed it. The side bump out was nice and only about ankle deep so our daughter could play on it easily. Make sure you sunblock often! Our daughter definitely came
back much tanner.

All the staff was helpful and friendly especially with our daughter. It was also nice to see the staff doing things that isn't exactly their duty like the chef and assistant picking up the candle holders around the pool when they were leaving one morning. It sounds insignificant but how easy would it have been for them to just leave it there for housekeeping to take care. It's little gestures like that that tell me the staff takes pride in their job and The Villa. We also
constantly saw them cleaning and picking up the common areas.

When we arrived they already had the safety fence up, baby cot in our room, and they even had a mosquito net tacked up over the open window in the bathroom which made it one less thing for me to worry about when bathing her.

The Bintang supermarket is just a 3 minute walk with everything you would need. I even picked up a $5 tub to bathe our daughter. We didn't have any problems with the taxis finding the Villa. We just had to specify it was The Villa Sunset and they all knew the narrow alleyway to get to it.

We did order room service once as it was late and we were too tired to venture out but it was unfortunately disappointing. The calamari was very tough and everything else was okay, nothing spectacular. But we still liked The Villas!

I did try the Prana Spa, which I'll review separately and my husband tried one just around the corner and loved it both for the massage and the cost.

Our flight out was just 10 minutes before midnight so we asked for a later checkout which pushes it out to 6 PM. They let us stay to 7 PM at the latest at an inconvenience to them as they had a team of housekeeping waiting for us to leave since they had another customer
staying that night. So we appreciated even just the 1 extra hour. Better the hour with a toddler at the Villa than at the airport. The driver even humored us with trying to take his time driving to the airport as our daughter fell asleep in the car.

Now that we've gotten our first trip to Bali in and done the touristy stuff, we look forward to returning and just enjoying the Villa without the running around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear JulieN,
Fantastic that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and even better that you got to share it with your parents. Our villas make for a wonderful holiday with family where you have your own privacy but with the added bonus of the pool and living area where you can enjoy each other’s company.
Our team does help make holidays special and their caring, kind nature make the difference. Whilst our villas are beautiful it is the team and the service that can leave an impression on you – thank you for noticing our service and for sharing your thoughts on it with others.
Bali is hot and humid and there is no better way to escape the heat that to jump in your lovely, cool swimming pool. It’s just pure bliss especially after sightseeing or shopping!
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with room service and we are addressing both your breakfast order and dinner with the team. We normally receive wonderful comments about our food and it is disappointing to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations.
There is not better compliment to hear that you would like to return to simply enjoy your villa. We do offer great benefits to return guests as a thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was our first stop when we arrived in Bali for a three week holiday with three teenage boys. It was the perfect location to chill and get over the jetlag. We had the three bedroom villa and that gave us plenty of space to be with each other and to alos have some space individually. we had two bots revising for exams and they could scatter their papers in one area whereas my husband, my little son and I still had space to relax and read comfortably. The breakfast prepared in the villas was simply fantastic and we could store any left overs in our huge fridge and enjoy them later. There is a huge range of restaurants and spas around and very tasteful shops. We tried the Prana Restaurant which served very nice food in a peaceful environment for much less than we had thought. I also tried the Prana Spa - fabulous as well as Chill - equally amazing. Ubud is much nicer as a town than Seminyak so next time we would start our journey there. But the Villas were a trully great place to stay. the only annoying thing was that in the end they charged us two broken glasses (£5 each) of which we didn't even break one. These kind of things should really be contained in the very steep price they charge for a stay.

Room Tip: We had a big villa in the middle of the complex which was very quiet and still close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmengerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Carmengerman,
Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us and great news that you experienced many wonderful features of The Villas and Bali in general.
Our 3 bedroom villas are amazing and it’s terrific that it suited your family well – plenty of space to relax and unwind yet close enough that you are altogether. We receive constant great feedback on our In Villas breakfasts and dining in general and it’s great that this was a highlight for you as well.
Prana Spa is unique and exotic and we are very pleased to hear that you had a chance to enjoy a treatment there as well as in Chill Reflexology. Both completely different yet both leave your feeling revitalized!
We are at a loss over the charge for broken glasses – this is not normal practice and we are investigating with the team. If you would email us through our website (we can’t provide you with an email address through Trip Advisor) and let us know your details so we can have the charge reversed.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Bali. We do offer great benefits to return guests so be sure to check our website when you are next planning a holiday.
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I can't fault the Villas themselves, but I found the whole set up a bit strange - the beach being 15 mins away, no communal areas (pool or restaurant - the restaurant being located in another part of the complex), though of course you have your own pool in the Villa and the room service is truly excellent. I just stayed the one night, I think I may have got bored if I had stayed a little longer. Also, for sun worshippers, our Villa only had the sun for a few hours in the morning which was certainly a dissapointment.

Room Tip: Ask for one that gets the sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Pyezer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on The Villas.
Our Villas are self sufficient; with everything you need especially purpose made pools for that privacy that can be hard to come by when you are on holidays, yet we offer all the facilities expected of a full service hotel.
We are located about 1.5km’s from the beach in the heart of Seminyak. Most find our location to be ideal as we are in the middle of everything, yet you can close the door to your villa and you are back in paradise! Our website provides detailed information on our location and on our villas and we make sure what we show is as close to what is offered.
Villa accommodation is not for everyone and we look forward to welcoming you again should you choose this style of accommodation.
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks in a 1 bedroom villa in the Sunset block by request! We love being close to the Bintang supermarket and the villa staff are always so happy to take you to the other villas when and if required (Prana restaurant/spa or Chill). We have stayed a number of times before and we have actually noticed some minor upgrades to the Villas (Cupboard doors in the bathrooms, new outdoor stereos to LG iPhone docking systems that are great! I want to buy myself one. Etc:) The villa staff were as usual ever so helpful in putting on a BBQ 30th birthday for my wife and our families who all came on holiday to help her celebrate in a 3 bedroom villa for the added space and which had the larger pool for us to all fill at the end of dinner. We were even able to put our little one to sleep in her stroller in the airconditioned room while we enjoyed the warmth and the pool. There was so much wonderfully prepared food we just couldn't finish it all. To all the villa staff, Amy say's hi and she is missing her daily swims in the pool. She is also missing all the attention she got from you all. You were once again fantastic hosts as usual and your attention to detail cannot be overlooked. She really did love her first trip to Bali. Mum and Dad can't wait to bring her back to the villas either :) Thanks for setting up the pool fence so promptly for her. My in-laws are hooked as well and are already planning their return visit. I have often found myself just looking at these reviews over time just to see if in the past and on this holiday I was dreaming; but I only ever get one simple conclusion! This really is paradise right in Bali. I could have quite happily have just stayed in my villa for the entire trip. With so many new things in Bali to see and do why would you not take time out in the day to see them. You simply then come back to the villa for a splash in the 24hr pool (pool chairs are always free as well) and a cocktail or Bintang is an arms length away in your own bar fridge! The food is great! (Prana, in-room, breakfast it doesn't matter it's all so darn good. Just this morning I asked my wife what time we had booked our breakfast and who would be coming over to our place to set the table and prepare our smashing feast :( yup I was dreaming of the villa team showing their impeccable service skills once again) compliments to all the chefs and service staff you guys truley are all great! See you all again very soon.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Beaker27,
Wow – what a fantastic review! We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Great that you noticed the few changes we have made over the last year all making things more comfortable – there is nothing like having the choice to plug in your phone or ipod and sit by the pool listening to your own music. We know we have done the right improvements when someone who has stayed before notices the finer details.
Our in villa BBQ’s are wonderful and it’s great that you celebrated your wife’s 30th birthday this way – they are not just a BBQ but an experience!
We are over the moon that we have made you happy and your thanks will be passed on to everyone. We all look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Bali and do be sure to check out website for great deals for return guests.
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have stayed here twice now, once in a three bedroom villa and also in the one bedroom Villa. Although some of the Villas are looking a little bit tired this is still a desirable place to stay. The three bedroom Villas have two Kingsize beds in the main Villa both with indoor outdoor bathrooms and the third bedroom is separate to the main Villa, so it is idea for a teenager, Mum and dad or guests....this also has a kingsize bed and bathroom. the pool and gardens are beautiful and are maintained every day by grounds staff. Breakfast is cooked for you in the villa every morning by your own chef and house keeping attend to your rooms every day.
The one bedroom Villa we stayed in was very private a little tired but was very much bali beauty. The one Bedroom Villa has its own pool and you get the same services as the three bedroom Villa. Lots of families stay here and you can not hear a thing it is like you are there all on your own. There are two parts try not to get the Villa's in the "Sunset area" as it is a bit of a maze trying to get there at night by a taxi. The villas off of Jalan Kunti near Prana are the best location by far. Bali Deli is across the road and the Prana day spa is a must.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Bonpar,
We thank you for your complimentary comments - they mean so much to our team. Our villas are continually maintained and improved to a high standard, ensuring that the property remain Balinese in style yet with modern conveniences.
We have three great locations in close proximity to each other and many of our guests prefer our sunset location and others prefer the Jalan Kunti area – it boils down to being a personal preference and we are always happy to look after our guests.
Great that you love Prana Spa and thank you for recommending it to others! It is like no other spa in Bali and the treatments on offer are just what are needed while relaxing on holidays – as you said it “is a must”!
We really look forward to welcoming you back to The Villas.
The Villas Bali Hotel and Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom villa in the Sunset area. The villas are wonderful with all living outside, and just the bedrooms and bathrooms inside. We were not aware of any other guests, as there was no issues with noise etc. Breakfast cooked by the staff in the villa was a real highlight and the the mossy nets and weekly "fogging" were appreciated.
The staff were great, the Villa was spotless each day, and the air conditioning is very efficient. We would definitely recommend the Villas.

Room Tip: 3 kids (8, 10, & 12) slept in a queen sized bed, and a good quality trundle. The mossy net cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear GavinL,
Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your villa. The design of the villas with the high walls and lush gardens make for a private, peaceful holiday where you can sit back and enjoy life!
We receive many glowing comments about breakfast and it’s terrific that you also enjoyed this. There is nothing better than having breakfast cooked fresh for you in your own villa where you can lay about and relax without the crowds.
The Tropics makes for a lovely lifestyle where you do spend a lot of time outside. It also can bring in unwelcome visitors and we do have a management plan in place which includes weekly fogging. Thank you for appreciating this – it is a necessary part of life here.
GavinL there is no higher accolade than a recommendation to others; so from all of us – Thank you!
We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Bali. We do offer great benefits to return guests so be sure to check our website when you are next planning a holiday.
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.9 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.9 km away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#10 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Amala
The Amala
#13 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.3 km away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.0 km away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Property: The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Address: Jalan Kunti 118X, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive accommodation offers privacy and luxury with all the conveniences of a full service hotel. Every one, two or three bedroom Villa has its own private swimming pool. We're located in the heart of Seminyak, one of Bali's trendiest areas; walking distance to dozens of fabulous restaurants and shops, yet once within The Villas grounds that has 24 hour security, it is extremely quiet and private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Bali Hotel And Spa
The Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Bali
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing